We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing 20.5 Anniversary Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guana Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Guana Island to your Saves list
Guana Island
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   P.O. Box 32, Guana Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Guana Island
Certificate of Excellence
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing 20.5 Anniversary Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We recently returned from Guana. We spent 6 nights there for our 20.5 year anniversary. If you have not familiarized yourself with their website do so now, it is very accurate and helpful. We flew into Tortola and we met by the very friendly staff that took us to the boat for the short ride over to Guana. After arriving at the dock in Guana we were met my 3-4 staff members that welcomed us to the island and gave us a tour and drove us to our room. There are not any true roads on Guana. Everyone gets around using golf carts. We stayed in the North Beach Cottage which comes with its own golf cart which is wonderful. Our villa was on a secluded beach that was away from the rest of the main part of he island. It has its own pool, deck and it the epitomy of private. The entire time we stayed there we did not see anyone on "our" the beach. The staff is wonderful, they will do as much or as little as you desire. My wife and I spent most days on the island hiking the trails or hanging out on the beach. We did scuba dive one day and the staff set everything up for us. There were only about 10-12 guest on the island while we were there. I am typically not as social as my wife, but I thought the conversations at the breakfast and lunches with the other guests were one of the best parts. There were guests from all over the world and chatting with them about their parts of the world and the different professions was fascinating. The island is truly unspoiled, there are miles of hiking trails, some easy some difficult. The staff provided us with a cell phone for the week in case we needed anything urgently. Our cottage had WiFi which I worked much better than I would have thought. During my wife's daily naps I could easily stream netflix movies and facetime with the kids back home worked pretty well. The food was top notch. Breakfast was a buffet or off a menu, lunch was a buffet and dinner was off a menu. I am a health nut and eat what most would describe as extremely healthy. I had no problems maintaining my diet there, they always provided a fish dish with lunch and dinner and fresh vegetables and fruits were always available. I exercise quite a bit and was able to run on the flat part of the island in a .6 mile loop. I also am a magnet for bugs and found that I was bitten much less than anywhere else I have been, including my own home. It rained the day we left otherwise mostly sunny. When I booked the vacation I wanted somewhere private and secluded, Guana was perfect. It was so nice not bothered on the beach every 10 minutes with someone selling you a drink, if you want a drink at Guana you just walked to the bar and make one yourself. This is definitely not the place if you are looking for clubs, hook ups and nightlife, its just not that kind of place. It is not cheap but for us on our 20th it was as close to perfect as we could have asked for. The great service extended to the Tortola airport on our way home when the man that runs the island happened to be departing at the same time and asked where in Puerto Rico we were spending the night and after telling him about the cheap hotel we were staying, he promptly changed our reservation to the Ritz in Puerto Rico for the Guana employee rate of $125.00 a night!! Guana will be tough to top for our future island vacations. Our kids want to go to Atlantis this summer and I am dreading it!! haha.

Room Tip: The North beach cottage sits all by itself. You can only get there with a golf cart and it is comple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    11
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
84
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Our family of 4 just returned from a week's stay at Guana Island and had a fantastic time. First of all, the location is spectacular- you can hike, snorkel, tour the orchard, watch birds or whatever you desire without leaving the island. The accommodations are simple and elegant, and the lack of phones and TVs in the room is a definite plus that we hope the resort won't change. Our teenage boys read 9 books between them and it was great for us all to get away from technology for a week. The food was wonderful- appropriately proportioned and delicious with enough variety throughout the week to keep us happy. The hotel staff were among the best we've met and were always happy to accommodate whatever request we made. If you are seeking peace and quiet and to get away from the crowds this is it. We will definitely return,

