We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would love to come back and stay more days here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cascina Canova

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cascina Canova to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cascina Canova
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Gottardo, 33/35, 22029 Uggiate-Trevano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Uggiate-Trevano
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“would love to come back and stay more days here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

It is a really interesting place. History tells that the house is dated 1335. Generally speaking, it is located in the middle of nowhere in the small village close to Italian-Swiss border. At the same time you can't find a better location to visit Fox Town designer outlet located in Mendrisio.
The hotel got 4 stars and you will find that it is a fair 4 stars. Rooms are big, with high ceiling (ancient wood or at least looks like ancient), tastefully decorated. Wooden floors looking brand new. Bed is comfortable enough but may be some cm too short for me (I am 190 cm high) but nevertheless sleeping quality was absolutely ok. Bathroom is big also, but a little bit too dark – anyway, perfect shower and bathroom amenities smell was nice. Hotel will provide you with slippers and bathrobe. Room got individual air condition but to tell you truth we never used it, just opened window and it was enough at that time.
Speaking about minor points I should mention breakfast. It is poor for 4 star hotel and orange juice went sour (too old I think). No big choice. Coffee quality is too low (especially for Italy). Lady at the breakfast room wasn't friendly. At the same time all other staff was absolutely welcoming and helpful.
Second (but really small) minor point is wifi connection – you should re-enter complicated password every time when you log in. At the same time wifi connection is more or less stable.
I should tell you a couple of words about the hotel restaurant – it is a must to visit it, imho. Food is excellent and the service is very good. During Friday and Saturday restaurant was full (when I say full I mean it) with locals. Order pizza from their oven or meat, anyway you will be satisfied, I am sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    27
    9
    8
    20
See reviews for
16
17
1
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow-Kiev-Geneva
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is our second stay in this hotel, and it only confirmed positive impression after the first one. The hotel itself is a careful renovation of an old building - up to very high level, with the use of really expensive materials and equipment. Rooms are large and clean, service is good, we could get assistance for all requests. The hotel itself is not big - I assume it is not more then 20 rooms - so I felt quite personalized approach. The restaurant is really not bad - as a proof, it was almost fully occupied by local Italians :) Overall, the only thing I can really complain about - is wi-fi, which I had difficulty to connect to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Nice renewed building, near to the Swiss border and lake of Como.
We haven't stay to the hotel, only eat in the restaurant.
We paid 14€ only for a 3 courses menu which was the daily menu, It is really not expensive for the served quantity but the tastes and the cooking were not the top. "A la carte" was a bit better.
The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Hotel is nice, Rooms are clean and equipped with all necessary.
Wifi does not work on the room (106) :-(
However, real downturn is being compeltely ripped off for minibar use.
Checked in after midnight and not possible to get a drink in the bar.
Recommended to me, to use the minibar.
Next morning they charged EUR 19,00 for 1 beer + 1 brandy.
Due to time pressure no time to argue.
This is completly unreasonable!
Even 5* Hotel in Moscow or Tokyo are not that crazy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Uggiate-Trevano hotels

Sunderland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have no idea why some folks are being so negative about this hotel. Our room for the week was very spacious and spotlessly clean. The staff were friendly and attentive - the only small problem we had was the coffee supplies not being replenished one day, which ultimately resulted in us having sufficient supplies to open our own coffee shop by the end of the week! The hotel is situated in a quiet village very close to the Swiss border - very handy for popping over to get fuel which is much cheaper in Switzerland than in Italy. We spent time whizzing around in our little hired Fiat Panda - Lake Como, Lake Maggiore, Lake Lugano. We even did the Stelvio Pass - spectacular!! - and Maranello for the Ferrari museum (and a drive of a F430 california)...
We ate at the hotel on our first night, and had a very good pizza. Breakfasts were lovely - plenty of choice and variety. I would reiterate that you need a car if you stay at this hotel, but there is plenty of free parking on site, and if you want somewhere quiet to rest your head then you'd have to try very hard to find better value for money than Hotel Cascina Canova.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The rooms of Cascina Canova are comfortable, spacious and well equiped - however, Wifi does not work in all rooms. Staff is very welcoming and helpful. However, there is an unpersonal atmosphere here, some live is lacking. Not much in the surroundings either, you would definitely need a car

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hauterive, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We were positively surprised with this hotel. Old style with stylish wooden roof. Very nice room, big and clean. We did not try restaurant but breakfast was quite good. We close to FoxTown in Mendrisio - really good outlet.

We can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cascina Canova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cascina Canova

Address: Via San Gottardo, 33/35, 22029 Uggiate-Trevano, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Como Province > Uggiate-Trevano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Uggiate-Trevano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cascina Canova 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Cascina Canova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cascina Canova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.