We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guana Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Guana Island to your Saves list
Guana Island
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   P.O. Box 32, Guana Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Guana Island
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My husband and I just returned from 8 days on Guana Island.....we easily could have stayed another week. Actually, we were ready to put our house on the market, send for the kids and just move in! Where do I start? Well, our flight was delayed 4 hours, so we didn't get in until very late. The staff on the island was very accommodating....even though we were so late, they were right there at the airport to pick us up as soon as we exited customs. They took our bags, and after a short boat ride in the dark, we arrived. They had sandwiches waiting for us in our room since dinner had been served hours before.

As soon as we arrived and settled in, we had 8 days of pure paradise. I had thought about hiking (I heard it is incredible) but we didn't do much. Laying on the beach, sitting in the Garden of Eden, swimming in the ocean, and kayaking kept us plenty busy.

Don't miss a trip to the orchard, but go during a time you are hungry. The resident gardeners pick fruits from the trees for you to sample, after handing you a fresh coconut with a straw in it! I don't usually like mangos, but the ones on Guana Island (like everything else!) were heavenly. On our way back from the orchard, we stopped to see the 2 resident donkeys (they let children ride on them). We had a few mangos from the orchard and learned that donkeys enjoy those. It was great fun to feed them and take pictures of their mango covered snouts.

The staff is truly fantastic. They are always around if you need anything and they will chat with you if you like. One thing we really loved was the homey atmosphere. If you need something, (like a drink or whatever) you can go help yourself, or the staff will grab it for you, with a smile. As other reviewers said, if you want anything, they'll make it happen. The World Cup semi finals were on when we were there. We loved that they had no tv's or phones in the rooms. However, when my husband and a few others started talking about wanting to see it. Within 20 minute, voila! The staff set up a comfy place (equipped with tv) for them to watch the match. We plan on making many return trips....and look forward to seeing our new "family" year after year.

The food is fantastic. Their young chef from Spain is an artist. The soups were unlike anything I've ever had. Every thing we ate was fresh and delicious. Also, unlike most of the Caribbean, the drinking water on Guana is fantastic and safe. I wish I could bottle some of it and bring it home.

You can be social with the other guests or go off by yourself. We met some wonderful new friends.

A few tips: the paths on the island are steep. If you have health issues and walking on such terrain can be difficult, the staff will pick you up and take you anywhere you would like to go. We never had to wait more than a few minutes if we wanted to ride instead of walk.

Somehow, we thought that the wine with lunch and dinner was included in the price. The wine with dinner is an extra charge. However, the wines were reasonably priced, very interesting (many from South Africa!), and perfectly paired with the food being served.

They provide you with a perfect bag so that you can carry any supplies around with you. They also give you a water bottle. There aren't refrigerators in the room. If you drink a lot of water like us, make sure you bring some back to your room with you. They provide plenty of bug spray, but don't forget your sunscreen! You can buy sunscreen there, but it is expensive. And you WILL need sunscreen.

Many of the other couples we talked to said that the "Castaway Lunch" was absolutely fantastic and well worth the extra cost. We will make sure to partake of that next time.

This is NOT a place to party....it's a place to relax and decompress, which was exactly what we wanted.

My husband and I are also archaeologist and there are archaeological remains there.....including several ruins that date to the 1600's. If that is something that interests you, take the time to go around and take a look. They even have a small museum.

Bottom line? We've spent a lot of time at beaches around the world, and we've now found our new "Caribbean Home." We are already looking for times when we can return. Guana is perfect....in fact, it exceeded our expectations. We have no need to go anywhere else when we need a beach get away.

Room Tip: When you make your reservation, just call and tell them what you like. We wanted to be "away&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This was the best trip of our lives. We came for our 20th anniversary. We have been to Hawaii 3 or 4 times and loved it, but nothing has been as great as Guana. We loved the ability to be alone and to ourselves. The staff extremely friendly and responsive. We loved hearing them sing in the mornings while eating breakfast. The food was excellent, the views are awesome, the whole experience was perfect. We will be going back.

