We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sicily's worst waiter?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna la Cialoma

Taverna la Cialoma
Marzamemi, Piazza Regina Margherita 23, Marzamemi, Sicily, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 51 Restaurants in Marzamemi
Price range: $39 - $156
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: struttura presente nella Guida Michelin,Gambero Rosso, guida Espresso,Gusto.La chef Lina Campisi ha inoltre partecipato a diverse trasmissioni televisive e preparato i suoi piatti per illustri personaggi nazionali ed internazionali
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Sicily's worst waiter?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015 via mobile

We had higher hopes for lunch at this restaurant than were realised. The room is bright, clean and attractive, and it had a good review in the Rough Guide. Starters--sweet and sour melanzane rolls with cheese and burrata, and artichoke hearts with a cheese fonduta--were first rate. The main course of two grilled fish was a total disappointment. The fish were overlooked, tough and dry. Even worse was the service. Is this the least engaged waiter in Sicily? There were only two other tables being served, yet trying to get his attention was maddening. He kept looking into the open kitchen, at the computer, his phone--anywhere but at us. I in ally had to shout to get him to notice that we were unhappy with the fish, and by that time we'd eaten half of it. Given that the fish cost over €60 and the entire meal was €150 for three (including a mediocre bottle of local wine and some very tasty ricotta dessert), the level of service is embarrassing. A more interested waiter would have made all the difference in this situation.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    177
    152
    120
    104
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marsaxlokk, Malta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The only restuarant available”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

when we arrived the place was deserted. The only restaurant open was La Cialoma. The pasta with artichokes/gambari and olives was good but the price for a plate of pasta was too expensive.
We had to sit on a bench as we were 9 persons and we could not stand up to go to the toilet. In the summer it will be ok as one can sit outside. Drinks and water are also too expensive. In Greece they give you the water free of charge. Above all they charge each person 2 euro cover charge. For what? The waiter just slams the bottle on the table and do not even open it.

  • Visited February 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Lunch break”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

Stopped here on impulse. Seated at the back overlooking the sea. Good views but the flies were a problem (height of summer accepted but worse than elsewhere). Food was fine but was expensive and not great size portions.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“My goodness, the best ever restaurant of my life ... and I'm from Rome :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

this is really the gourmet experience you shall not miss, when you are in Sicily (East Coast) so not miss Modica and Marzamemi, this is a former fishermen village, which has been given recently new life, the 'piazzetta' is full of restaurants but this requires a special mention, the restaurant is little but with plenty of tables outdoor, both on the front and one the back with sea view. If the season allows sit down on the outside and enjoy the pleasure of wonderful food. We got a very simple started made of raw fish with some oil and orange, amaaaaaazing. The main dish was a plate, I must say a full plate, of linguine with 'gamberi' (prawns) and artichokes. Well I have not seen so many prawns in a plate of pasta, usually you have two, this time the plate was gorgeous and full of 'amore' (as we say in Italian).
My children got a sole which was also very good and calamari recall. Believe me, the experience you SHALL NOT miss.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

We were traveling with Genius Loci and had lunch at this taverna. We had the most amazing food. The aubergine rolls and burrata were delicious. In addition we had marinated shrimp and delicious anchovies. The arugula salad and the tomatoes were memorable. Many others have commented on the waitstaff as being unfriendly, but that was not our experience at all. I would highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna la Cialoma also viewed

Marzamemi, Province of Syracuse
Marzamemi, Province of Syracuse
 
Marzamemi, Province of Syracuse
Marzamemi, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Taverna la Cialoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna la Cialoma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.