We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No1. Old Court.Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kenegie Manor Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gulval
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kenegie Manor Holiday Park
Save
You added Kenegie Manor Holiday Park to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Gulval, Penzance TR20 8YN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Kingston upon Hull
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No1. Old Court.Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We are a family of four and stayed at No1. Old Court in July and thought it offered excellent modern facilities that have been completed by the current private owners. The bathroom was new and spotless. The kitchen was new and modern with everything you could think of. Having read some of the previous comments on Tripadvisor I was worried what we were going to get. The children used the site indoor pool, as well as the tennis courts which kept them away from the TV and entertained outdoors. The site staff were very welcoming and helpful with ideas for things to do, but we just ran out of time. Having spoken to others during our stay it seems that not all accommodation is of a similar standard. We thought it was a quiet site with well maintained grounds. Only criticism is that the bar needs an extraction system to prevent food smells circulating.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed onto all departments.

We simply do not understand why some people choose to post negative reviews, when all the staff work really hard to make everyone feel welcome.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    21
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
32
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had the perfect summer holiday this year staying at The Pendennis Bungalow in Kenegie Manor. The Bungalow itself was a private let and was fresh, clean and comfortable. We are a family with 2 young boys ages 4 & 6 and they loved the swimming pool and tennis courts.The pool has restricted opening hours (10 till 1 and 3 till 6) but we went most days and at times we had it to ourselves. The grounds of Kenegie Manor are well kept and quiet. The area is close to many beautiful beaches and places to visit. I would recommend to anyone looking for a good value holiday home to spend time with their family.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments - everyone will be delighted to hear your thoughts.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Very disappointed by cleanliness shower was mouldy everything felt sticky and wet including bedding...both bedrooms very damp and smelt very bad...my one year old son didn't sleep through all night the whole 7 night's we were there! We stayed in number one bungalow whi h was situated at the entrance..for six people..looked more like for two was that cramped..poor furniture which didn't bother me but the cleanliness did..nd were we was located there was private land in which a lady owned three big dogs that came every morning and did there business on our doorstep not very good when I have a baby who is exploring so my mum spent her holiday picking dog pooh up!!!we approached staff about this but apparently the woman with the dogs wasn't very nice to approach ..wouldn't stay AGAIN.....

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
It was such a shame to read your remarks regarding your stay at our holiday park. However, we do not ignore negative reviews and your remarks are being passed on to the park manager so that improvements may be made in the interest of future guests.

The park manager tells me that you did not report your displeasure while you were on the park - in fact, when you left you only mentioned the three troublesome dogs. It is always so difficult to deal with the issues after you have returned home.

The local authorities are now dealing with the neighbour's dogs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

A family of four from North Yorkshire we stayed for a week in a Kenegie Manor apartment (11).
The location is quiet and tranquil and the setting around the Manor House particularly pleasant.
Our apartment was large, very well equipped and was absolutely spotless. It had two bedrooms (one en-suite) a family bathroom and a huge kitchen-diner-lounge area with a balcony.
The bar was very welcoming and we enjoyed the Jubilee concert on a large screen over a couple of great pints of Tetleys (maybe three!).
The pool was relaxing and the staff very pleasant, helpful and courteous without exception.
You are also in striking distance of some great beaches (Carbis) and lovely towns (Falmuth & Truro).
Very enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your comments have been passed on to all the staff who will be delighted to read your thoughts.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights. Lovely location. Bit quiet for kids but that suited us as we had none.
We took our dog along and were able to walk him on the designated part of the park.
The clubhouse is a bit dated but if like us you venture out & about it's no issue.
The pubs near the park are very expensive and not that great to be honest. I advise you drive out a bit and find better places.
Beaches locally are superb.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Your comments have been passed on to all the staff.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

What can i say..... Gutted!!
Was led to believe by 'John Fowler' holidays that our accommodation was a 'Traditional cottage'! There was nothin 'traditional' or 'cottage' like about it! We could only describe it as a challet and very basic at that. It was situated in the 'Old Court ' area.It was in a very tight corner, a mid terrace. car parking is very tight. The t.v was about 19 inch~ tiny for a family of four to get around!! The heated towel rail in the bathroom didn,t work which meant regular trips to the laundry to dry towels ( from swimming and when our clothes got drenched by the rain)- this may sound petty but after a day out we could do without it!)
The bedroom windows were covered by very thin curtains so in summer' you will be woken up very early by the light! Hot water runs cold very quickly from the taps so we had to boil the kettle every time!
To be fair ( after reading the visitors book) i got the feeling that the owners have just bought the property), which is why i haven,t included the full address. After reading feed back from previous guests it was clear that the owners were ready to address any negative comments that were made.

The holiday park itself- Our children loved the pool but found it a little cold. The staff in the bar were lovely and very helpful when we asked about restaurants/attractions in the local area.The grounds were fairly well maintained. There is no shop so you will have to make sure you have stocked up with the essentials..tea,coffee,bread, milk e.t.c. these can all be found at 'Tescos which is about a mile down the road. There was no entertainment in the bar when we were there but do you really need it? There's lot's goin on in 'Penzance'!
Please don't be too put off by our comments. You get what you pay for!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park. We certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments and we really hope that you will visit us again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Stayed in Kenegie Manor Num 23 little Kenegie for a long weekend, we were very lucky with the weather and had a lovely stay. The cottage was well presented and homely and the owners/ letters were very helpful with all arrangements. The local area is fantastic and we were situated in the perfect location. Close to St. Ives and within walking distance of a Michelin stared restaurant which served wonderful food and had a great atmosphere. Over all we had a lovely stay and will be going back in summer for longer this year.

I have attached some photos they gave us.

Room Tip: Little kenegie 23 was ideal for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kenegie Manor Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenegie Manor Holiday Park

Address: Gulval, Penzance TR20 8YN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance > Gulval
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Gulval
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenegie Manor Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Kenegie Manor Holiday Park Hotel Gulval

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.