We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean, hotel room with fantastic food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adelaide Royal Coach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Adelaide Royal Coach to your Saves list
Adelaide Royal Coach
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   24 Dequetteville Terrace | Kent Town, Norwood, South Australia 5067, Australia (Formerly Royal Coach Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Norwood
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, hotel room with fantastic food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

I stayed at the Royal Coach Motor Inn when i first moved to Adelaide in May 2011. Not only were the staff friendly and very helpful, the food was wonderful, price even better PLUS free parking at the back of the complex. It is only a 10 minute stroll from Rundle Street (lots of lovely cafes, restaurants and shops).

The rooms were okay, nothing spectacular, but definitely clean and tidy with plenty of facilities (big, comfortable bed, tv, bar fridge, kettle, couch, airconditioning/heating and access to the internet). My parents have since stayed at the Royal Coach Motor Inn and were equally impressed. Overall, very good accommodation a short stroll from CBD for a very good price.

Room Tip: Oftern there are deals available online for $99/night with a free breakfast included!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, General Manager at Adelaide Royal Coach, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is wonderful to hear that both you and your parents had an enjoyable stay with us. We are fortunate with our location, facilities and fantastic staff. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming your parents back when they visit you next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    35
    25
    10
    11
See reviews for
15
41
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We placed an order online and requested a evening check out (4pm), this was obviously not then applied to the booking and our client had to check out far to early (11:30). We were then told that a late check out was not possible after the situation had accured, if we had known this we would of booked our client into a different hotel.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyWarren123, General Manager at Adelaide Royal Coach, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
I apologise for the miscommunication which occurred with your booking. You should have been contacted once the booking was made online, and your request for a late checkout was received to confirm the availability. However this was overlooked reflecting poorly on us. Please know this is not the high standard of service we pride ourselves on. I sincerely hope this does not deter you from staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Norwood hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

We had high expectations and had heard good things from friends regarding their stay's. However, our first impression was ordinary when we opened the door, we were confronted with a ripped lounge suite and when we closed the curtains, found an inch of dirt (not dust) had developed on the small windowsill.
This 'find' reflected a poor standard of cleaning and cleaning management which also relects very poorly on the overall management of the premises.
The receptionist was not particularly welcoming but despite this was quite efficient.

Overall, we feel that the room was a good size but the overnight cost was excessive for the service provided.

It is unlikely that we would return.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalCoach, Manager at Adelaide Royal Coach, responded to this review, April 21, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay. We are disappointed that we failed to meet your expectations as we pride ourselves on our warm and friiendly service and high cleaning standards. We are reviewing our product and processes to ensure that we do not fail to meet our guests expectations in the future. We hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

We have stayed on 3 separate occasions. Each time the staff are genuine and very friendly, even during the busiest time of the year. The rooms have been spacious, clean and very well set out, lovely fluffy towels, fab!! shower, comfy bed and well stocked fridge (with enough room and cold enough to keep some of your own stuff). The buffet breakfast is lovely and room service food to restaurant standards and inexpensive. We have stayed in other hotels in this chain, and this is by far the best!! Nothing is too much trouble. Thank you Catherine, Josie and Doris and to all the other staff who made us feel like returning friends. Dont change a thing.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalCoach, Manager at Adelaide Royal Coach, responded to this review, March 24, 2011
Thankyou for your glowing review. We are certainly glad that you chose to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston on Murray, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

We love staying at the royal coach as we get are treated like royalty from the friendly efficient staff. Special mention to the receptionist Catherine and the breakfast waitress Alice. Rooms are clean, comfortable and value for money

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalCoach, Manager at Adelaide Royal Coach, responded to this review, March 24, 2011
Thankyou for writing a review. I have passed on your kind words to the appropriate staff members and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown SA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

Stayed in the spa suite for New Years Eve. Room was clean and spacious. Restaurant was great, good menu, well priced and great service. The staff even catered for my gluten intolerance. Staff were helpful and friendly. Room service was quick and cheap. Next time we come to Adelaide we dont have to look around for somewhere to stay, we will stay here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

Country Club and LAST Resort for a place to stay in Adelaide. Greeted by the permenant smell of the chemicals from the pool wafting through the restaurant and lobby. First hotel ever stayed in where could have a conversation with the folk in the room next door. Ive heard people clearing their chest in the morning but when the fella next door cleared his chest i had to check under the bed to make sure he wasnt in the room with us. Room was very deary and grey formica cupboards in the room would not have been out of place in 1970s sit com (in a kitchen). On the plus side was able to find a car park spot in the hotel very easily.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adelaide Royal Coach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Royal Coach

Address: 24 Dequetteville Terrace | Kent Town, Norwood, South Australia 5067, Australia (Formerly Royal Coach Motor Inn)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Norwood
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Norwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Adelaide Royal Coach 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Adelaide Royal Coach. We are a small city motel located within a short walk of the city centre of Adelaide, South Australia. When you stay with us, experience personalised service, with free wireless internet access and car parking, plus convenient 24 hour reception, onsite Terrace Restaurant, conference & meeting rooms, swimming pool & more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Adelaide Royal Coach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Coach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adelaide Royal Coach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.