We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pub, great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tennant Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Tennant Arms to your Saves list
The Tennant Arms
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Kilnsey, Kilnsey, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 5PS , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilnsey
Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely pub, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Visited on a quiet December night; great pub food (huge portions!) and really good value (£10 for the biggest burger, chips and onion rings you have seen). Roaring fire, plenty of ales on offer. Will revisit when in the area next.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    50
    21
    11
    9
See reviews for
29
97
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Great hotel spacious well appointed rooms tremendous food extremely friendly in a wonderful part of the world could not fault my families stay, 9 of us over boxing day and the 27th Great hotel spacious well appointed rooms tremendous food extremely friendly in a wonderful part of the world could not fault my families stay, 9 of us over boxing day and the 27th

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We recently went to the Grassington Dickensian Festival and stayed for the weekend in a B + B. This hotel was the nearest for a meal, and as the weather was bitterly cold and snow forecast (didn't arrive though) we went there for our evening meal. We were talking to the manager and he was new, apparently the hotel had taken a dip before he took over. He has turned it around and it was very cheery and warm. The meal was excellent and we went again the following evening.
I have read some of the reviews and they are quite damning but all I can say is that it must have changed remarkably because we couldn't fault the atmosphere, the food or the staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Chose the tennant arms as a place to get our head down on the way home from up north.
So glad we did.nicely decorated room.excellent food with good choices all accompanied with a pint nod a log fire,bliss.will be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Just stayed here for 3 nights. Very relaxing stay. Room was very comfortable. We ate there every night as the food was delicious and very good value for money, so much food I could not eat it all! Managers were on holiday but the new owner Russell and his son were running things, they were both really friendly and helpful. This was our first time in Yorkshire and we would not hesitate to stay here again, really good location for travelling around the dales.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

A wonderful weekend in such a cosy pub. The rooms were lovely and bed comfortable. We ate there every night and the food was first class. We will definitely visit again as Mark and Kay made us so welcome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed for 3 days and was made most welcome by all stay, the rooms are fantastic and varied, I was lucky to be able to view most rooms picking a small but very comfortable one as my stay was alone, the bar is friendly warming and with a grand log fire burning all day. A great base for walking with direct access onto the moors from your front door. I had some great walking days although wet and windy the bar food, beer and fire we all welcomed you back in from the rain. The food is fantastic, pleantyful so much so that i chose only to eat here at the pub.

Highly recommend this great hotel for your Dales stay, i will be coming back for another stay.

Room Tip: As the staff when booking as every room is unique from standard to four poster with master bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tennant Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tennant Arms

Address: | Kilnsey, Kilnsey, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 5PS , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Kilnsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilnsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tennant Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Tennant Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tennant Arms Hotel Kilnsey
Tennant Arms Skipton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tennant Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.