We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Colonist Hotel

The Colonist Hotel
44 The Parade, Norwood, South Australia 5067, Australia
+61 8 8362 3736
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 37 Restaurants in Norwood
Price range: $12 - $24
Cuisines: Contemporary, Eclectic, Pub, Gastropub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great breakfast place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Have only been here for breakfast, but probably 50 times as a regular with my girlfriends for Saturday breakfast. I think the big breakfasts are huge and of good quality. The hangover roll is delicious, even without a hangover. Coffee is good too. I have had 1/2 not so good experiences out of many. It may depend on who is cooking or waiting tables. One waiter was very forgetful and coffee too hot. Usually great here though. One of my fave local breakfast haunts

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Our new favourite local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We've recently rediscovered The Colonist after I had breakfast here on a Saturday morning with girlfriends. Breakfast was delicious, served exactly as ordered and the coffee was great. We were impressed with our waiter's ability to remember 5 orders, some with special requirements without writing them down

We've since enjoyed two dinners here and just love the place! We love the mix of patrons, young 20 something's up to fun 50-60 year olds all share the space and contribute to a warm ambience

I love the quirkiness - mismatched chairs and tables, warm yellow walls with a floor to ceiling version of Gustav Klimt's The Kiss featuring on the dining room wall.

The staff is young, knowledgeable, efficient and very friendly. The hotel supports a local charity for the homeless and encourage diners to add an extra $2 to their bill for the charity. This support for the community is another reason we love the place

Haven't even mentioned the food yet - it's great! Serving sizes are perfect, meals are hot, fresh and presented nicely, not over the top 'plating up' as has become the trend, but obvious care and pride is evident in the presentation. Timing between courses is good too, neither rushed nor unnecessarily long

For a Sunday night dinner for 2, weekend breakfast with friends or a welcome night off from cooking after working interstate, the Colonist is our current first choice

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food at great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Worth a visit as it serves better food than many of the top restaurants in Adelaide. Have been rhere twice and have no been dissappointed!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Underwhelming food quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Yes, it's nicely quirky, but I'd have to disagree with some reviewers here. The food is very average, serving sizes on the small side and expensive for what you get.
Had dinner here twice with a large party, most were overcooked (pasta/gnocchi, biriyani/ rice). Desserts were tiny - avoid anything "deconstructed".
On the plus side, service was friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Sat outside on a Saturday morning under a leafy, shady tree and had the best breakfast. My partner had the usual style with eggs and bacon, and I had salmon with corn fritters and avocado. It was delicious! The coffee was fantastic, staff was friendly. Definitely coming back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Colonist Hotel also viewed

Norwood, Greater Adelaide
Norwood, Greater Adelaide
 
Norwood, Greater Adelaide
Norwood, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to The Colonist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colonist Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.