We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your Own Private Island...If You Want It To Be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guana Island

Save Saved
You added Guana Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Guana Island
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   P.O. Box 32, Guana Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Guana Island
NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Your Own Private Island...If You Want It To Be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

Guana is simplicity and luxury at the same time. Staff are great - as helpful or in the background as you want them to be. Just ask if you want something. Plenty to do - hiking, swimming, fishing, tennis or sitting on the beach (we excelled at that!). Its hard to put into words how difficult it is to leave Guana and go back to the real world (esp if its cold and snowing!). After days of no TV, no radio, no phones, no cars, no traffic, no need to carry your wallet or keys and no need to lock your door - its hard to get back to reality! Your biggest decisions on Guana are what to have for dinner and when to get a massage and when to go on a picnic. Thank you Guana - our batteries are fully re-charged...though our hearts are aching for our simply wonderful days and nights on the island.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    10
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
65
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

You can stop searching for the perfect tropical island getaway! This is it, don’t even browse one more page!

You would be hard pushed to find someone who has higher expectations than me when it comes to staying in beautiful places. Without sounding like a complete travel bore I can assure you that when it comes to quality, I want nothing but the best.

To that end Guana Island is a breahtakingly beautiful island that I could not recommend more strongly. To start it would difficult find a place where on the busiest day there are only 10 people on the half mile stretch of gorgeous white sand and turquoise water that is their busiest beach.

Guana has the perfect combination of magnificent scenery, total tranquility and first class service. The staff attend to your every need with wonderful care and a keen eye for detail that is unrivalled anywhere that I have been!

I could ramble on for hours about every aspect of this hidden gem, or just say this. The only regret you will have about vacationing on Guana Island is that at some point you will have to leave. Book it now, you will not find anywhere better than this!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

My wife knew we needed a getaway - just us - and she just wanted a place with blue water she could just watch and swim in (as well as a few dozen other needs). Luckily, I head been recommended by a friend to Guana Island. I had assumed it would be difficult to get there because it was a small which I had trouble finding on the map, and I never had enjoyed the BVI experience. But the non-stop to San Juan, then an easy American Eagle puddle jumper to Tortola where we were greeted by our boat captain and after a beautiful 10 minute boat trip we were there. Immediately we were welcomed like the newest members to the island family. The villas and most lodging are located on top of a small ridge above the water. The Harbor villa where we stayed offered great views of the harbor and tortola from the bedroom, and the pool deck offered great views of the Atlantic to the east. Of course by now we had no doubt this was the perfect spot to unwind.

Most of the island is undeveloped and offers well marked hiking trails to scenic overlooks and remote beaches. For us, the hikes were strenuous enough to help clear our minds and work up a good appetite - which you will need. Each night the menu offered two choices of main courses. All of the meals were delicious, but the staff was very conscientious to make sure they could accommodate any needs or requests. And the portions were generous.

On two of the days we hiked to remote beaches to snorkle, and on both days the island staff picked us up in the small motor boat and gave us a ride back to the resort's white sand beach and brought our lunch down to the beach for us to enjoy there.

For us, Guana Island was a great combination of beauty and relaxation, great service and every need met, but balanced with enough space for us to enjoy the quiet space and natural beauty of the Caribbean.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, CT USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

Guana is extraordinary so I will not repeat all the positive remarks that others have said but I do want to add some comments from a parent's perspective. We have an active 7 year-old who is very comfortable in the water and enjoys nature. We were not sure if Guana would be as exciting for him as we expected it to be for us. Guana's beauty, interactions with nature and welcoming staff exceeded all of our expectations. The beach is beautiful with little to no waves and a pontoon for the kids to swim to and jump off of. Beach toys, kayaks, paddle boats, fishing rods etc are also available. Our family spent most days snorkeling which was incredible just off the main beach (we joked that we were in the middle of "Finding Nemo"). Life vests are available for kids if necessary. Fortunately for us there was also another family with children so our son had a great time playing with them in the afternoons as well. The staff were very accommodating and willing to discuss meal alternatives when necessary (which was actually few). Kids movie nights (with popcorn) occurred twice while we were there and 1 beach barbecue. Our only regret is that we did not stay long enough. There is much to see and do on Guana (even the lack of TV/technology can be forgotten by kids given all the interesting marine life and reptiles). We all hope to visit again very soon.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

Guana is truly extraordinary. We’ve just returned from 5 days on the island; and all other trips we’ve ever taken to the Carribean over the years (St. John, Virgin Gorda, St. Thomas, Barbados, Canouan) have been completely “blown out of the water” by Guana Island!

We can’t wait to come back to this peaceful oasis with the most attentive staff and service possible. The marvelous Andrea, Emma and Melissa were spot on, and perfect in managing every detail to make our trip very comfortable, fun, relaxing, and truly seamless. I have never felt so well taken care of…I felt like I was staying at a 6 star resort. Even my vegetarian diet was attended to with the greatest commitment by the staff. The food was always delicious and more than plentiful.
I loved that all of the other guests instantly became like family, we enjoyed eating meals together and sharing the unique experiences of our day(s).

The sweetness of nature at its best is on display here from the melodious birds, sweet doves, flamingos(!) to the terrific snorkeling, abundant flowers, and spectacular views from every room. Seems that from every angle, Guana is a paradise.

We loved our room, very spacious with hypnotically beautiful views and great light from every window. We slept like babies, the bed was perfect. The Wifi was a welcome addition as well.

I cannot praise Guana, all of it’s staff—the owner of the island, and the wonderful Dr. Liao, enough for their dedication to preserving the environment, architecture, history. and sprit of this spectacular island.

Same time next year? I hope so!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

My wife and I went to Guana for our honeymoon, and it's hard to imagine how it could have been any better. The island is stunningly beautiful, the staff is friendly and accomodating, the rooms are lovely. And that's just the start! We hiked, we snorkeled, we sailed, we lounged on the beach, we had massages, we took a "castaway picnic" on a secluded beach. The food is good and plentiful, the drinks are reasonably priced, the facilities are excellent, and the atmosphere is utterly relaxing.

Guana is not cheap, and for most of us it's only a possibility for the occasional, very special get-away. In addition, Guana is definitely NOT for people seeking night life, a variety of restaurants, or a busy resort setting with hundreds of guests. It's quiet, there are no TVs and no phones in most of the accomodations, and there are never more than 35 or 40 guests. (The week we were there, the number ranged from 8 to about 20 or so.) If and when you can afford it, though, Guana is ideal for a romantic vacation or a recharge-the-batteries escape.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

When my (now) husband and i started to evaluate locations for our wedding we wanted somewhere that would be able to offer us and our family and friends a magical day to remember (for the right reasons) and Guana Island most definately fit the bill.

Andrea and Emma ensured that nothing was overlooked - we were treated like royalty even before we stepped on the ferry in Trellis Bay.

Welcomed with a drink and a much welcomed cold face cloth it was onto our rooms to relax a little before getting ready for the ceremony.

Our room was lovely, breezy with simple clean decor - great toiletries in the bathroom and even a view from the loo!

The planning all paid off with a sunny beach ceremony for 30 guests and steel pan band which resulted in a laid back and fun service. There wasn't a dry eye on the beach.

The food on Guana was great and wherever possible they use ingredients available from the island's orchard.

I would highly recommend Guana Island for anyone who is looking for a relaxing, no fuss vacation. You will be looked after impeccably by their enthusiastic and friendly team.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Guana Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guana Island

Address: P.O. Box 32, Guana Island
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Guana Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Guana Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Guana Island 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Guana Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guana Island Hotel Guana Island
Guana Island Hotel Tortola
Guana Island Tortola
Guana Island British Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guana Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.