We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nethergill Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buckden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nethergill Farm
Save
You added Nethergill Farm to your Saves list
Oughtershaw, Buckden, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 5JS , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Buckden B&B and Inns
london, england
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night whilst walking the Dales Way and it was the best night of the whole trip. We were warmly welcomed with flapjacks and our room was spotless, warm, clean and comfortable. The beds were great and we had a great night's sleep. I had a long hot soak in the bath - bliss. The evening meal - a beef casserole with crumble to follow - just hit the spot after a long day and for breakfast there was a fantastic selection of really yummy choices. Chris and Fiona are really committed to the farm and sustainable values and caring for the environment and nature. It is a bit off the beaten track - but was handy for us as the Dales Way goes right past the door but I'd love to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were walking the Dalesway and booked a room in the farm for one night en route. It is an educational experience staying on a working farm. Fiona met us with a pot of tea and delicious flapjack. Can I have the recipe Fiona? A hen followed us in the front door. On being shown to our room there were house martins nesting in the corner of the window and we could see them flying in and out and the babies peeping out of the nest. There was a hot bath to sink into. Dinner was tender white shorthorn beef from the farm. Wine could be purchased too. The only downside. We have never been anywhere where we were not offered real coffee after our meal. We chatted to the other couple then went up to our room. There is obviously tea/instant coffee in the room but it is not the same as a real coffee after a meal and sit in the lounge and chat. After a lovely breakfast we were on our way with a packed lunch. Fiona is an artist and her artwork is displayed in the house, with cards to buy. Chris and Fiona are doing a great job on the farm, making improvements and environmentally friendly. The dinner and packed lunch were rather pricey.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed here recently while walking the Dales Way. The food was great both in the evening and for breakfast. We enjoyed a lovely lamb hotpot, vegetable lasagne, full fry-up and local smoked trout. The hosts were very welcoming and it was a joy to stay in such a beautiful house. Wonderful location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

What a brilliant addition to Nethergill Farm these barn conversions are, perfectly located on the Dalesway in the peaceful and inspiring Wharfedale. Chris and Fiona have created something very special here, a working farm with traditional values, care for the environment, wildlife and nature, together with the most genuine hospitality and wonderfully comfortable accommodation. I thoroughly recommend this accommodation to anyone wishing to enjoy all the beauty of the dales without sacrificing anything to comfort. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I booked for B&B and an evening meal for the last night of our holiday and although it was more expensive than the places we usually stay at we thought it would be a lovely end to our holiday. On arrival I was surprised to find a lot of the paint was peeling off the front door and the garden resembled a wilderness, not a good first impression. Whilst we were given a nice welcome we were taken up to our room and when I went to look at of the window I noticed that the window frames were covered in green mould. I have no complaints about the room or the ensuite just the state of the window frames which must not have been cleaned for quite a while.
When we went down for our evening meal the dishes were palced on a table in the room and we had to help ourselves to the beef stew and vegetables.The gravy had not been thickened and was very watery and not really enjoyable. Then we noticed there was another small dish of fruit crumble and cream which we once again helped ourselves to and no offer of tea or coffee to finish off the meal. The breakfast was nothing to write home about but adequate.
Whilst the farm is situated in a lovely area I feel that it is very overpriced at £85per room per night for bed and breakfast and £19 per person for the evening meal. Maybe we should have kept to our normal price range and not tried to have a bit of luxury.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nethergill, Owner at Nethergill Farm, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We are so sorry that your stay at Nethergill Farm did not meet your expectations. It is no excuse, but unfortunately you visited Nethergill at the end of a year of very harsh and unforgiving weather conditions. The front door did have peeling paintwork and as planned earlier in 2012, will be replaced in mid November. We have also ordered 4 new window frames to be replaced at the same time. Nethergill is 1200 feet above sea level and as such is subject to harsher elements than most.

Our evening meal has always been serve yourself, as indicated on our website. Our
rare breed White Shorthorn beef casserole has been universally enjoyed by other
guests and we are really sorry it was not to your taste. If guests would like tea and
coffee we provide a jug of fresh milk and they make tea and coffee in their room and
bring it down to enjoy in the large sitting room on the comfy leather settee in front of the wood burning stove.

We won the Deliciouslyyorkshire Breakfast award in 2010 and feel we have
improved and added to our breakfast many times since our award. We are always
striving to improve, but I am sorry Nethergill did not fulfil your hopes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Walking the Dalesway, we chose this B & B for the way in which it split the distance between Kettlewell and Dentdale. However, it turned out to be absolutely first class. Right from the start we were welcomed by Fiona with tea and flapjack and matters continued in the same vein. Our room was spacious with everything that we needed and a nice hot bath to sink into. Being on foot, we ate in and had a lovely meal. Lots of good home made cooking as was breakfast. The setting at the top end of Wharfedale is remote and we were fortunate to enjoy good weather. However, when the cloud is down it might be a different storey.

It was most interesting to be taken around the new self catering accommodation that Chris and Fiona have created from the old barn. This looks to be a quality finish and with fascinating use of the different levels. Also worthy of note and most enterprising was the facility for passing walkers with hot drinks and cakes, with an honesty box, as well as toilets.

Do not miss a stay here if you are in the area. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Lovely B&B in a very remote location, a great place to get away from it all and get an authentic experience of a sustainable farm. Fiona and Chris have created a delightful oasis, with logbooks telling the story so far, and exciting plans for the future with a wildlife education centre. The dinner they cooked for us was delicious, and the homebaked bread a real treat. As well as the livestock there is a wide range of wildlife, including delightful lilttle housemartins flitting around the windows having nested in the eaves. Nethergill is a labour of love, and one we felt glad to support.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nethergill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nethergill Farm

Address: Oughtershaw, Buckden, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 5JS , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Buckden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Buckden
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Nethergill Farm Buckden, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nethergill Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.