We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barefoot Cay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Barefoot Cay to your Saves list
Barefoot Cay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Pavimentada PPal, French Harbour 33126, Honduras   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in French Harbour
Mary Esther
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was my only chance to dive while on my cruise and am I glad I picked this place. The Staff is amazing. Their knowledge and helpfulness made me feel comfortable immediately. Great dives and the facility was immaculate. I had an issue with my credit card which they didnt let become an issue for me. They are all super friendly and I couldnt have asked for a better staff. Thank you sooo much Irma, you saved my trip, you rock! Kyle thanks for your patience, you're a great DM. All the rest of the staff who I had the pleasure to interact with, my great thanks.
If anyone has a choice to make to dive Isla Roatan, you will do yourself a big favor by choosing Barefoot Diver. Im glad I did
Mike N

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    24
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
70
246
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax County, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My wife and I have been to the place 3 or 4 times. We love the relaxed nature of the place and the diving (and dive team) cannot be beat.

The owner -- Melisse -- always greets guests (when she is in town) and makes you feel a part of the family.

The rooms are comfortable and pleasant. The villas have a wonderful view of the beach. You almost feel as if you are the only one there.

The place is small -- I think it only handles 75 people -- but never ever feels crowded. It is also away from the West End scene. So if relaxing (and great scuba diving) are at the top of your list, this is the place.

Room Tip: The rooms over the dive shop -- on the land side, not on cay -- are extremely comfortable and have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This trip was the best vacation my husband and I have ever taken! We've been diving for 20 years and Barefoot Cay is truly a paradise. Every detail was perfect. Everything has been meticulously planned...accommodations are exquisite, the food is delicious, the service is superb, the diving is awesome. The dive shop is well organized and all the dive staff are wonderful. I highly recommend Barefoot Cay to anyone who wants a vacation in paradise!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Barefoot Caye for our 20th Anniversary in Oct. we had a great time and the service was fantastic from the first email to after check out. We had so much fun we extended 4additional nights and plan to go back next year.

It's very small resort that only holds 26 people at full capacity so if you're looking for a hotel where all the employees will know who you are and remember what you like and don't like....this is the place! The grounds are beautifully kept and this is the only small resort I've seen operate like the big resorts where they're constantly doing ground maintenance from early in the morning all the way through the day.... Trimmming the grass, raking the sand, arranging flowers on tables every day from their own gardens etc etc. the attention to detail at the property is excellent. The food is amazing and they are very accommodating if you don't care for the meal as they're serving it. The beds are super comfortable and the rooms were thought out extremely well.

The shipping company just up the shoreline is a bit of an eyesore but the view looking out at the ocean and the property itself more than make up for it.

If you're a diver you'll have a great time! The employees are amazing. They're very knowledgable about the sites and sealife and won't let you lift a finger. It was one of the first times we saw almost everything on the fish card the sell in the hotel gift shop.

The hotel includes tips automatically at check out which is very convenient. You can adjust up or down or even request a particular employee get more. Something to note is that they imply the tips are for everything when in fact the dive shop is not included. I would have thought if you bought the dive package it would be but in reading the check out paperwork more careful....atnthe airport we found out it wasn't. So......be sure to add it on before you leave so you don't need to send it later and pay a surcharge via PayPal like we did to send it afterwards.

Looking forward to next year already

Room Tip: All of the rooms are very nice but I would be least likely to recommend the master bedroom because t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My wife and I spent the second leg of our anniversary trip here at Barefoot Cay. We had split our stay between two hotels (see other reviews) saving what we hoped was the best for last. While staying at our first accommodations, we happened to drive by the entrance to Barefoot. Just a brief warning, the Cay does not show well from the main road. This turned out to be an example of "don't judge a book by it's cover." Once it was time to start our stay there, everything was absolutely fantastic. The cay is meticulously maintained and attended to by an amazingly friendly staff. The food was great and the kitchen is very very flexible. The dive shop was first rate. We had one of the beach bungalows, which I absolutely recommend. It was perfect. I really couldn't have asked for any better. It's pretty easy to catch a cheap cab from the main road to anywhere else on the Island you may want to go. If you're a couple, going to Roatan, staying here is a must.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I spent a week in July 2012 diving with friends and our stay at Barefoot Cay was just perfect. The staff are incredibly friendly and couldn't be more accommodating and the dive operation was first class. I've dived all over the world and these guys are among the best I've seen, just the right balance of a relaxed approach without compromising at all on safety or professionalism.

The reefs are of course superb, especially the corals, and there are plenty of options on the island for night life if you haven't exhausted yourself with three dives in a day!

Keep up the hard work Doug & the team - it is definitely working!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I came to Barefoot Cay after finding it online. Yes, I had seen the pictures and reviews and that is why I chose to feature the Cay. I did not, however, expect it to be so outstanding! From the people to the scenery to the food to the diving, everything was above and beyond traditional resort standards.

First off, I stayed in one of the best accommodations I have ever been in. I was in a beach bungalow called Zani, and it was perfectly clean, cute and comfortable. The Balinese showers were a wonderful perk, too! Might I add I slept like a baby on the bed. Traveling around for work I have slept on some very uncomfortable beds; this bed I melted into at the end of the day. Couldn't have been better!

Throughout the stay we met several employees of the resort and every single one addressed me personally and with a genuine smile. The place really makes sure that you are always comfortable and feel at home. I felt like part of the family!

I had never been diving before, and we took the discover scuba course as we were limited on time. It was perfect for our needs, and our guide, Irma, was simply amazing. She made us feel extremely comfortable (despite my being apprehensive about the experience). It was something that I HAVE to do again! It was such a great experience on so many levels. Thank you Irma!

The food at Barefoot was exceptional as well. My favorite meal was a breakfast consisting of shrimp, grits and avocado. I'm open to trying new things and this was a DELICIOUS meal!! Fresh, and cooked to perfection.

I will most definitely return to Barefoot when I am not working. I literally cannot think of one thing that I would change. I had a massage on their gorgeous palapa during sunset - THAT I recommend 100%!

Overall, Barefoot is THE place to stay if you're looking for a perfect Roatan getaway. The staff simply makes it too easy to enjoy yourself. They go out of their way to ensure that this resort is perfect for guests in every aspect, and it certainly shows.

Thank you Barefoot! I miss you already!

Room Tip: Every room continuously blew me away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near French Harbour
9.4 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
6.8 mi away
Mayoka Lodge
Mayoka Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sandy Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
8.1 mi away
No photo provided
The Beach House
#1 of 8 in West End
5.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#2 of 8 in West End
5.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
9.2 mi away
West Bay Lodge
West Bay Lodge
#2 of 13 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
4.6 mi away
Parrot Tree Plantation
Parrot Tree Plantation
#1 of 1 in First Bight
4.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Cay

Address: Carretera Pavimentada PPal, French Harbour 33126, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > French Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in French Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barefoot Cay 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique resort includes a private cay and 9 luxury accommodations with your choice of beachfront or ocean views. This unique Caribbean retreat pampers guests with first-class amenities and absolutely outstanding service. Onsite PADI 5 Star Dive Center spoils divers with valet diving, customized itineraries, patient & friendly instructors, and incredible dive sites just minutes away. The resort features a swimming pool, gourmet dining, and spa services. All accommodations have air conditioning, high-speed internet, TV/CD/DVD, Heavenly Beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Barefoot Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barefoot Cay Roatan, Honduras
Barefoot Cay Hotel Roatan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barefoot Cay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.