Room Tip: The North Beach Villa is perfect for the couple wanting to get away from everyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I will run out of positive adjectives if i write as much as i want to. The other reviewers have made a good summary of why this place is fantastic. If you're waffling between here and some other place as we were, give these guys the nod and you will not be disappointed. The food was amazing and yet in reasonable portions. Almost any activity you can think of, the staff will make work. You can be as outgoing as you like or as private as you like. Again simply ask and Hanna's staff will make every effort. Only one reminder, like anywhere else in the Caribbean, bring your bug spray. Oh yeah and take some cocktail recipes, because the only thing they don't have is a bartender - you're your own! But you'll figure it out. So again, beach? check, food? check, watersports? check, romance? check, hiking? check, wildlife viewing? check... book it already and enjoy.

Room Tip: Any of the House options is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattR224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We were here for just two nights, and we had some flight delays on the way there - but Guana Island made everything worth it. On a small island with an even smaller population, you can really find a lot to do. Two nights definitely are not enough, but we got to hike a bit, explore various islands around with a rented boat, visit the orchard and enjoyed a little bit of the water sports (which they have a large selection of). We did a bit of cave exploring on an island not too far from Guana as well. We had a nice private Infiniti pool along with our cottage that overlooked some of the most beautiful views of the island, which was great to relax around after dinner with some cigars and drinks. The food we ate was wholesome, robust and delicious (the Chef himself comes from Spain) and there is unlimited wine at lunch and dinner. I had a body scrub and massage on the second day early in the morning and I do recommend it, the spa is outdoors, serene and adorable. It was great waking up in paradise for two days. The people were amongst the friendliest and I really enjoyed the diversity of the people. I am dying to go back to see and do all I haven't done there yet. If you are looking for a peaceful vacation where you can really appreciate all that mother nature has given us, Guana is THE island!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My husband, myself and our 9 year old daughter have found the perfect Caribbean getaway. A wonderful respite from the winter blahs. The food surpassed our expectations. Our daughter wants to return next year. This comes from a girl who ranks 'Villa D'Este' of Lake Como as one of favourite places in the world. We know we will return ...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Honoluluchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Guana island is a great place to vacation if you enjoy quiet, nature, hiking, relaxing on the beach, water activities such as snorkeling, paddle boarding, and rowing. The dinners are luscious 3 course meals which will really spoil you for when you have to go back home and eat regular food. Hiking is great. The topography of the island is actually quite surprisingly steep. Bring good hiking shoes and see the island vistas from the peaks of the island-spectacular with Jost Van Dyke, St Croix and Virgin Gorda all in various panoramas. We did feel that the hikes are more difficult than what the hotel brochure describes. For example: the "moderate level" hike which should take about two hours, we would actually rate as "difficult" and it took us 4 hours to complete. Of note, my husband and I are in fairly good physical condition and hike all the time. The staff are wonderful, friendly and so accommodating. You feel right at home on day one.

Room Tip: all the rooms are great. We stayed in Upper Camino-The view is mesmerizing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank islandspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Perfect place for a romantic get away for you and your significant other. Very relaxing, loved it. Will definetly visit again. Food and service was excellent. I loved the self service bars. Lovely!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guana Island
8.4 mi away
Sugar Mill Hotel
Sugar Mill Hotel
#2 of 28 in Tortola
5.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
10.0 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
5.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
8.9 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
4.7 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
4.5 of 5 stars 760 reviews
9.3 mi away
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
#1 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
4.5 of 5 stars 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guana Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guana Island

Address: P.O. Box 32, Guana Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Guana Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Guana Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Guana Island 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Guana Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guana Island Hotel Guana Island
Guana Island Hotel Tortola
Guana Island Tortola
Guana Island British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing