We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best dive trip ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fantasy Island Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fantasy Island Beach Resort to your Saves list
Fantasy Island Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Pavimentada Ppal, French Harbour, French Harbour, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in French Harbour
USA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“best dive trip ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have scuba'd all over the world, with our dive club, this trip we had 15 of us, and the diving was OK, but what made the trip was the resort, all inclusive, diving when ever, laying on the beach in the lagoon, great little bar area, sorry about taking the conch shell, it does make a great decor and souvenir in our home! But anyway, book it danno and go. It's a great place...the all you can eat lobster buffet will stay in mind for years to come!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    189
    109
    71
    64
See reviews for
84
191
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

If you are looking for The Hilton, or a castle-style resort like they have in Mexico, or perfect food, perfect rooms, perfect sanitation, perfect anything, this resort is not for you. If you dislike animals (including mischievous monkeys), this resort is not for you. In fact, the entire island is not for you. You will be better off somewhere else entirely.

HOWEVER, if you are looking for an amazing cultural experience, outstanding diving, and a chance to get to know some of the kindest and most honest people that exist, this place may be for you. I am a new traveler, but I can definitely say my life has changed in a lot of ways since visiting Roatan and Fantasy Island Resort!

The staff are my favorite. They are a little shy, but do not mistake it for rudeness! They will go above and beyond to make sure you enjoy your stay. We had a mix-up with our travel service, and the hotel was closed when we got there. Fantasy Island made sure we stayed in another nice hotel until they opened up, and they offered us a free tour of the island for our troubles. We had already been on a tour, so we said no, and the manager brought us a cigar instead. It was a great cigar. When I left, I accidentally left my phone in the lobby before getting on the plane to the United States. The manager, Elisa, helped me work with Fedex to send it back to the States. I can't even believe the amount help and service I have received from them.

The rooms are nice and cool thanks to modern air-conditioners, and the beds are comfy. The television has only a few channels, but we did not care because we spent very little time in the room. The water pressure varied, and the shower was missing its knob, but it still worked just fine. Lots of hot water. The maids left a pitcher of purified (not tap) water in our fridge, which we drank every day. When they saw that we emptied it every day, they started leaving us an extra one. There is WIFI in the lobby only.

The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and interesting, and fun to explore. We found all the monkeys (and the baby monkey)! There are lots of little Roatan "rabbits" (like a rabbit with a guinea pig's head), iguanas, turkeys, hens, and roosters. The monkeys like to harass the rabbits, and everyone/everything they can get their hands on. It is very funny. Do not leave things unattended, or the monkeys will steal them. The poor staff get blamed for this quite often. I love the monkeys, but feel bad for the staff.

My friend and I were first-time Divers, and the divemaster Daron was amazing! My friend had a panic attack when we first got into the water with our gear (diving can be scary at first!), but he took time to calm her down and talk to her. We ended up spending hours exploring the most beautiful place on Earth. Diving there was like exploring another planet! I could go on and on about the diving, but I think enough reviews here have covered that.

Fantasy Island really is paradise, if you know how to recognize paradise when you see it. Get to know the people and staff. This is where the real learning takes place.

