We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, comfortable,value for money, excellent service from friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adelaide Royal Coach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Adelaide Royal Coach to your Saves list
Adelaide Royal Coach
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   24 Dequetteville Terrace | Kent Town, Norwood, South Australia 5067, Australia (Formerly Royal Coach Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Norwood
Kingston on Murray, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“clean, comfortable,value for money, excellent service from friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

We love staying at the royal coach as we get are treated like royalty from the friendly efficient staff. Special mention to the receptionist Catherine and the breakfast waitress Alice. Rooms are clean, comfortable and value for money

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalCoach, Manager at Adelaide Royal Coach, responded to this review, March 24, 2011
Thankyou for writing a review. I have passed on your kind words to the appropriate staff members and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    40
    27
    12
    15
See reviews for
16
51
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown SA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

Stayed in the spa suite for New Years Eve. Room was clean and spacious. Restaurant was great, good menu, well priced and great service. The staff even catered for my gluten intolerance. Staff were helpful and friendly. Room service was quick and cheap. Next time we come to Adelaide we dont have to look around for somewhere to stay, we will stay here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

Country Club and LAST Resort for a place to stay in Adelaide. Greeted by the permenant smell of the chemicals from the pool wafting through the restaurant and lobby. First hotel ever stayed in where could have a conversation with the folk in the room next door. Ive heard people clearing their chest in the morning but when the fella next door cleared his chest i had to check under the bed to make sure he wasnt in the room with us. Room was very deary and grey formica cupboards in the room would not have been out of place in 1970s sit com (in a kitchen). On the plus side was able to find a car park spot in the hotel very easily.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Norwood hotels

Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

We were there last year and booked 2 rooms with a group of friends. For $140 per night, the rooms were clean, though a bit small. The motel needed a make up as the place, apart from the lobby and restaurant looks very dated. Staff, were very friendly and nice but the rate per night was a bit more then what it should be. The only downside to this place, you can hear guests coming and going from their rooms as the slamming of doors echoes. The positive thing about Royal Coach, is the motel is within walking distance Rundell Mall; we basically walked into town every day via the park.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

Building a bit dated, but Staff were friendly & efficient, room clean, refrigerator worked, air cond. worked & not too noisy. My room faced back of hotel & was quiet. Most impressed by staff ringing me soon after me checking out, that I'd left a cardigan in the cupboard, which enabled me to turn around & collect it (rather than posting it, etc) - that bit of extra effort you don't get at the 'big' hotels!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

My partner and I have stayed in many 5 star hotels in Adelaide but this is the first time we have stayed here. We were very surprised how nice everything was.We stayed overnight in the Spa Suite which was very clean comfortable and roomy. The price was very affortable with great off street parking and security. The staff were very pleasent and helpful.We ordered room service which was very quick to arrive and delivered free of delivery charges. Food was very well cooked and presented.We will be very happy to stay next time we are in Adelaide.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

To be fair to the Inn, my company booked this for me at the last minute, and it may have been the only room left - but it was pretty average.

The room was small with a very inefficient light in the ceiling, and outside the window was a view of just a covered walkway - it was a bit like staying in a cave.

Some of the fittings looked new, but were of a style from the 90s - they were still painting some rooms, so maybe its taken them 20 years to renovate, I don't know. The sofa definitely wasn't new - it had that shiny grubby look on the arms and back.

One of the towels in the bathroom had a dark, thick hair embedded in it - so I tossed that on the floor (to be taken away) - housekeeping helpfully folded it again and put it straight back on the rail! No thanks!

The location was fine if you had a car and was out driving all day - but for a single female on business in late April, it was a bit far to walk to restaurants for dinner and back in the dark.

The staff were what saved this place from being rated "poor" - all were friendly and helpful - they all deserved to be in a mich nicer hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adelaide Royal Coach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Royal Coach

Address: 24 Dequetteville Terrace | Kent Town, Norwood, South Australia 5067, Australia (Formerly Royal Coach Motor Inn)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Norwood
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Norwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Adelaide Royal Coach 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Adelaide Royal Coach. We are a small city motel located within a short walk of the city centre of Adelaide, South Australia. When you stay with us, experience personalised service, with free wireless internet access and car parking, plus convenient 24 hour reception, onsite Terrace Restaurant, conference & meeting rooms, swimming pool & more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Adelaide Royal Coach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Coach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adelaide Royal Coach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.