We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact but quiet and well-maintained” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kenegie Manor Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gulval
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kenegie Manor Holiday Park
Save
You added Kenegie Manor Holiday Park to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Gulval, Penzance TR20 8YN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Gloucester, England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Compact but quiet and well-maintained”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We booked into a private apartment that was clean, comfortable and well maintained. The owner's agent introduced himself and promptly sorted out a couple of small quibbles. When we went down to the reception area, all of the staff were pleasant and helpful. And even though a family with small children were next door, we didn't hear a thing. So, all good.

It is true that the site doesn't have much in the way of facilities beyond the tennis court and a swimming pool with very limited opening hours. Although set in beautiful countryside, it wasn't easy to walk around the site and the road down into Penzance was narrow and dangerous on foot. From our perspective, Kenegie Manor served us perfectly as a jumping off point to explore the Penwith peninsula. Had the weather taken a turn for the worse, I might not be writing such a positive review, but we had a good time and left with lots of positive memories of this beautiful part of Cornwall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. Your comments have been passed to all departments, and everyone will be delighted to hear your thoughts.

With regard to the facilities, we try desparately to tell everyone that this is not a traditional holiday park, but a very quiet and relaxing place.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    21
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
32
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norton, null, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Spent a week at Kenegie Manor with my fiance in late June. Took the Guival road from Penzance and were surprised at how far we had to drive, much further than it looked on google maps! Upon arrival we found that our Gold Apartment was right above the pub - oh dear we thought, would we be kept awake by the sounds of revelry below? The apartment itself was first rate - no complaints at all about the standard of accomodation.

After a long drive we decided to eat in the pub that first evening, and we soon realised that we we not be kept awake by the noise. The pub was virtually empty and closed at 9.30 anyway. As mentioned in other reviews the bar could do with a bit of a refurbishment but was ok. However, the fact that non of the fish items on the menu were available due to 'supplier problems' was odd considering there is a major fishing port just down the road....We both ended up having the chilli - one meat and one vegi - and it was fine. We didn't use the bar again, but mainly because we prefared to eat out or cook something ourselves in the apartment.

After our meal we had a walk around the site and both thought "where is everyone?". The place was deserted. The only sign of life was the white cat (Asbro?) who would keep us entertained for the rest of the week. At this point we did not realise that many of the properties were privately owned and only used occasionally. Conversely, some of the apartments/houses seemed to be lived in full time - how many people on holiday take their child to school every morning? The site remained quiet for the rest of our stay. As for facilities, the lack of a shop was a real disadvantage, although it was only a short drive to Tescos/Morrisons a site shop makes life so much easier. The swimming pool, like the bar, could do with an update and its limited opening hours meant it was closed by 6.00 pm - just the time we wanted a swim after a day out seeing the sights!

And seeing the sights is the main reason to stay at Kenegie Manor - from there it is only a short drive to St Ives, Mousehole, St Michael's Mount, Lands End etc etc. The location is perfect - as long as you have a car. We tried walking to Penzance one day and although it only took 40 minutes it was quite dangerous as you have to walk along country lanes with no pavemant. Not wanting to do the return journey in the dark we got a taxi back.

In short there are things wrong with Kenegie Manor but the location is perfect for a holiday in Cornwall. As long as you are not expecting a busy site with lots of entertainment you shouldn't be disappointed.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review, we really appreciate you taking the time.

I wonder if this was a matter of perception and you were expecting a busy holiday park. In our publicity we explain that this is "no way a traditional holiday park" and the reason that the estate appears very quiet is that 60% of the bungalows and cottages are privately-owned and are not let to the public - they are used just weekends and 2 or 3 weeks during the year as second homes.

With regard to the bar, how do you reburbish a 400 year old building without totally ruining the character of the place. Our regular guests love it the way it is and describe it as "Quiet and peaceful", " nice and quiet" in their reviews.

I do hope you come back to see us again now that you know what to expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have holidayed at Kenigie Manor several times. We have always stayed in the small bungalows(as I call them).
The accomodation is excellent. We can take our little dog with us which, for us is a bonus. The site and accomodation is excellent. Cant wait to go again. The bed was amazing as both my husband and myself have some awful sleepless nights but at Kenegie we both slept every night right through.My only regret is that I did not find out what mattress was on the bed. Hope Paul can tell me that. We were in NO.31.We tell everyone about this place as we love it so much.

