We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dive club vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fantasy Island Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Fantasy Island Beach Resort to your Saves list
Fantasy Island Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Pavimentada Ppal, French Harbour, French Harbour, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in French Harbour
Melbourne, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dive club vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Went with a large group of mostly divers second week in September. Staff was wonderful. Very quick to respond to any issues we had. Every one was incredibly friendly. The bar staff was very tentative to us all. Henry and the younger guy working the bar were so friendly and great to us, even when we were on the beach they brought us fresh drinks and would check on us. The food wasn't always the greatest and the water pressure in the shower of some rooms was low but considering where we were it was alright. Beautiful Island great dive sites, amazing dive master Darin and Alonso boat captian. Manager was nice tour guide was friendly even socialized our last night at the resort. The security at night was friendly and even informative. Those days some of us decided not to dive there was still plenty to do. The bar at the pool was a great way to relax when we weren't shore diving, snorkeling, kayaking or lounging on the beach. The monkeys were very friendly, funny and extremely cute. Peacocks were neat they would eat out of our hands, which was a great experience. All and all a great trip. If given the chance I would visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    215
    120
    79
    74
See reviews for
104
224
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Bay, Florida
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a group of 18 for the week of Sept 8-15, 2012. Some had reservations prior due to some poor reviews, but all came away very pleased. The rooms were spacious and clean. The staff was very accomodating to our every need. They made my job as the coordinator of the trip very easy. Eli, the resort manager was very present and pleasant. The food was basic but very plentiful and improved as the week progressed. The dive operation was outstanding. Derrin and Alonso were attentive to our every need. They took us to great dive sites with great visibility. The reefs and walls were absolutely gorgeous. The gazebo was very nice. The beaches were pristine. Our group was very social and enjoyed the beverage package, especially the last day. The pool with the swim up bar was a great hit. If there were any complaints, it was at times the shower was a little salty. Which also improved as the week progressed. We all had a great time and would like to go back sometime soon

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We found Fantasy Island via a travel agent, with rules/guidelines for diving that were conducive to what we were looking for. The rooms were clean and cleaned every day, even had animals made from the towels on our bed. They replenished the fresh water in the refrigerator every day and if you ran out, you could bring your pitcher to the kitchen for more, there was no need for bottled water. The showers were hit or miss on pressure at the beginning of the week but were fine the rest of the week with warm/hot water. One must keep in mind that you are on an island in the Carribbean, the water is filtered sea water with no chemicals added as they are in the states. The food was excellent with lots to choose from, even made to order omelets and eggs for breakfast. Oscar, the dining manager, and his staff were wonderful. We were met every meal with big smiles, hellos and excellent service. Eli, the general manager, was regularly checking on us to make sure our stay was going well and answered all the wacky questions we had about the island wildlife with a smile. We very much enjoyed the monkeys, they were great fun to watch and play with. The dive shop was top notch. Darren, Nelson, Pedro and staff were all very helpful, experienced, attentive and knowledgeable. Every dive was filled with new sights and marine life was abundant. Nelson was a fantastic Dive Master, always able to find us something exciting and picture-worthy. Going in with the understanding that the dive shop and dive master have no control over what you see, don't see or the visibility of the sea on a dive is imperative. We were able to see all sorts of marine wildlife, both big and small (i.e. large schools of fish, arrow crabs, lobsters, free-swimming eels, iridescent jellies, giant parrotfish, and the list goes on). We always had fresh fruit on board waiting for us when we came up between dives, along with fresh water. Even some passing rain showers weren't able to dampen our trip. We found no need to ever leave the resort. As a side note, the staff even went out of their way to accommodate a gentleman in a wheelchair by placing ramps throughout the resort and assisting him up/down any stairs that weren't ramp-worthy. Overall, our group had a fantastic stay and will probably repeat in the future. Thank you Fantasy Island for making our stay relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Only 14 divers the week we went (August 18 - 25, 2012). Apparenlty there were zero divers the week before we got there. Friendly staff, funny monkeys, dive shop needs help. We replaced our high pressure hoses a the shop when we arrived. The "new" hoses the shop put on had holes in them... FIVE of FIVE hoses they replaced ALL leaked. The food in the "all inclusive" was lacking. Buffet style, never HOT...ample, but basic. There was no ho water in the showers.. took cold showers all week. Transportation into town is $30 one way, so you ar pretty much stuck at the resort. The gift shop there had t-hirts for about $20, but they were from varioius resorts and locations in FLORIDA? It wsa OK. the diving was OK... the visibility was not what we expected. Did 18 dives and the BEST visibility was probably 50 feet. BIG hard corals, massive corals, every dive has a wall because the coral is so deep. They have fish, but not the gian schools oif yellow snapper and sergeant majors you would expect. In fact there were NO big schools of fish. Moray eels - big ones - and barracuda stalk the dive groups because hte guides have been feeding them lion fish. Big moray will swim out into open water approaching divers. Saw a lot of turtles on the north side.. 10 in 2 dives..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We came to Fantasy Island because of the Dive Shop's reputation. We were surprised by how wonderful the resort was. The staff went out of their way to make us feel special. Our room was decorated twice as we were celebrating our anniversay. They also set up a private dinner on the verranda. I loved all the different animals on the property. "George" the monkey though was my favorite, he loves women so beware. All the dives were absolutely amazing. The dive instructors were knowledgeable and very familiar with every reef. We saw so much underwater I ran out of room just trying to write all the fish down after each dive. The views from every part of the island are amazing. The rooms were spacious and clean. I had all the amenities provided by the resort in the bathroom. The food was plentify and something for every taste. The management was always present and making sure our needs were taken care of.

Room Tip: Talk to someone about what you expect for a view and there are so many places they can put you. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We travel a lot and this is the first time I've ever written a terrible review on a hotel. This was a rip off. "All inclusive" package yet we needed to pay $2 per water bottle, the water from the sink and shower was salt water, there are only a few staff members around to help. The shower head was broken and the towels smelled awful.The building is run down and old. Just one pitcher of clean water is provided. I can't understand where these pictures are coming from. The balcony door is sealed shut so you can't sit on the balcony. The safety deposit box was broken. The pool was completely empty due to it being cleaned. This was a complete rip off. We left and paid extra to stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Try Infinity or Parrot Tree. We moved to these wonderful hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Our family recently visited Fantasy Island as part of a cruise ship tour. When we arrived, we were greeted by a friendly staff who escorted us to a beautiful beach. There were plenty of beach loungers and there were even beach beds where my mom, who is in a wheelchair, could relax. The kids had a blast snorkeling and using the kayaks that are complimentary. We made friends with the resident monkeys and iguana and they kept us all entertained. The general manager, ELI, was fantastic. When I needed to check my emails for a tour we were taking the next day, she brought out her personal computer and let me use it to finalize my plans. It would certainly be worth a trip to Isla Roatan to stay at this resort! Thanks for a wonderful day!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fantasy Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fantasy Island Beach Resort

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal, French Harbour, French Harbour, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > French Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in French Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fantasy Island Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of the Caribbean at Fantasy Island Beach Resort, Dive and Marina! Our Roatan, Honduras resort is located on its own 21 acre private island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Fantasy Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fantasy Island Beach Hotel Roatan
Fantasy Island Beach Roatan
Fantasy Island Roatan
Fantasy Island Beach Resort Roatan, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fantasy Island Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.