We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, pet friendly, value for money mid week break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tennant Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Tennant Arms to your Saves list
The Tennant Arms
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Kilnsey, Kilnsey, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 5PS , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilnsey
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable, pet friendly, value for money mid week break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Have just returned from a 2 night mid- week stay which we booked at the last minute. My husband and I took our Labrador and were very pleased with the quality of the bedroom as sometimes you are given a sub-standard room if you have a pet with you. The furniture was good quality, the bathroom was lovely and there was a very fine view of Kilnsey Crag out of the window. We ate in the pub both evenings, and both breakfast and evening meals were tasty. The home- made pies and fish and chips to be recommended. It is very quiet at night and the pub is in a lovely spot on a B road not too far from the attractions of Grassington village and a few miles from Malham Cove which we visited. Staff were friendly and overall the trip was good value for money. We look forward to staying again and maybe bringing some friends along with us next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    50
    21
    11
    9
See reviews for
29
97
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Met Russ and Liam today and the atmosphere was back to what it used to be a few years ago not like in recent years. Food was great , tasty and good value. Will be back again soon to try some more of the food and real ales.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Spent the weekend at this lovely pub, excellent meals on the Friday and Saturday evenings, generous portions too. Comfortable clean rooms followed by a very good well presented breakfast in the spacious wood paneled breakfast room. In the evenings plenty of space to sit outside, in the bar or in the residents lounge and enjoy the good beer selection. From here ample scope for good walking on the local dales. Makes an excellent base for a lovely break. hope to return having discovered this gem. So accessible but a little oasis.

Room Tip: If in a group the family room Craig View is very well appointed, actually two rooms in a "suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed as a couple for one night only on a saturday and were given Bishopdale room over looking the Cragg. As well as the Cragg it over looked the yard used for kitchen storage with piled up crates. Underneath us was the laundry room - the washing machine was going late into the night and was on spin cycle before 8am on the sunday morning. On arrival we were shown to our room and we left without any conversation with the establishment. There was very little intervention with the owners.

The room was a tad tired and the bath had a thick tide mark around it. The main decor was one of anyglypta.

The corridor that serviced the rooms had immensly creaky flooboards.

We booked the Tennants Arms on its real ale attraction - in particular Theakstons. We were dismayed to find no Theaskstons ( dispite all the parasols and menu boards depicting same), no dark beers and only Guiness in tins, as to the draft been "off".

We found it difficult to book an evening meal as we had to work around a large party booking for non residents. The evening meal and breakfast were of a high quality. However the staff although helpful were drastically under pressure to maintain a reasonable service. Wait times were lengthy. There is also no other establishment within walking distance as an alternative.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful 3 days here. Hotel was just perfect, The Swaledale room with ensuite was wonderful great view of the kilnsey crag. Food was perfect and the staff were a friendly too...You couldn't ask for a better place to stay... We will return soon ....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed one night. The rooms were clean and had good tea and coffee facilities but the view was poor. If you hope to watch TV ( although there are better things to do) you will be very disappointed by the tiny TV (13INCHS). We felt they did not have much time for the guests, not really asking what they may needed. We tried to stay for diner but they did not make an effort to helping us to reserve a table. We ended up going down the road, to eat, because we were left standing wondering what to do. The breakfast was good otherwise with a lot choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Tennants arms Kilnsey is a great place to stay if you're visiting the Yorkshire Dales. Well designed rooms and good food with a friendly team headed up by Mark and Kay. Good base for a great holiday. The real ale's not bad either.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tennant Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tennant Arms

Address: | Kilnsey, Kilnsey, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 5PS , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Kilnsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilnsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tennant Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Tennant Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tennant Arms Hotel Kilnsey
Tennant Arms Skipton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tennant Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.