We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weardale magic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bull Inn

Black Bull Inn
Bridge End, Frosterley DL13 2SL, England
+44 1388 527784
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Frosterley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Weardale magic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Upper Weardale is one of Britain's lovely undiscovered areas (long may it stay that way the locals might well say). There are some wonderful walking and cycling routes - the Sea to Sea Sustrans route passes through here - and the Weardale railway will take you from Bishop Auckland to Stanhope and back at weekends. The railway stops at Frosterley Village en route and the station is about 50m from the subject of this review - The Black Bull Inn.

My wife and I have eaten here on several occasions in the last year with family and friends for both lunch and dinner and can give it a hearty recommendation. It is family run and this shows in the front of house welcome, the olde worlde atmosphere, the choice of ales and, above all, the quality of the food. Menu choice is limited but what is served is consistently good and way beyond the quality of normal pub fare.

Give it a try. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    24
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely food and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were staying in a holiday cottage about 1 mile away, and the Black Bull came highly recommended. Booking is required on a Friday evening.

Inside we were seated next to the fire which was cosy, the decor is very nice and the place has a nice atmospshere.

In terms of food we can both say that this is one of the best meals we have ever had, we shared a starter of ready to order scotch egg (sadly there was only one left or we would have had one each). For mains we had the pork and lamb which were both fantastic. The puddings were equally as nice, and the chocolate dipped strawberrys and hand made decorations served alongside looked and tasted fantastic.

If we are staying in the area we will certainly return - an absolute gem of a place to eat and drink.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sunday lunch..... The Black Bull”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Sunday lunch .. Black Bull , this is definitely not just pub food . Exellent meat well presented and sweet sticky puds to die for . The prices however are slightly above average but well worth it .
Thursday night quiz good fun but hard

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne and Wear
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Black Bull Frosterley Weardale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We rented a cottage at Frosterley on July 21st for a week and were keen to try the Black Bull after all of the reviews we had read and heard. We booked for Sunday lunch and can honestly say this was the best Sunday lunch we have ever eaten in a restaurant. The bill for 2 lunches (one lamb and one pork with 3 drinks came to £23 and was well worth it. Believe everything you read about this establishment. We decided to book for an evening meal for the following Thursday and again cannot praise the food enough. The only disappointment was the hot bread roll served with the soup - having expected a homebaked healthy bread roll it appeared to be more of a white shop bought roll - however this did not spoil the overall mea. We both had lamb cooked 2 ways and have never tasted such tender succulent lamb before with rich gravy. The vegetables were all cooked to perfection. The starter and main meal were very filling so we declined a dessert. The bill (including 4 drinks - wine and Wolf real ale) was around £65 with gratuity and was well worth it for the experience of fine dining. We love Weardale and have visited this area periodically for over 40 years - The Black Bull has added to the overall pleasure of our visits and we will definitely have a meal there whenever we are in the area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply THE BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The Black Bull in Frosterly is fantastic. It is our favourite place to go in the area and all guests we have are taken here to enjoy its atmosphere and dining experience.
The oldey Woldyness of the pub sets a relaxed informal atmosphere and provides plenty to look at - from the bells above the bar, to the line of teapots, and not forgetting fantastic photographs by the owner Duncan Davis and the poems in the facilities! Externally the outside area hosts many flowers, herbs and a stone pizza oven - holding a fantastic outlook for a drink or meal in the sun. Or if you want to watch the world go by the benches to the front of the pub allow you to do so - steam trains and ars buzz by and many walkers too plus plenty of greedy Labradors come sniffing by at the glorius aroma of scrumptious food being prepared in the kitchen.
The food... Whether its a visit for lunch. Dinner or pizza night on a Wednesday we have never been let down. The standard is high. Perfectly cooked meals presentation well and the effect is an internal cuddle from the tip of your toes to the smile that will illuminate your face. And that is just the main courses and starters. The desserts are on another level. You get the dessert you wanted - my personal favourite being the Maltese brownie.. But you also get fine chocolate art, a strawberry dipped in luxurious chocolate and a pot of cream and fruit I think... I've never been 100% sure what it is but it's scrumptious!
And before I get carried away on food I better mention drink. If you're in the mood for some alcohol the wine is top notch - and my fiancé is always more than happy with the selection of real ales on offer. The muscat pudding wine is my personal favourite!
The staff are all brilliant - Charlie who runs front of house has it just rice - professional service and if you want it over time - the personal touch. All his colleagues, including Will and the kitchen staff are all professional, friendly and will accommodate you in any way they can.
The £ - top notch food at great prices.
I don't think I can say anymore - other than The Black Bull in Frosterly is our favourite place to go and will hopefully be for a long time to come.
If you need anymore convincing look at the website , then ring up book a table and see what you think....

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bull Inn also viewed

Durham, County Durham
Durham, County Durham
 
Darlington, County Durham
Castleside, County Durham
 

Been to Black Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bull Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.