We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barefoot Cay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Barefoot Cay to your Saves list
Barefoot Cay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Pavimentada PPal, French Harbour 33126, Honduras   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in French Harbour
Miami
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

From the moment you step foot on the little island paradise of Barefoot Cay, you feel safe and relaxed. The beach is beautiful and private, the pool area beautifully and thoughtfully designed with attentive bar tenders and restaurant near by and happy to serve. A most adorable mascot "Chacarron" is the most personable parrot you will ever have the delight to encounter and "talk" with. Those arriving by boat, enjoy a peaceful marina within steps of the pool area and beach, with a staff ready to give assistance in tying up to the dock, etc. Tiki hut at the end of the pier is a delightful place to sit, have coffee in the early morning or do yoga. However, you enjoy your relaxation time, this is a great place to do it. Have fun and tell Chacarron "hello" for me.

Room Tip: We stayed in the marina onboard our sailboat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    24
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
68
241
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Best for snurkling and scuba diving,clean beach pleasant sorrrounding and very private with good security, we docked our yatch there and left it unlocked whenever we left the island.

Many places to eat outside the resort also like sport bars restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I recently stayed at Barefoot Cay (aboard a yacht - docked at Barefoot Cay). I must say that I loved it there! Beautiful resort. You can walk down the pier to the tiki hut, jump in the water & go snorkeling or diving. The water is crystal clear, great reef right there at the pier with tons of fish.
Loved spending the afternoon at the pool. Very private/exclusive. The staff is excellent! Perfect combination of attentive customer service & privacy. An added bonus is the resident parrot Chaccaron. I fell in love with this bird :) The food is great, the bloody mary's are even better...if you get the chance to visit this little slice of heaven, do it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

After several years of keep going to Roatan and travel to many other places in the world, I never have found any other place that combines the harmony, good taste, and quality in everything you may ask for, Since Food, Service, Hospitality and Design, They are all find right here, at the same exact place.
Barefoot Cay, It's small enough to get to be know by your name for almost each one of the persons that work there,and at the end of your stay, you feel like you went to your dream beach house, nor to another big hotel, where you become one more of the many thousands guests that may arrive everyday, and that makes this place a dream, to be in,
Everything that you may ask you will find it right there, since snorkeling, diving, swimming kayaking, games, movies, dining, music, it's all in here, and if you are up for a little bit more shaking night and want to do some dancing, well, guess what, the place is so well located, that very quickly you can either get a taxi or if you have decided to rent a car, very soon you can be in either one of the east or west side of the island.
This place was build thinking in the love cay, everything that is nice can happen over here, since wedding, nice moon light with a bottle of wine by the beach outside of your bedroom, or in the palapa, or competing with your friend to see who jumps further, or just have a quiet time listening to music. reading a book, having a conversation, or if he plays the guitar, hear he playing, which was awesome in my last trip, a few weeks ago.

I will highly recommend this place with blind eyes, always
The very best one in Roatan

Room Tip: If you can, please stay at the bungalows, having morning coffees and walk in barefoot around the cay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just back from a relaxing week with family at Barefoot Cay. The resort met and exceeded the needs of all of us, from grandmother to teenager. The staff were all friendly, attentive and helpful. We did the meal plan, and the food was good and included lots of options. Accommodations were happily made for a vegetarian and an onion allergy. Our 15-year old also ate very well. We stayed in the 2-BR ocean-front villa, which had amazing views, comfortable bedrooms, balinese showers, a full kitchen, and a living room that opened onto the patio where we spent most of our waking hours. I am very sensitive to bug bites and did get one or two during the week, but most of the family was not bothered at all. The staff works very hard to keep the sand flies in check. We enjoyed hanging out at the pool and enjoyed spa treatments when we were not diving. (See our separate review for Barefoot Divers.) The resort is small and we enjoyed interacting with other guests, all of whom also seemed to be very pleased with the level of service. Transportation to/from the airport was seamless, as staff picked us up personally and took care of everything, including taking us to the grocery store for a few items at the end of our first afternoon. We will definitely return to Barefoot Cay in the years to come.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Barefoot Cay is the crown jewel dive/vacation resort on the island of Roatan. It is a beautiful resort, private and very romantic. We spent most of our time in the spa, at the pool and beach combing. The staff is very kind and helpful; the villas are gorgeous. My husband likes to dive so he signed up for several dives offered by the resort. The dive shop is separated from the resort by a small canal, which is perfect. A small private ferry is there 24/7 to take you across the canal. Barefoot is well known for the best dive operation on Roatan. The dive shop is well stocked with safe/high end dive equipment and Padi certified instructors are available to take you out diving in the neatest dive boats. The food in the restaurant was excellent - I am picky so was always changing it up and found that the chef/kitchen was very accommodating. I celebrated my birthday while we were there and will always remember that special night. Barefoot Cay was everything we hoped it would be plus much, much more.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Barefoot Cay resort really delivered a wonderful experience for two of us this past Memorial Day weekend; we just got certified for diving a month ago and wanted to explore our new Scuba privileges immediately. The resort is small and there are plenty of staff members attending to all manner of hospitality; they address you by name and are always friendly and accommodating. The dive shop, which functions as part of the resort, was also first rate. Organized, friendly, helpful, and respectful of all levels of diving ability they will 'valet' all your equipment for you so all you have to do is show up, put it on, and go under the water! It is definitely a nice 'luxury' when you are limited for time and would rather not deal with lugging, setting up, cleaning, and monitoring your equipment (this is vacation, after all). I highly recommend this hotel/resort/dive shop (they also log your dives for you so you dont have to fill out that paperwork yourself!). the food was delicious, and the beds very comfortable. Its the small things that count (as well as the big things), and Barefoot Cay has it all covered. You dont be disappointed!

Room Tip: The 'lofts' above the dive shop are cheaper than the bungalows on the Cay (25m off shore). I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near French Harbour
6.8 mi away
Mayoka Lodge
Mayoka Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sandy Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#1 of 8 in West End
5.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
8.1 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#2 of 8 in West End
5.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
9.2 mi away
West Bay Lodge
West Bay Lodge
#2 of 13 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
4.6 mi away
Parrot Tree Plantation
Parrot Tree Plantation
#1 of 1 in First Bight
4.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Cay

Address: Carretera Pavimentada PPal, French Harbour 33126, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > French Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in French Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barefoot Cay 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique resort includes a private cay and 9 luxury accommodations with your choice of beachfront or ocean views. This unique Caribbean retreat pampers guests with first-class amenities and absolutely outstanding service. Onsite PADI 5 Star Dive Center spoils divers with valet diving, customized itineraries, patient & friendly instructors, and incredible dive sites just minutes away. The resort features a swimming pool, gourmet dining, and spa services. All accommodations have air conditioning, high-speed internet, TV/CD/DVD, Heavenly Beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Barefoot Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barefoot Cay Roatan, Honduras
Barefoot Cay Hotel Roatan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barefoot Cay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.