Room Tip: We did`nt use a "fitness centre" And as for service a light bulb went and the maintenance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your 5 star review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed onto all departments.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

Our regular guests are so important to us and are the reason that we have been so successful for the past 60 years.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed in a gold apartment and I loved the place. Clean big and equipped . It was lovely the living room had two sofas. The beds was nice, loved the un- suit and the balcony .

The things on site was not good. The pool was small and when we got out are eyes was red raw! The pub was dated and smelly they had non of are wanted drinks. The tenice court was uneven the play area had nothing but a climbing frame. But when we left something behind we called them but they said they through it in the bin!

But I will bace my review on the accommodation witch was brill

Room Tip: Go for gold apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park.

With regard to your comments about the park, we certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests.

I am pleased to hear that you rated the accommodation very highly and we really hope that you will visit us again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

My family and I (comprising of two adults and three children) have just returned from a midweek stay at Kenegie Manor; booked with Hoseasons. We stayed in a dormer cottage, 29 Old Court and while the accommodation is somewhat basic, it's clean and comfortable and suited us perfectly as a base to explore. Kenegie Manor park is a quiet holiday park with a bar/ restaurant, indoor pool, small children's play area, tennis court and launderette. Don't book if you are expecting a tacky Haven type holiday with entertainment etc. The staff are friendly and helpful, the location of the park is in the lovely village of Gulval and a stones throw from Penzance. Overall, we had an enjoyable stay and would recommend Kenegie Manor to other visitors.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stopped at number 50 old court on the complex it's self there is a tennis court and indoor swimming pool and bar area the pool was a bit on the cold side though could have done with it heated up at bit no lockers for your clothes in the changing rooms which would have been nice the laundrette on site is £5 per load of clothes and the tumble dryer is £1 for 25 minutes they are industrial washers and dryers I needed 50 minutes to dry my towels and other stuff also the John fowler owned pub on site which also runs the pool and laundrette sells bar meals which me and my family sampled it was ok find picture of the food below and if needed would eat there again my only gripe is the free wifi if to many people are online at the same time it's terrible in the bar area but in the lounge area it's not to bad the staff where very helpful and the grounds outside are well kept a children's play area is ok for younger kids but not over the age of 12 but get what 12 yr old wants to play on swings and climbing frames the town of gulvul is minutes drive away and penzance to lots of shops places to eat in and out car parking in tbe town is good right on the docks so far on our family trip we have done lands end only 7 miles away st Michaels mount the Eden project st ives and the tate gallery still 3 days left to do Newquay zoo & flambards theme park would defiantly come here again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Your comments have been passed to all departments, especially the housekeeping team, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts on the cleanliness of the cottage.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Literally half the site seemed vacant during the holiday high season. There is a reason for this. The cottages are very basic, with no labour saving devices and no wifi. A load of washing costs £5!!! There are more than 100 cottages on the site. All of the ground is covered with cottages, leaving a tiny bit of waste ground as the only space to kick a ball about. All of the disadvantages of Butlins, with none of the advantages. There was no children's playground to engage children over the age of 3. The pool is open only 6 hours a day, in two sessions, and the rules were so restrictive it made it difficult for children to have fun (no jumping, balls, inflatables etc). There was no interesting features in the pool (eg slides etc) to engage children (and it was too short for swimming lengths). The staff were friendly and the proprietor helpful though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
When I first read this very poor review, I immediately tried to contact the writer through the Tripadvisor Messaging service to investigate the issues, discover why they had such poor holiday and see what we could do to help. Sadly, with all Tripadvisor reviews being anonymous it is impossible to make direct contact.

To date I have not received a reply to two such messages and can only assume that perhaps their stay was not as bad as they first indicated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kenegie Manor Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenegie Manor Holiday Park

Address: Gulval, Penzance TR20 8YN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance > Gulval
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Gulval
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenegie Manor Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Kenegie Manor Holiday Park Hotel Gulval

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.