We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guana Island

Save Saved
You added Guana Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Guana Island
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   P.O. Box 32, Guana Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Guana Island
1 review
“The Perfect Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We selected Guana Island as our honeymoon destination based on its reputation for beautiful surroundings, a relaxing atmosphere, and opportunities for privacy. It far exceeded our expectations in every single way.

From the moment of our arrival on the dock, we were struck by the beauty of the island and warmth of the staff. After a brief tour of the grounds, we were escorted to our sea-view cottage (Eleuthera). The cottage was very private, with a porch overlooking the sunset each evening. While it didn't have air-conditioning (apparently some of them do), we found the large screened windows and ceiling fans to keep us cool and refreshed, especially as night.

The rooms are spacious and clean. While we were out on the beach most of the day, we were always excited to head back to the cabin for afternoon naps and some...privacy :)

One thing to note is that the screen, while generally in great condition, don't keep out every single thing. We found a few small lizards (which we actually loved), chilling in our bathroom, and reading lights after dark could attract a few tiny moths. We didn't have any run-ins with biting insects or mosquitoes.

Outside the room, the island is gorgeous. I've included a few photos, since words simply can't do it justice. The beaches were pristine, and the grounds were beautiful. We especially enjoyed the wildlife: iguanas, pelicans, lizards, crabs, and a variety of birds.

Meals were, without exception, phenomenal. Breakfast and lunch offered a huge amount of variety, with fresh fruit (much of it grown on the island) was the best I've ever had. Dinners were quiet, romantic, and delicious.

I could go on about what else we loved (snorkeling, kayaking, paddleboarding, outdoor movie in the 'Garden of Eden'), but I suggest you go check out the island for yourself. This is not a vacation for people who want to go out on the town every night. If you're looking for a place to ditch your cell phone, forget about 'real life', and completely unwind in a nearly untouched setting, Guana is for you.

We can't wait to return for an anniversary down the road, and will continue to recommend the island to our friends and family!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    10
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
70
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were looking for a sun and sand vacation to relax while our son was at camp and Guana Island was perfect.

We travelled via San Juan. Overnighted in San Juan and then took a mid morning flight to Beef Island. All very easy. Because only small planes land on Beef Island customs/immigration took only minutes. Airport on Beef Island is better than most that we have been to in the Caribbean. Not crowded, well ventilated and even air conditioned in the departure area. For our return, connecting in San Juan was more confusing as you had to change terminals and go through US immigration but as we had Global Entry it was fast and easy as they do have the terminals.

On Guana we stayed in the North Beach Cottage which is the most secluded. You feel like you are the only people on the island. At night sitting reading with the trade winds blowing, inside or out, it was just magical. Relaxing on the private dock was, I think, the most peaceful time of my life. The beach at North Beach Cottage is not one for swimming (too many sea weeds and rocks) but great for exploring. The main beach was stunning. Best beach I've been to since St. Barths. Calm and with soft sand. Kayaks, paddle boards etc all for your use. We went in July which is a slower season so the resort and beach were very quiet and calm.

With the villas, you get a fully stocked kitchen with all wine and drinks included. We also got fruit and cheese daily in our fridge. Nespresso coffee maker with all varieties of pods, bread, eggs, milk, crackers, chips were all included and provided to us. The drinks at the honour bars were also free to us. If we did not stay at a villa, I would think of bringing my own wine but I would really have missed the refrigerator to keep the drinks cold. Lemonade, guava and passionfruit punches were free to all visitors. We were worried about the lack of tv but did not miss it at all. (Internet was good so we were able to keep tabs on the outside world.) The breeze on the island as a whole made the high temperatures very comfortable. However, I have to admit that I would have loved some air conditioning in the bedroom. We also got our own golf cart to use since North Beach was so secluded. Zooming around the island on the cart was a riot. We were worried about mosquitoes but they were not a problem during our stay. We brought plenty of repellent but it was also supplied in our room. A highlight for us was dropping in unexpectedly to the Orchard where Hong very graciously gave us a tour and a sampling of all the fruity that was there. I am really not a fan of mango, papaya etc but enjoyed it all immensely.

