We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“INDIAN INSPIRATION!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cook and Indi's World Buffet

Cook and Indi's World Buffet
3 Rankine Street, Johnstone PA5 8AY, Scotland
+44 1505 335622
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 24 Restaurants in Johnstone
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night
Description: Ashoka Johnstone is now known as a Cook and Indi's World Buffet from October 2013. We do Indian, Chinese, Continantal, Sushi, Japanese, Italian food in buffet style. It is part of Scotland biggest chain of restaurant Cook and Indi's World Buffet.We do kids eat free and buy one get one cocktail free. Please call restaurant for details.
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“INDIAN INSPIRATION!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We try to visit Ashoka Restaurant, at least once every three months, when saved money allows. The staff are always attentive, cheerful, and eager to please. The food is simply delicious, and proff of this, is that Ashoka have won Curry Awards in the past few years. It's only the beginning of a New Year, but the experience at this restaurant is so good, we plan to return at the end of January 2013, and hope to have Christmas dinner there! I'd recommend this venue to anyone who appreciates a curry, from mild to very hot!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    18
    14
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Fantastic meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

I went last night with a friend who has eaten in numerous curry houses and even he was impressed. The portion sizes were good with plenty of sauce, the meat cooked perfectly and the service was relaxed but efficient. Would highly recommend.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ashoka Johnston - Pure Classic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

I had food in lots of Indian restaurant around Glasgow,,I thought for the first time I should try outside of Glasgow,,and one of ma friend recommended Ashoka Johnston,I didn't know there is a ashoka in Johnston,whatever I thought I could try,,then for the time I been there,,nd am telling ye,it won't be the last time.After entered the restaurant,one of there staff welcome me with nice smiley face,,we got our table,,the price is okay like other restaurants,,then we had our starter,few minutes later thr manager (Ashish) showed up,,he asked us about our starter,he was very charming and friendly,,that's the actual reason I remember his name,,And his staffs did a really good job,I mean service was fantastic,,main meal was great as well,overall ashoka Johnston is a classic Indian food representative...Guys well done,,al definitely be back..

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“You can't Fool All Of The People All of The Time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

VESTA frozen curries are available at this restaurant and you will never eat another curry again, based on this fare !

Ordered Poppadams for 2 people - duly arrived, same as Supermarket pre-pack - 95p EACH - the menu does, indeed, say ' Poppadam ' ( singular ) 95p - cost for 2 Supermarket poppadams = £1.90 - great start !

8 small 'mixed pakora', served on a bed of shredded lettuce ( side-plate size ) - cost £4.95 - burnt, beyond recognition - certainly from Freezerland Multi-pack, or similar - we were looking around for the 'Have You Been Framed' cameras - did not touch the 'food' and advised the Staff accordingly - no apology - 2nd bad start - must get better !

Ordered the 'Desi Lamb' from the 'Connoisseurs' Menu and the ' Chicken Jalfrezi' - asked about the 'Dasi Lamb', server didn't know, said it was similar to 'Lamb Rogan Josh', but didn't know any details of the content or spiciness of the dish, or was it with / without nuts etc etc

If common sense had prevailed at this time, we should have paid for the drinks which we ordered ( + the 2x 95p Poppadams ) and left the place, but we didn't ( not too many alternatives at 7pm in Johnstone area ) -

Yes, you've guessed it, the 'Desi Lamb' was inedible ( chunks of mutton swimming in a Vesta, boil-in-the-bag-type sauce ( also tasted of powder-packet sauce ) with a tomato quartered on top + a spring onion stalk - returned to kitchen, after 2 mouthfuls - apology from Manager - offered ' Lamb Rogan Josh' as alternative - reluctantly accepted a 'very small portion' to taste, as I was aware that this could be of similar quality, but wanted to give the restaurant the benifit of the doubt

'Jalfrezi Chicken' was Korma-colour and, when asked, the Manager replied ' in Glasgow, Jalfrezi is red colour, but, here in Johnstone, it is this colour ( pumice colour ) ' - interesting way to entice the customer's taste-buds ? My wife said it was 'Okay' ( she wanted to avoid any confrontation )

The ' Lamb Rogan Josh' replacement, thankfully, was a small portion and 1 single mouthful confirmed that this restaurant, or it's chef (s), are really having a laugh at the customers' expense - dish returned - Manager did not seem too surprised at this, as I'm sure that this is a regular occurance in the Ashoka, Johnstone - maybe the Kitchen Staff have side-bets ( number of meals returned per day )

Bottom Line - decided to have a meal in Johnsone, on our way back to Inverkip from Glasgow - could have gone to dozens of Indian Restaurants in Glasgow ( we all know the names of these good restaurants ), but we have eaten at the Ashoka, Johnstone, quite a few times over the past 15 years, or so, and always enjoyed the food, atmosphere etc - it has changed, dramatically, and I would urge the Owners to address this situation ( crap food, cheap, inedible produce etc ) or sink - their choice - as mentioned, ' You can fool some of the people all of the time and you can fool all of the people some of the time, but you can't fool all of the people all of the time - take the advice and sort it out - you had a '8/10 restaurant' now it is '1/10' - shame.

I will check Trip Advisor for expected Owners remarks and, hopefully, his / her plans to reverse the situation and return this Restaurant to it's former, excellent self.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Tonight, we decided to order some food as its supposed to be better than the other Indian takeaways. Came to £17 for a 1/2 portion set meal for two and a bag of chips. The mixed pakora was rotten. No taste and no way of telling what was in it. The spiced onions which accompanied the popadoms were plain, and in a bag instead of a tub. The main meal was tikka masala and korma. The korma, which is our favourite, had no taste and had a horrible texture. The masala, too spicy, grainy and had a weird taste to it. The chips had clearly been cooked more that once as they were chewey and just not nice at all. Over all, it's safe to say they won't be getting our custom again

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cook and Indi's World Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Cook and Indi's World Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cook and Indi's World Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.