We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasy Island 1/2/13” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fantasy Island Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Fantasy Island Beach Resort to your Saves list
Fantasy Island Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Pavimentada Ppal, French Harbour, French Harbour, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in French Harbour
Flower Mound, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantasy Island 1/2/13”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was booked as a shore excursion from our cruise ship directly through the resort and it started off very bad. When we came off the boat, our transportation was not there. One of the other tour operators was nice enough to call them and let me use her phone. They said that they weren’t aware we were coming even though we booked months in advance. The tour operator said this happens a lot with Fantasy Island. The lady at Fantasy Island said she would send someone immediately but after an hour waiting and another phone call we paid someone else to drive us out to them. Once there, we contacted Velma in the dive shop as we were there for shore diving. She was very nice and offered to not charge us for our second tanks in order to help with the additional transportation cost. She was also very accomodating by guiding us to our lunch and keeping our valuables safe while we dove. The resort grounds and facilities were beautiful and in order. The shore diving was amazing and it was fun not having to follow a dive master around. The lunch was very good native Honduran cuisine in a buffet style. The wild life, especially the monkeys were very entertaining! Lots of beach area around the private lagoon even though we spent our entire day diving. Nice resort overall. But if you book a day package here, just don’t rely on them for transportation. Instead, I would recommend Rony’s Tours.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    214
    119
    79
    74
See reviews for
102
226
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The rooms does not work well at all, the have water issues and sometimes you cant take a bath, also they run out of towels very fast and the hotel wasn't full. The servies of the staff was poor they always had and excuse for everything and most of them don't know what are the activities or cant give a right answer. The only person in the staff (restaurant) that attend us awesome was a guy named Francisco that he always asked us about how was the food, or if we need anything else he always find the way to solve the issue. The other issue is that is an "all inclusive hotel" but you can only eat at breakfast, lunch and dinner, they don't have any kind of snack. Also the bar closes at 10 PM and if you want to continue drinking you need to go to someplace else because there is nothing to do in the hotel after 10 PM. It's a very cool place for diving and snorkeling.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms that are far from the front desk or restaurant because everyone pass in front of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

To help you understand how poor our experience was, let me say that upon arrival I immediately plopped myself down and tried to figure out how to cancel our stay. Because we were scheduled to be there for two weeks over the holidays, everything on Roatan was booked, so we were "forced" to stay. We made the best of it, but we would never return nor recommend.

There were poor reviews before we went, but some of the more recent ones in Dec/Nov seemed more positive (and we were under the impression there was new management) so we took a gamble—never again! And, we now we see that people that were there when we were also had a terrible time, so be warned: don't go.

Major issues:

(1) No standards of expectation, e.g:
+ yes there's wifi, but you'll spend 20+ minutes trying to connect 99% of the time
+ the hot water in your room will often not work
+ there will often not be any towels available
+ one day there'll be milk at breakfast, the next 4 you'll have to harass the servers for it
+ one day your bed will have a pillowcases, the next day no
+ one day you'll have shampoo replenished, the next week you won't (we took a cab into town to buy some at the Mega after we we asked for it, and waited two days. Still waiting for it).
+ pool was gross, never used it.

(2) What do we mean by "all-inclusive"?
+ Only 5 drinks (the most sugary, mixed drinks) and 1 beer were included in the plan
+ They tried to charge guests for the NYE dinner and party ($30 for the same standard of food and "premium" drinks)

(3) Not at all welcoming
+ We arrived and were brought a drink, but the receptionist didn't tell us one single thing about the property except to tell us we'd be charged $25 if our remote control went missing. No welcome spiel, no overview, no introduction, nothing.

+ The place is a few notches above shambles. Dire need of paint/repair/reupholstering.

+ We switched rooms twice and asked to see 4 rooms because the first one we were given in the "renovated" section was horrific. One, shaky 20W lightbulb in the room, fluorescent lightbulbs that gave off a high-pitched squeal when turned on in the bathroom, rusted shower and toilet seat, burned countertops, stained linens (actually that was true for all the rooms).

(4) Food is blah.
+ We were there two weeks and let me tell you, eating eggs, meat and a few scrags of lettuce three times a day gets old.

+ Some of the food available was fine (the meat was particularly tasty), but not nearly enough variety. The only vegetables we had were overboiled broccoli and cauliflower a few times and piles and piles of iceberg lettuce, onion, tomatoes and carrots.

+ If you have any diet issues, this isn't the place for you (if you still wanted to go after everything I said): it's heavy on the bready and sugary desserts. Once in a while there was ice cream for dessert (which was actually quite good).

+ We had some good servers (Carolina, Fabrizio, Francisco, Gavina, and the girl who's name I didn't catch, but she's slim and has long curly hair and a permanent smile) who were courteous, friendly, and hard working. The rest (particularly a newer girl who's more curvy, a bit taller and shorter hair) who seemed completely disinterested, and never even came to ask us what we'd like to drink which made for a couple of dehydrated meals.

There were a few good things: it's a lovely beach, the animals were amusing, but, it's a shame to come back from a long-awaited trip and feel so disappointed.

Room Tip: 220's are much better—they're actually renovated and less rundown than the 200s and 100s
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

If you are looking for a laid back, no hassle dive vacation, look no further than Fantasy Island .Great dive facility, large rooms and really good food. Dive boats were large and never crowded. Miguel and Dario were always helpful, and made our diving great. Henery is one of the best bartenders there is! The beach around the resort is wonderful and the grounds were well kept. The monkeys and other animals became part of our daily visits. Will visit this resort again soon.
Gail W.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Poor service, poor Internet service, dirty facilities pretty much says it all. The beach is very nice, but the pool appeared dirty. I am at the staying at the marina, but have access to the facilities. The "resort" (used loosely) substantially overbooked at Christmas-New Years and was placing guests at other places. The employees do not seem very motivated to be helpful.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The location and the dive shop were great. But the room and service were terrible. This is one of the worst hotel I've ever stayed in my life. Sink and shower water was salty. The shuttle never comes on time. The reception people don't know how to talk to the guests. I saw the guests were making line in the receptionin order to complain that the safe box isn't working, there's no towels in the room etc. some staff were smiling and nice but the reception was fatal.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We came off a cruise to spend the day at the "resort" about 30 minutes from port. The drive out there was intense and the hotel itself was rundown. We did enjoy the beach area and the monkey that ran after small children. It was highly entertaining. The wifi signal was weak so if you need the Internet you're pretty much out of luck.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fantasy Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fantasy Island Beach Resort

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal, French Harbour, French Harbour, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > French Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in French Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fantasy Island Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of the Caribbean at Fantasy Island Beach Resort, Dive and Marina! Our Roatan, Honduras resort is located on its own 21 acre private island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Fantasy Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fantasy Island Beach Hotel Roatan
Fantasy Island Beach Roatan
Fantasy Island Roatan
Fantasy Island Beach Resort Roatan, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fantasy Island Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.