We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guana Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Guana Island to your Saves list
Guana Island
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   P.O. Box 32, Guana Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Guana Island
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This was the best trip of our lives. We came for our 20th anniversary. We have been to Hawaii 3 or 4 times and loved it, but nothing has been as great as Guana. We loved the ability to be alone and to ourselves. The staff extremely friendly and responsive. We loved hearing them sing in the mornings while eating breakfast. The food was excellent, the views are awesome, the whole experience was perfect. We will be going back.

Room Tip: The North Beach Villa is perfect for the couple wanting to get away from everyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    10
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
76
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I will run out of positive adjectives if i write as much as i want to. The other reviewers have made a good summary of why this place is fantastic. If you're waffling between here and some other place as we were, give these guys the nod and you will not be disappointed. The food was amazing and yet in reasonable portions. Almost any activity you can think of, the staff will make work. You can be as outgoing as you like or as private as you like. Again simply ask and Hanna's staff will make every effort. Only one reminder, like anywhere else in the Caribbean, bring your bug spray. Oh yeah and take some cocktail recipes, because the only thing they don't have is a bartender - you're your own! But you'll figure it out. So again, beach? check, food? check, watersports? check, romance? check, hiking? check, wildlife viewing? check... book it already and enjoy.

Room Tip: Any of the House options is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We were here for just two nights, and we had some flight delays on the way there - but Guana Island made everything worth it. On a small island with an even smaller population, you can really find a lot to do. Two nights definitely are not enough, but we got to hike a bit, explore various islands around with a rented boat, visit the orchard and enjoyed a little bit of the water sports (which they have a large selection of). We did a bit of cave exploring on an island not too far from Guana as well. We had a nice private Infiniti pool along with our cottage that overlooked some of the most beautiful views of the island, which was great to relax around after dinner with some cigars and drinks. The food we ate was wholesome, robust and delicious (the Chef himself comes from Spain) and there is unlimited wine at lunch and dinner. I had a body scrub and massage on the second day early in the morning and I do recommend it, the spa is outdoors, serene and adorable. It was great waking up in paradise for two days. The people were amongst the friendliest and I really enjoyed the diversity of the people. I am dying to go back to see and do all I haven't done there yet. If you are looking for a peaceful vacation where you can really appreciate all that mother nature has given us, Guana is THE island!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My husband, myself and our 9 year old daughter have found the perfect Caribbean getaway. A wonderful respite from the winter blahs. The food surpassed our expectations. Our daughter wants to return next year. This comes from a girl who ranks 'Villa D'Este' of Lake Como as one of favourite places in the world. We know we will return ...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Guana island is a great place to vacation if you enjoy quiet, nature, hiking, relaxing on the beach, water activities such as snorkeling, paddle boarding, and rowing. The dinners are luscious 3 course meals which will really spoil you for when you have to go back home and eat regular food. Hiking is great. The topography of the island is actually quite surprisingly steep. Bring good hiking shoes and see the island vistas from the peaks of the island-spectacular with Jost Van Dyke, St Croix and Virgin Gorda all in various panoramas. We did feel that the hikes are more difficult than what the hotel brochure describes. For example: the "moderate level" hike which should take about two hours, we would actually rate as "difficult" and it took us 4 hours to complete. Of note, my husband and I are in fairly good physical condition and hike all the time. The staff are wonderful, friendly and so accommodating. You feel right at home on day one.

Room Tip: all the rooms are great. We stayed in Upper Camino-The view is mesmerizing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Perfect place for a romantic get away for you and your significant other. Very relaxing, loved it. Will definetly visit again. Food and service was excellent. I loved the self service bars. Lovely!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

When I found Guana Island I knew I had found my perfect Caribbean paradise. Great views and privacy, off the grid rooms and isolation, excellent service and incredibly low key. I am on my 5th consecutive stay. I've stayed many places in the BVI, USBI, Grand Cayman Islands, Bermuda, Bahamas, Puerto Rico and none compare to Guana.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guana Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guana Island

Address: P.O. Box 32, Guana Island
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Guana Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Guana Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Guana Island 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Guana Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guana Island Hotel Guana Island
Guana Island Hotel Tortola
Guana Island Tortola
Guana Island British Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guana Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.