Meals were excellent. Breakfast we could order most anything and they also provide a buffet of fruit and breads. Lunch was our favourite. A buffet that always included a fish, a meat, potatoes/rice and salads. Dinner was a soup, appetizer, main and dessert. It was always plentiful without being too much. It is not five star dining but excellent, tasteful cooking. And no, you are not placed at tables with other guests, but at your own private table. Should you meet others that you would like to dine with you can always request that but we were happy as we really wanted a nice private vacation all around.

The staff was wonderful. Always friendly and available and never intrusive. Andrea, the manager, came around at meal times to make sure all was well and was very relaxed and helpful.

Guana is definitely not a resort for active vacations. You go to relax, swim and perhaps hike a trail and enjoy the amazing natural flora and fauna that is on the island. There was a family of goats that wandered the terrain around our villa and we were excited to see a huge iguana running across our path one morning. If you are a go, go, go type of vacationer then this is not your place. The style of the resort is not trendy or luxurious (as in marble baths...) I have to laugh when I read complaints that there is not carpeting in the rooms - this is a tropical resort, you are coming in wet with sand on your feet. I wouldn't say rustic, as some people have described, it is far better than that word conveys. It is a refined elegance that exudes comfort yet class. This is definitely a resort that we would recommend and will come back to.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Guana Island far exceeded my expectations! My new hubby and I went for our honeymoon and we stayed at the North Beach Villa. I was nervous about no a/c but my concerns were unfounded. The breeze from the ocean and the ceiling fans was perfect and we loved the tropical feel of the air. The North Beach Villa is extremely private with its own beach and pool far from any of the other guests. No one bothers you and you are given a phone so you can call the office or they can call you if needed. I have never experienced anything like Guana Island. The food was amazing, the beach was beautiful, the staff was wonderful and we were pampered with everything we desired!!!

Room Tip: North Beach Villa of course!! But if it is too pricey the cottages are very nice and as there are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Our vacation to Guana Island could not have been more perfect. The island truly has everything to offer in terms of a relaxing, beach vacation and so much more. Along with beautiful sandy beaches and crystal blue waters, it is the natural preservation of the island that surrounds you and makes this place extraordinary. There are plenty of activities, hiking trails, and wildlife that could entertain you for days and a visit to the Orchard is a must! The gardener, Lee, peeled us fresh mangos, star fruit, papaya, coconuts, and more, and then took us to feed the donkeys banana leaves. The meals were amazing as you can tell the food is fresh and the preparation is phenomenal, though they were always able to accommodate any personal diets, preferences, or requests. Last but not least is the excellent staff. Everyone was so friendly, warming, and hospitable. They really contribute to all that the island has to offer and make your stay that much more enjoyable. All in all, Guana Island is a special place and an unbeatable vacation!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My husband and I just returned from 8 days on Guana Island.....we easily could have stayed another week. Actually, we were ready to put our house on the market, send for the kids and just move in! Where do I start? Well, our flight was delayed 4 hours, so we didn't get in until very late. The staff on the island was very accommodating....even though we were so late, they were right there at the airport to pick us up as soon as we exited customs. They took our bags, and after a short boat ride in the dark, we arrived. They had sandwiches waiting for us in our room since dinner had been served hours before.

As soon as we arrived and settled in, we had 8 days of pure paradise. I had thought about hiking (I heard it is incredible) but we didn't do much. Laying on the beach, sitting in the Garden of Eden, swimming in the ocean, and kayaking kept us plenty busy.

Don't miss a trip to the orchard, but go during a time you are hungry. The resident gardeners pick fruits from the trees for you to sample, after handing you a fresh coconut with a straw in it! I don't usually like mangos, but the ones on Guana Island (like everything else!) were heavenly. On our way back from the orchard, we stopped to see the 2 resident donkeys (they let children ride on them). We had a few mangos from the orchard and learned that donkeys enjoy those. It was great fun to feed them and take pictures of their mango covered snouts.

The staff is truly fantastic. They are always around if you need anything and they will chat with you if you like. One thing we really loved was the homey atmosphere. If you need something, (like a drink or whatever) you can go help yourself, or the staff will grab it for you, with a smile. As other reviewers said, if you want anything, they'll make it happen. The World Cup semi finals were on when we were there. We loved that they had no tv's or phones in the rooms. However, when my husband and a few others started talking about wanting to see it. Within 20 minute, voila! The staff set up a comfy place (equipped with tv) for them to watch the match. We plan on making many return trips....and look forward to seeing our new "family" year after year.

The food is fantastic. Their young chef from Spain is an artist. The soups were unlike anything I've ever had. Every thing we ate was fresh and delicious. Also, unlike most of the Caribbean, the drinking water on Guana is fantastic and safe. I wish I could bottle some of it and bring it home.

You can be social with the other guests or go off by yourself. We met some wonderful new friends.

A few tips: the paths on the island are steep. If you have health issues and walking on such terrain can be difficult, the staff will pick you up and take you anywhere you would like to go. We never had to wait more than a few minutes if we wanted to ride instead of walk.

Somehow, we thought that the wine with lunch and dinner was included in the price. The wine with dinner is an extra charge. However, the wines were reasonably priced, very interesting (many from South Africa!), and perfectly paired with the food being served.

They provide you with a perfect bag so that you can carry any supplies around with you. They also give you a water bottle. There aren't refrigerators in the room. If you drink a lot of water like us, make sure you bring some back to your room with you. They provide plenty of bug spray, but don't forget your sunscreen! You can buy sunscreen there, but it is expensive. And you WILL need sunscreen.

Many of the other couples we talked to said that the "Castaway Lunch" was absolutely fantastic and well worth the extra cost. We will make sure to partake of that next time.

This is NOT a place to party....it's a place to relax and decompress, which was exactly what we wanted.

My husband and I are also archaeologist and there are archaeological remains there.....including several ruins that date to the 1600's. If that is something that interests you, take the time to go around and take a look. They even have a small museum.

Bottom line? We've spent a lot of time at beaches around the world, and we've now found our new "Caribbean Home." We are already looking for times when we can return. Guana is perfect....in fact, it exceeded our expectations. We have no need to go anywhere else when we need a beach get away.

Room Tip: When you make your reservation, just call and tell them what you like. We wanted to be "away&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This was the best trip of our lives. We came for our 20th anniversary. We have been to Hawaii 3 or 4 times and loved it, but nothing has been as great as Guana. We loved the ability to be alone and to ourselves. The staff extremely friendly and responsive. We loved hearing them sing in the mornings while eating breakfast. The food was excellent, the views are awesome, the whole experience was perfect. We will be going back.

Room Tip: The North Beach Villa is perfect for the couple wanting to get away from everyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I will run out of positive adjectives if i write as much as i want to. The other reviewers have made a good summary of why this place is fantastic. If you're waffling between here and some other place as we were, give these guys the nod and you will not be disappointed. The food was amazing and yet in reasonable portions. Almost any activity you can think of, the staff will make work. You can be as outgoing as you like or as private as you like. Again simply ask and Hanna's staff will make every effort. Only one reminder, like anywhere else in the Caribbean, bring your bug spray. Oh yeah and take some cocktail recipes, because the only thing they don't have is a bartender - you're your own! But you'll figure it out. So again, beach? check, food? check, watersports? check, romance? check, hiking? check, wildlife viewing? check... book it already and enjoy.

Room Tip: Any of the House options is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Guana Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guana Island

Address: P.O. Box 32, Guana Island
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Guana Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Guana Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Guana Island 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Guana Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guana Island Hotel Guana Island
Guana Island Hotel Tortola
Guana Island Tortola
Guana Island British Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guana Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.