We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people protecting iguanas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arch's Iguana and Marine Park

Arch's Iguana and Marine Park
French Harbour, Honduras
445-7743
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great people protecting iguanas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Went to the 12 acre farm that is home to more than 2000 iguanas protected from all the predators, mostly man, on the island. Sherman Arch, the proprietor, is a third generation islander who took upon himself the task of ensuring these creatures survival. He has some other animals: turkeys, chickens, monkeys, birds and fish also on the property. When they feed bananas to the iguanas it is a must see as they come out of the trees and from all over into a mound of feeding reptiles.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    57
    25
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Neat experiance. concerned about the non reptiles....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Visited Archies Iguana retreat Jan 2012. Very cool! Amazing iguanas. Colors & Sizes!! You pet them and they lean against your leg like cats enjoying your attention. Very informative and entertaining. I was a little concerned though about the other animals there… Other reptiles/birds and fish… Almost an “after thought” it seemed. Monkeys were in VERY small cages… They didn’t look happy or healthy. I hope this changes. It seems odd that the iguanas get so much consideration, but the other animals seem to be not as important and more of a side attraction…. Still worth the visit for the iguanas AND the other creatures that deserve sanctuary over exploitation.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweeny, TX
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Iguana Farm visit 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

When I was younger I once had an Iguana as a pet and I feel they make not only quite a conversation piece but also a good pet; anyway, this small farm had more iguanas than you can imagine. Small iguanas, large iguanas, on the ground, in the buildings, on the buildings, in the trees, etc. They were very docile and appeared very healthy. This farm also had a penned area of the sea coast which contained some lobsters,tarpon, baraccuda and other fishes. Our entire family was enchanted by this park. It was worth the $8 entry fee.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Some pretty cool things to see here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We went to the iguana farm as a part of Rony's Tours Private Freestyle Tour (which I highly recommend) and it was fun. I am not a fan of iguana's although friends thought it was cool - there were a lot of iguana's to see even though it was raining.

There were other things to see which was great for me. They had turtles, birds, monkeys, roosters, chickens, a turkey, barracuda's, sargeant major's, other random fish, you get to see the harbour and boats.

Great experience for a great price ($8 per person) and you stay as long as you want.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wildlife attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Very interesting. This is an attraction for young and old alike. The Iguanas are fascinating and are all around. The marine life is spectacular and there's an opportunity to touch.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arch's Iguana and Marine Park also viewed

 

Been to Arch's Iguana and Marine Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arch's Iguana and Marine Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.