We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely working windmill, delicious food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tuxford Windmill and Tea Room

Tuxford Windmill and Tea Room
Retford Road, Tuxford NG22 0NW, England
01777-871202
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Attractions in Tuxford
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Nottingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely working windmill, delicious food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I took my mum out looking for a garden centre in Walesby only to find it had closed down . I decided to head towards Tuxford and came across a most amazing working windmill . My mum was very excited to see this wonderful sight so we decided to call in to have a look around. We were greeted by a very friendly dog called Sid, who has a book written about him so he is kind of a celebrity around there. We were welcomed into the tea room by a very friendly lady and shown to a table by the window where we could just watch the sails of the mill going round. My mum had the soup which was served with a home made brown roll and I had a cheese and ham roll. Both were delicious. Not much room for cake but they looked so appetising., we both had the lemon sponge again it was lovely. The family run business is great we watched a lady making cookies as we left. We had a great time but didn't go into the mill since my mum is 85 and can't get up the stairs but next time I will go and have a look. Amazing place. Will be back soon.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    4
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice to see a working windmill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Passing near one day we saw the sails turning and decided to pop in to the tearoom for an afternoon cuppa and treat.

The decaf coffee was proper ground coffee in a cafetier which makes a nice change and the toasted teacake made from flour ground in the mill was extremely tasty and filling. The OH had a cream tea but opted for a cool drink instead of tea, at one point he thought this was a mistake as he couldn't get the top off but the waitress soon replaced the bottle and voila success :) he also said the homebaked scone was just right.

Staff very friendly and chatty which was nice.

Look forward to another visit.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful place and great cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

A lovely setting and interesting to see a working windmill- we didn't go in to see how the windmill works (will hopefully next time) but we went to the adjacent tea rooms and shop. Cakes were great- we tried the tea cakes, carrot cake and porter cake and would recommend all. They also sell their flour, milled on site, and I've really enjoyed making different loaves and cakes with what we bought.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great place to visit with the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I bring my children here to watch the windmill, get some flour and eat some cake... what more can you ask for. The family run buisness is very friendly and have even taken my kids to see the inside of the mill, which they love.

The flour milled hear is also amazing for baking, so as well as the tea room its worth while grabbing a bag or two and having ago at your own brittish bake off!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We took our young children to see a working windmill. It was luckily a windy day! The man took us up and showed us round,explained how the flour is made, was wonderful with the children, encouraging them to try wheat and feel the different textures etc and it was really good fun. If you're in the area definitely pop by.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuxford Windmill and Tea Room also viewed

 
Ollerton, Nottinghamshire
Tuxford, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Tuxford Windmill and Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuxford Windmill and Tea Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.