We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Honeymoon Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domaine de la Maison Neuve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Domaine de la Maison Neuve to your Saves list
Domaine de la Maison Neuve
Route de Verneuil | Saint Jean Saint Germain, 37600 Saint-Jean-Saint-Germain, Loches, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ithaca, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Honeymoon Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My wife and I got married on a Sunday, flew to Paris the next day, rented a car at the airport and drove directly to Domaine de la Maison Neuve. The scenery during the drive was beautiful,but we arrived completely exhausted. Having spent the past few months planning our wedding, we hadn't had any time to research what we would do once we arrived in the Loire Valley (or even to learn French)! We were greeted by Clarisse, who immediately put us at ease and made us feel at home.

Our stay from then on was phenomenal in every way. The Domaine de la Maison Neuve is a stunning building (the photos don't do it justice) yet Clarisse makes it feel very cozy. She also gave us great advice about where to travel in Touraine, what to eat, where to park and what to see. We spent the better part of two days just walking around Loches, the closest town (5 minutes away), enjoying the food, the sites and the people. Amboise is also wonderful, as is Chenonceaux. What a fantastic trip!

Oh, and we've been trying to replicate Clarisse's French breakfast since we returned: homemade jams, fresh baguette, butter, fresh croissants. We promise to return someday! Thank you!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
47
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at this amazing Bed and Breakfast. The view was breathtaking, the house is beautiful and stylish, Clarisse was really helpful and accommodating, breakfast was delicious, and surrounding areas were very interesting to explore. We loved nearby Loches, and Clarisse's food recommendations were spot on! We will definitely be back! Anya and family

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed few nights at the B&B in October and very happy with our choice.
Our host Clarisse was very helpful with recommendations of the sights and her place is beautiful, clean and comfortable.
I am glad we found this B&B !
Marina&Gene

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

At first when I booked this B&B I was a little worried it was 10 km from Loches. Let me say this was not an issue (the drive is nice) and whatever distance from town if far outweighed by everything else about Domaine de la Maison Neuve. If we return to the Loire Valley there is no question we would stay again with Clarisse and family. The setting is fantastic (on an old farm) and I only wish we were there early enough to see the sunflowers in full bloom. Getting an authentic French countryside experience was what I was hoping for and exactly what we got here.

The farmhouse was painstakingly renovated by the family over 8 years, yet retains the character of the structure with the original masonry and timbers. The layout is great as the guests are separated nicely from the owners quarters. The room was far more spacious than your typical French hotel and had a nice big bathroom. We did not have any issues with noise from other guests. The breakfast was great - fresh baguettes, croissants, and homemade jams. We enjoyed socializing with the other guests. The price of 89 euro per night was a great value for what you get.

Finally, Clarisse herself is such a joy. She is so full of energy and makes you so glad you chose to stay with her. You feel part of the family almost. She is very knowledgeable about the surrounding area and has many tips for places to see, map recommendations for a scenic drive, and several restaurant recommendations in Loches and nearby towns.

This trip was just my wife and I, so the room was perfect for us - I do recommend requesting a room facing away from the front of the house to the main road as the view is nice.

If you have a family or group they have a completely separate lock out apartment that can be reserved. It sleeps 6 and has a full kitchen. If you need more space, you can always book one of the other rooms as well. I would do this in a heart beat if you need the space. We got to poke around in the apartment and it was even nicer than the rest of the inn.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the main road on the front side of the home - see pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Moline, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I spent four nights at the Domaine de la Maison Neuve in September. This is a beautiful B&B, a wonderfully restored and beautifully decorated farmhouse. Our host- Clarisse - was generous with her time, directing us to local activities and sharing the story of the restoration of the Domaine. Our room was large, comfortable, and with all the amenities. We especially enjoyed the petit dejuneur where we met other tourists from England, Scotland, India, Australia via Sri Lanka, Germany, and Kansas! Wonderful conversation and sharing. We also appreciated the warm welcome from Clarisse's family. Both of us highly recommend the Domaine and hope to return there ourselves.

Room Tip: The cottage can accommodate six people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had a lovely stay, breaking our journey down the length of France. Such a beautiful place, great hosts and great tips for what to do in the area. Montresor was a delight as was eating in La Gerbe d'Or. Many thanks Clarisse....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a stunningly beautiful B&B. the pictures online simply do not do it justice. It has been renovated to extremely high standards and with excellent taste. The views out the back are quintessentially French countryside. Please take some time to enjoy some local Loire valley wind and food whilst soaking up the beautiful surrounds. Clarisse could not have been more accommodating. Despite arriving very late she made us feel incredibly welcome and made sure we found our way to the house. We had the cottage all to ourselves, which was quite a treat for our first wedding anniversary - thank you! We would highly recommend booking this area out as a family or group of friends as it is perfect with jacuzzi, large seating area and fully functioning and huge kitchen diner. Can not recommend highly enough. We will be back!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Domaine de la Maison Neuve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de la Maison Neuve

Address: Route de Verneuil | Saint Jean Saint Germain, 37600 Saint-Jean-Saint-Germain, Loches, France
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Loches > Saint-Jean-Saint-Germain
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Jean-Saint-Germain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxuary Cottage with a private indoor jacuzzi, for rent weekly.From 6 to 18 people ( with complementary ensuite rooms on first floor )Large living room, kitchen fully equiped.Tv, dvd, private indoor jacuzzi.3 ensuite bedrooms.On the doorstep of the Loire Chateaux and its famous wineyards, only few minutes from the Medieval City of Loches; enjoy the delightful and exquisite environment of this 19th century farm house.In this beautiful and warm setting, four charming bedrooms will offer you comfort and privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Domaine de la Maison Neuve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domaine de la Maison Neuve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.