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Greg and I were supposed to stay for four night at Guana Island but then realized that we wanted to stay longer. As a result we extended for another three nights. We end up having the island for the two of of those last days. Staff was amazing, food was insane and the massage. yoga incredible. The beach, just to think that such an amazing place exist is hard to believe. The pictures don't make adgustment because the place is just spectacular.
I can go on and on but overall this was an incredible stay. From playing tennis for hours, having lunch at the beach/drinks, go kayaking, and the list goes on. Over all Guana island and staff was a try paradise. See you soon Guana :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Home Sweet Home! Just back from my 6 mile walk and had time to think about our trip. The island is an unspoiled beauty. The staff were so friendly. They always had a smile on their faces,even early in the morning or late at night. We met many great couples and have even been in touch with one couple since we have been home. I must say our visit was rather like an adult summer camp. Lots to do . All kind of water sports and any level of hiking you might want. The food was what wd expected from the previous reviews. Breakfast was the best, lunch was good and dinner was fine. If there was something that you did not like they would gladly substitute. Nice smaller servings at night which was good after eating all day. Our room was wonderful. But we did find out after talking to other guests that not all rooms are created equal. One couple felt like they were in the low rent district. Several of us toured each others rooms after lunch one day and they were all very different. Just be sure to state what you want in a room. Management needs to be aware that guests will talk. I found out toward the end of our trip that most guests were there on a romance package that included 2 massages and a castaway picnic. It was for one day less than we were staying and a large amount of money less than what we paid. I was upset that we were never offered this package and did write Jason and let him know. Neverless we had a great time and I will just be more careful next time I book. Joe down at the beach was great. He took several of us on a snorkle trip one day to introduce us to his underwater friends. We held a sea urchin, a star fish and got to see many different kinds of fish. All in all a very relaxing trip. I would be happy to answer any questions you might have

Room Tip: Just let management know what you want . Privacy was very important to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
298 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Words cannot capture how great this place is. The island itself is a fascinating nature reserve and features several amazing beaches. Our room was high on a hill overlooking water on all sides with two terraces. Food was spectacular. Privacy is available or you can mingle with other guests. When we were there there were around 15 guests and 40 staff!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We just got back from a few days in paradise. Thank you to the entire Guana team for another magical visit. Our first visit was for our honeymoon. We had been 'dreaming' of a visit ever since. We returned this time to celebrate our anniversary and our daughter's birthday. Words can not express what a truly unique and wonderful place Guana is. It is only place that we have found that we can truly 'relax' and get away from it all. THANK YOU Guana -- we will be counting the days until we are back again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We went to Guana in early October, just before their high season and during their annual month-long science program, which meant that, aside from a few scientists and some graduate students, we were the only guests on the island. We felt like interbellum-era creatives living the high life.

Guana is an amazing place, but you should understand what you're getting into. This is not some cookie-cutter Club Med or Sandals where you go for cheap thrills, easy hook-ups, and hokey after-dinner entertainment. We live in New York and have to deal with the mess and noise of 8 million people every day, so going to a beautiful place where you can enjoy silence, space, and nature while still being pampered was a dream come true.

A lot of the things that might turn some people off are the same things that make Guana great. There are no TVs. Watch TV at home, not when you're in an island paradise. Pack a lot of books; I made more progress in Proust in those six nights than I had in the six weeks prior. The roads are steep and the hiking trails are steeper. But this is part of the ethos: Guana is minimally developed and they intentionally retain somewhat of a rustic feel. Which also involves a commitment to conservation. Guana is full of animals. You will find lizards and insects in your room, and you will see (harmless) snakes on the trails. It's why you go to a natural reserve: to see what the world might be like if humans hadn't ruined everything.

If you can handle those things, you are almost guaranteed to have a great time. The vibe is very relaxed, and the staff is overwhelmingly (and sincerely) friendly. There wasn't a single request that they weren't happy to accommodate. If you're going on a hike, take a cell phone from the office and, when you're finished enjoying your destination, call to be picked up by golf cart or boat. The mango was the best we'd ever had in our lives, so they were happy to send someone to the orchard to pick up a few more just for us, and then slice them up at the beach bar.

On that note, the food was phenomenal. The chef is a fairly new addition, and what a find. At each lunch he would come and make sure that what he was planning for dinner suited our tastes, and it always did. Seeing the menu each night was a visceral thrill: a creative soup, a delightful antipasto, an immaculately prepared main, and a sublime dessert. And each night they place you at a different table, each with a different view. My favorite was seeing the lights twinkle from Tortola.

After a few days we settled into a groove and spent most of our days on White Bay Beach, snorkeling if we felt like it, or just lounging under a tree. The complete relaxation and almost-total seclusion was exactly what we needed. We'll definitely be back at the earliest opportunity.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guana Island
10.0 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
5.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
8.4 mi away
Sugar Mill Hotel
Sugar Mill Hotel
#2 of 28 in Tortola
5.0 of 5 stars 437 reviews
8.9 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
4.7 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
4.5 of 5 stars 717 reviews
9.3 mi away
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
#1 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
4.5 of 5 stars 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guana Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guana Island

Address: P.O. Box 32, Guana Island
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Guana Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Guana Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Guana Island 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Guana Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guana Island Hotel Guana Island
Guana Island Hotel Tortola
Guana Island Tortola
Guana Island British Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guana Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.