We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great except for the road noise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Port

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Port to your Saves list
Hotel du Port
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue du Quai 6 | Villeneuve, Villeneuve 1844, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Villeneuve
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Great except for the road noise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Just spent three days at this nice little hotel on the edge of Lake Geneva. What a great spot! We had a room with a little balcony that looked right out of the lake. The staff was warm and welcoming, the breakfasts were delicious, and the room was comfortable. Nothing fancy but definitely well cared for. And Villeneuve is a great little town with lots of fun shops and a really friendly, relaxed attitude, away from the bustle of Montreux but within walking distance of Chillon Castle. The one warning: the noise from the road which runs between the hotel and the lake is almost constant and chatter from nearby restaurants and bars continues into the wee hours. We just got used to it but it's definitely worth noting and the reason I'm not giving the hotel five stars.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
11
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

European 3 star = American 2 star

Yes, it is a good location. Don't expect

We booked through hotelcard.ch and paid CHF 100 per night for a double room. However, I assume these are not the best rooms in the place, and they had zero view. Didn't get disturbed by the club downstairs though (perhaps because they had no customers?)

My only two complaints are that:

1) The breakfast was disappointing - it was just French-style croissants and jam, and lacked the good range of meat, cheese, eggs, and cooked items that many good hotels in Switzerland offer.

2) The lady on the front desk when we arrived did not speak English. This is quite surprising for a tourist area.

Good points:

1) Breakfast was included
2) Free wi-fi

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graneda, Propriétaire at Hotel du Port, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
By the reservation these clients were advised that, due to an event - the ACRO-SHOW - on the weekend 26th and 27th August, only rooms with mountain view were available.

Our hotel offers a cold buffet-breakfast composed of not less than 15 items and this is the very first time someone makes a bad comment on this service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights on our European trip and was definitely the best location with a stunning view over Lake Geneva out of the window. Nice family room for 2 adult and 2 children (10 & 12) which was clean and more than adequate for us. Nice breakfast was included in price. The restaurant was good with beautiful sunsets over the water on a lovely summer's evening.

Beware of the bar which can be entered from the street or the hotel lobby so I'm not really sure how it's connected to the hotel. It was the only place that we were stung on our whole trip. Ask for the price before hand, we didn't and ended up paying a ridiculous amount for a beer and wine. Ah well, you live and learn.

Train station was short walk away and easy access to Montreux and all train connections.

Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Wouldn't honor the rate that I booked at. I booked through Venere, was given a confirmation, entered my information, and then received an e mail from the owner 10 days prior to my arrival stating they made a mistake and I had to pay substantially more. WHO DOES THAT? I told her to take that up with Venere, but she refused and said that I agree to 175 CHF per night or she'd cancel my reservation. When I didn't repsond to that, she called my cell 3 times, once at 1:35 AM, 2:28 AM and again the next night at 4:10 AM leaving messages that were incomprehensible due to the language barrier. There are MUCH better places to stay in that beautiful region, so just keep moving on. I wouldn't recommend sending ANY business their way.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graneda, Propriétaire at Hotel du Port, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
We would like to point out that when this booking was made, our hotel was only recently on the site of reservations and that an error of rates configuration had been entered by our Channel Manager.
In fact, the price for the double room was of Fr. 2.30 per person/per day, that is the price of the city tax. A coffee costs about Fr. 3.50 in Switzerland.
We contacted the Channel Manager immediately and they suggested us to contact the client to explain him the situation and to make him a good offer, That's what he did, we called the client,
left him a message and he never answered. Then we sent him emails explaining him again
and he only answered almost one month later to say that this was not his problem and showed no understanding at all.
How can anyone harm a business this way without even having been to the place ?
Fortunately, guests having stayed in our hotel have good comments to give.

Is it possible for you to remove this comment ?

We look forward to your reply and thank you for your co-operation

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

Right on the edge of Lake Geneve in the beautiful village of Villeneuve is the Hotel Du Port. With a first class restaurant (across the road but still part of the hotel), an indoor garden restaurant (for guest breakfasts and other events), a street-side cafe, a disco, underground parking and all within two minutes walk of both tram and train stops, this would be one of the best hotels of it's class I have ever stayed in.
The staff were good, the rooms comfortable and well appointed, the view incredible and the whole place very efficiently run. We will be coming back to Hotel du Port.
A free Riviera Pass (from the Montreux/Vevy Tourist Commission) allows you to go to and from nearby Montreux (about 5 minutes by public transport and half an hour to walk) without the hassle of staying in the city itself.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Port

Address: Rue du Quai 6 | Villeneuve, Villeneuve 1844, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Villeneuve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Villeneuve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Port 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Lake Geneva and only a few minutes from Montreux, our hotel provides comfort and modern facilities suiting both leisure and business travellers.All the rooms are equipped with shower or bath, WC, television, radio, direct dial telephone, safe and hairdryer, most of them with view to the lake and the Alps.Free wireless internet connection in the whole house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel du Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.