I also recommend that you look up the two orphanages on the island. They need stuff like water, toilet paper, and other supplies listed on their website. You can visit them and bring them supplies! Visiting them was way more rewarding then any canopy tour (although those were incredible, too!).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We are staying at the Fantasy Island Marina. It is very beautiful. Every day we take a walk on the beach to the garden. It is like a Farmer and Dell experience. There are peacocks, chickens, parrots, monkeys, hutias, iguanas, geese, turkeys and many more animals. All are roaming free except for the parrots. It is SPECTACULAR! The marina is a very nice facility complete with power and water. The water is non-potable. There is a Happy Hour every other day. It is hosted by Jerry the Harbour Master and it is the honor system. You pour your own and then settle up at the end of night with your bill. There is a spectacular dive facility on site, too. You can get any certification and Darren and Pedro will take good care of you there. The diving here is spectacular. Wrecks, walls, and lots of sealife and corals. There are also several ziplines nearby. There are spas nearby and also you can get massages onsite at the resort.
ENJOY!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just got back from a week at Fantasy Island. This is the second time we have been to this resort. The first time was almost 20 years ago, and she is showing a bit of her age (seriously, who isn't?). Having said that, it is still an great resort to stay and dive. We had a group of 16, divers and non divers. If you are looking for free wi fi that you can stay holed up in your room all day, you show stay somewhere else. If you don't like the room, ask to be moved! If you are looking for a great place, with fantastic staff and amazing diving, this is your place. The pool is wonderful, the beach is beautiful. If you love animals, there are plenty of face to face experiences here! The monkeys greeted us every morning, along with iguanas, ducks, geese, chickens, peacocks, amazons and agoutis. The food was tasty and plentiful! Can't say enough about the diving! 6 of our divers took the lionfish class which included instruction on how to safely catch them, a 2 year certification to hunt them and a spear to take home! All of the lionfish our diver caught were cooked for us at the resort kitchen. Thank you Darren and Pedro for the best diving experience! We had the same table reserved for us the whole week and could not have had a better service staff, thank you Edwin and Sayda! you are doing a great job Enrique, keep up the good work! We will be back! Twin Fin Scuba.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

On my husband first trip to roatan we book this hotel....
The shuttle vans old...smells nasty ...
Location very nice the artificial beach very good....
Check in horrible ...no education no manners ...
Room dirty we found a dirty Q-tip in room ....
No even a bottle of water in the little fridge they put tap water ...
Bathroom with mold ....we ask to move to another room the front desk with attitude change the room but 8 hours later ....the sliding doors don't work..this hotel needs a lot of work ...
They charge a lot for what they give.....

Room Tip: Go to Mayan princess worth every penny....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I did my usual trip to Roatan in July, 2012. I stayed at Fantasy Island Resort. I know that this resort has some improvements to make to its infastructure, however I go more for the diving and the dive shop matters the most to me.
The dive shop manager, Daren is a very nice young man who is extremely knowledgable about the reefs and life on them. He made my stay a joy, down to even diving with me on two shore dives to the Prince Albert. Another member of the dive shop staff that I felt went above and beyond was Pedro, the boat captain. Wonderful man, very helpful.
The only downside to the trip was the quality of the food, not as good as it once was, but far better than it was in 2011. This was probably the biggest improvement in the last year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento ca
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed at Fantasy Island, Roatan, May 2013. This is a difficult property to review. There are some great things about this property and some issues that need to addressed.

Fantasy Island is located on one of the nicest beaches and lagoon on Roatan. Beautiful clear, blue water. The dive program is four star. Very clean, well maintained boats. Experienced, friendly helpful staff. The dive shop and boats are a two minute walk from your room. A locker room is located on the dock, and you can leave your dive gear at the locker room and place on the boat. They offer three day dives and a night dive per day.

The staff at the hotel and restaurant are very friendly and helpful.

The problem this property has, is the condition of the infrastructure and rooms. The power went out several times a day. The wireless did not work. There was often no hot water. The rooms were in fair to poor condition.

However the staff was so nice it was hard to be upset. The management said they were upgrading the facility in the next six months. If they could upgrade the rooms, plumbing, and electrical system this could easily be a four to five star property. If we leave our American expectations at home, and take all the problems with a bit of humor; you'll have a great time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fantasy Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fantasy Island Beach Resort

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal, French Harbour, French Harbour, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > French Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in French Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fantasy Island Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of the Caribbean at Fantasy Island Beach Resort, Dive and Marina! Our Roatan, Honduras resort is located on its own 21 acre private island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fantasy Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fantasy Island Beach Hotel Roatan
Fantasy Island Beach Roatan
Fantasy Island Roatan
Fantasy Island Beach Resort Roatan, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fantasy Island Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.