We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guana Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guana Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Guana Island
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   P.O. Box 32, Guana Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Guana Island
Ridgefield, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Guana Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Guana Island is the most relaxing and beautiful resort that our family has ever visited. As indicated in other reviews, this is a special place for those who want peace, quiet, beauty and a number of things to do. The staff is extremely attentive and graciously while always being discreet. In contrast to many resorts, it is clear that the staff is friendly and enjoys being there to serve.
We would like to point out that there is great snorkling here (Monkey Point and Crab Cove) which we were surprised to learn many guest do not take advantage of. The guide Jen clearly enjoyed teaching and pointing out things that one may not notice on his/her own.
We cannot say enough about wonderful Guana Island and the staff are. We will definitely go there again for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Room 4 Dominica. Beautiful view of White Bay Beach. Great cross breeze in the room and great private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    10
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
69
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Road Town, British Virgin Islands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I went over to Guana for the weekend initially intending to stay 2 nights. We have lived in the British Virgin Islands for many years but had yet to make it over to Guana. I could not believe what we had been missing when we got there! The lovely comfortable boat ride over to the island and the warm reception by the staff when we arrived were just the beginning. I don't even know where to start but let me just say, we ended up staying an extra night! We hiked a different trail everyday and loved exploring the island on our own. Guana is completely unspoiled and because it is private and has only a small amount of guests at one time it is very rare to come across anyone on the trails which makes you feel like you are truly alone on your island adventures. The food was delicious and the ladies in the kitchen and doing the service were warm and friendly. I just want to make a special note that the staff at Guana were incredible and really went above and beyond to accommodate us and make our stay one we will never forget. This is also made evident by the fact that all of the other guests we met while we were there were return guests some having come there annually for the last 20 years! The beaches were pristine and quiet, a perfect spot to read a book or have a snooze before grabbing an afternoon beer from the well stocked honor bar at White Bay. When we weren't hiking or beaching we went out on glass bottom kayaks, fishing off the dock and touring Guana's very own Orchard where Woo gave us coconuts to drink from as he guided us through the sugar cane and other exotic fruit trees of the Caribbean. We stayed in a newly renovated room which was beautiful and fresh feeling with our own private outdoor lounging area to relax in. The last night we stayed we watched a movie in the "Garden of Eden" on a projector which was pretty spectacular to be in such a beautiful setting, natures own cinema. Ok I am going to wrap this up now by saying that Guana is definitely somewhere we hope to return to at least once a year and somewhere we would definitely recommend highly to friends and family looking for a quiet escape from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were invited to our first ever destination wedding to Guana Island in the British Virgin Islands. What a beautiful little island for a private wedding or any private event for that matter. The Island is simply breathtaking and relaxing.

The resort itself was beautiful, extremely clean with all private cottages tucked into the beautiful terrain coupled with wonderful wildlife. We stayed in their Harbor House, which was elegant with a Jacuzzi and pool off your bedroom suite overlooking the Caribbean and Atlantic Ocean. The beach was fabulous.

Andrea was our main contact on this trip and Hanna and all staff for that matter at the resort couldn't do enough for us throughout our stay, which made for a wonderful stay. The food prepared by their chef was fabulous and their island organic vegetables were very healthy. Don’t miss the beach bar. It was a joy as the personalities of the folks working the bar made for a wonderful day of drinking and laughs. Do try their daily “drink specials”. They are awesome!

Lastly, do make time to get a beach side massage or in one of their suites with beautiful views of the Caribbean. Can’t say enough about their therapists, as they are warm and caring and what an excellent way to relieve stress after your flights or after a few days of hiking, snorkeling or kayaking in the blue waters.

I have traveled during my career to a few different small islands in the Caribbean, however I must say, Guana resort is now our favorite. I certainly will miss everything about this island. The only problem as most would say, you don’t want to leave.

JP

Room Tip: Harbor House Villa's......outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I'm not sure what I expected when I booked Guana Island Resort. The photographs were wonderful, but some of the text caused concern;. "Rustic" "Communal Meals" "All-Inclusive Meals". What I have to report is that there is absolutely no other resort (I hate using the word resort, because this was an experience.
Pros:
-Every request; done, every wish done, Hanna, Megan, Andrea and the lovely wait staff and even the mechanics and engineers were wonderful.My companion and I were speaking to the bartender at the beach bar and casually mentioned that we like chocolate before bedtime. That night fresh baked cookies were in our room. One night we missed the conch fritters at happy hour and we mentioned how much we liked conch fritters. Conch fritters were on the lunch menu the next day. The place is magical.
The food is very good and the variety was incredible. The best thing were the freshly grown organic vegetable from the island. Cooked to perfection. EVERY TIME.
Cons: NONE. For me that is. However ,you do need to do your research. This place is so super quiet and laid back that some may not like it. But if you want to really re-charge your batteries for a few days. This is the only place to go.

Room Tip: GET A VILLA! Get a Villa. Get a Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have been all over the Caribbean for 20 years. You can find so many different experiences. If I had to pick five descriptors they would be -- caribbean traditional, communal, fabulous, expensive, and interesting. This was our first visit and we absolutely loved it. There were not very many people there during our visit but all were very interesting. You can take your meals privately or as a group. We tended to do breakfast and lunch as a couple, and then join the group for cocktails and dinner. They have a new chef who makes fabulous food. My wife had hurt herself before our trip and needed some help recovering. The massage therapist was excellent. Our room, on top of a crest, was right out of a travel magazine.

We loved going to Guana. You need to enjoy quiet, private and communal. It is a 10 on this scale.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Spent a week with my wife and we'll be back for sure. If you want a quiet place, decent food and incredibly friendly staff, not to mention a fantastic beach, this is your place. The new year's party was a riot, pork bbq, bonfire and a band in the beach all night long. And we got to make some wonderful new friends. Yes, the furniture can be upgraded and phones dont work half of the time but who cares.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We recently had the priviledge of spending a few days on the beautiful, tranquil Guana Island. This was an amazing experience with with every aspect of our stay being to a very high standard - accommodation, location, service, dining. The apartment we stayed in was outstanding and extremely well appointed, with a private pool & hot tub and amazing views over the bay and the other islands beyond. The principal contact during our stay was Andrea, who could not have been kinder or more helpfu, but we found all the staff extremely courteous and efficient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Guana Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guana Island

Address: P.O. Box 32, Guana Island
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Guana Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Guana Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Guana Island 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Guana Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guana Island Hotel Guana Island
Guana Island Hotel Tortola
Guana Island Tortola
Guana Island British Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guana Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.