We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everytimes a Charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adelaide Royal Coach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Adelaide Royal Coach to your Saves list
Adelaide Royal Coach
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   24 Dequetteville Terrace | Kent Town, Norwood, South Australia 5067, Australia (Formerly Royal Coach Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Norwood
Melbourne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Everytimes a Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My friends and I often travel to Adelaide from Melbourne to watch our sporting teams play at both Football Park and Hindmarsh Stadium and everytime we stay at the royal coach we are never dissapointed.

Great staff, great food, nice little pool, great location, nice spacey rooms.

Keep up the great work royal coach and we will see you again in October:)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, General Manager at Adelaide Royal Coach, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It is great to know that you visit us regularly and enjoy all that we have to offer. We have a fabulous team here at the Coach and it is nice that our friendly team is a large part that brings you back each time.
Please make yourself known on your next visit in October as it would be wonderful to meet you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    35
    25
    10
    11
See reviews for
15
41
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed in this motel for one night. Quite comfortable little 2 single bed room, with smallish tv.
Quite comfortable, however some little things, such as reading lamps didn't work. Generally clean.
Decent size shower, however bathroom generallyquite cramped.We stayed on ground floor and access was easy. Smallish car park, so get ready to park on the street if you can't find a spot. Overall, reasonable, but can't see how it rates at 5 stars.

Room Tip: Get a room with a decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, General Manager at Adelaide Royal Coach, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at our property. We are continually trying to update where we can and I can understand your comments about your room. These rooms have work scheduled soon to update them. With our continued improvements to rooms and facilities it is our aim to make our guests as comfortable as possible. I was concerned regarding the comments about the reading lights not working. These can be a little tricky as the switches for these are located at the front of the cupboard. These are one of the features we are looking at upgrading.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming back on your next visit to see your mate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We booked two nights at the Royal Coach as we needed last minute accommodation but didn't want CBD, and this had consecutive nights available, most were already booked out. This is just outside the CBD. We arrived through the car park entrance where we had to go through a small dining room type area, through another door into the main admin foyer. You can instantly tell this place is not 4 1/2 star. The lady at the front desk was lovely. We got room 212 on the 2nd floor. The elevator is tiny! First impression: The room was small but clean. It featured a queen bed and two-seater sofa, a small desk/table and a vanity table. It also had a small wardrobe with a bench attached and a tiny in-cupboard bar fridge. The bathroom was tiny, with very little space for toiletries. The front of the cupboard had bleach type drip stains all down the front; paint was peeling from the taps and there was remaining sticky dots on the wall from a sign which had been removed. The mirror was also old and had stains. The shower was very clean and water pressure was great. The shower head dripped for a long time after the water was turned off though, which is a pet hate of mine! I hate the sound of it....the door has very chipped paint. The walls of the room itself were very scuffed and marked and looked dirty. The carpet is quite worn and marked. The lights are way too dim for the room; I had to turn every light in the room on to see what I was unpacking. We didn't bother with room service or mini bar. I'm not an overly fussy person, and we got the room rather cheap so I'm not complaining about the price; you get what you pay for. We usually stay CBD Stamford or Sebel, this trip we really did just need a bed and a car park, so didn't see the point in dealing with city traffic etc. I'm not quite sure why this has a 4 1/2 star rating, it's definitely more of a 3.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, General Manager at Adelaide Royal Coach, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of the property. We are continually trying to update where we can and I can appreciate your comments about your room. These room have work scheduled soon to help update them. With our continued improvements to rooms and facilities it is our aim to make our guests comfortable.
Great to read that our staff extended their warm hospitality to you. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

sStaye as part of a group of 6 in 3 double rooms for a one night transit stopover. The hotel was booked from the Internet basically on price. I was not disappointed. The rooms were of a good size, clean and with comfortable bed. All the standard inclusions such as bar fridge and tv and free wireless Internet was a plus.
Spent part of the afternoon in the terrace bar - which is on the ground floor - catching up with what had been happening in the world after spending two great weeks on a houseboat on the Murray River. coffees, teas, ales, wines and snacks provided easily and quickly by helpful staff.

The hotel proved to be a bit out of the way of shops and restaurants. We ended up taking taxis to the food streets as it was a bit far to walk.

Checkout easy and accurate. Overall we got what was expected. A no hassles night in a no hassles hotel. Not new and modern and a bit tired at the dges but not too tired. A bit like us.

Room Tip: All our first floor rooms were similar in terms of street noise and room facilities although they we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, General Manager at Adelaide Royal Coach, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay at the Royal Coach. It was lovely to hear that your rooms were comfortable and that you enjoyed our cosy bar facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Adelaide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed for one night on business. Had room service for dinner (club sandwich) was average.

The hotel itself looks extremely outdated I stayed on level two in a studio room. Through the corridors and my room there were stains on the carpet. Tiles missing in the shower and very outdated fittings. Traffic below was extremely noisy.

Did not feel comfortable at all.

*24 Year Old Traveling Engineer

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, General Manager at Adelaide Royal Coach, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It was disappointing to read of your experience at our hotel. We are continually trying to update where we can. Our rooms have some work scheduled soon to help update them. Hopefull with these improvements it will make for a more comfortable and enjoyable stay. We hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardrossan, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

It is a shame to see such a centrally located hotel in this state of repair. The room my wife and I stayed in (room 210) was in need of a good clean and repair. It was the laminate peeling off the units in the bedroom and the missing drawer that gave us our first impression. This was followed by finding the bathroom sink surround had dark short and curly hairs around the unit, obviously the same cloth used for either the toilet or floor!! The shower cubicle was rife with mold and, as we were in need of an extra blanket, the spare blanket in the wardrobe was in need of laundering.
I have stayed here before but it will be a while before we consider booking again. We are only grateful that this time it was for only one night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, General Manager at Adelaide Royal Coach, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
It is disappointing to read of your recent stay at our hotel as this is not the product and service that we strive to provide to our guests. We are always looking at ways of further improving our facilities. All areas of your review will be addressed and looked into further. Please feel free to contact me directly on your stay in Adelaide for a complimentary room upgrade.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Norwood hotels

Geelong, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Due to a great Wotif deal we had a massive room with spa for a bargain price. The room was at the back of the hotel so was quiet. We also had a 2 for 1 breakfast deal and enjoyed lovely continental breakfasts. This hotel is in a great location on the edge of the city. A 5 - 10 minute walk across the park and you are in Rundle street. Parking is at the rear of the property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, General Manager at Adelaide Royal Coach, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It was a fantastic offer and it is really pleasing to get such positive feedback on all aspects of the hotel. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Adelaide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adelaide Royal Coach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Royal Coach

Address: 24 Dequetteville Terrace | Kent Town, Norwood, South Australia 5067, Australia (Formerly Royal Coach Motor Inn)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Norwood
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Norwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Adelaide Royal Coach 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Adelaide Royal Coach. We are a small city motel located within a short walk of the city centre of Adelaide, South Australia. When you stay with us, experience personalised service, with free wireless internet access and car parking, plus convenient 24 hour reception, onsite Terrace Restaurant, conference & meeting rooms, swimming pool & more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Adelaide Royal Coach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Coach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adelaide Royal Coach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.