We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay especially as you can have a great meal here too” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Coldstreamer

Save Saved
You added The Coldstreamer to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Coldstreamer
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Gulval, Penzance TR18 3BB, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Gulval B&B and Inns
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay especially as you can have a great meal here too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed in room 3 which was lovely and spacious with original sash windows to let in light and air. The decor was pleasant with a nice clean fresh feel and nice large towels.

The bathroom was large with a large and powerful shower, the only odd thing about the bathroom was the clear window panes so you have to always have the blind down. You can get opaque rolls specifically to cut and stick to windows (perhaps for just the bottom panes), which would be nice as it was a shame to have it dark with artificial light when it could be nice and bright room.

The staff were friendly and breakfast lovely. The location of the pub is a small village between Penzance and Marazion, and on the Penzance to St Ives bus route, I felt the village as nicer than being in Penzance itself. Despite being a pub and in a room only the floor above I didn't feel it was too noisy.

The only thing holding me back from giving a 5 is that I felt that it was quite highly priced for a pub B&B, perhaps this is comparable with Penzance pricing but compared to other towns/ villages we've stayed in (across the country) it was higher in price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
52
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a perfect meal last week. The Coldstreamer really sees the sense of concentrating on fresh, well-matched, high-quality local ingredients, cooked superbly, and presented without "gastro" or "foodie" embellishments or fuss. The manager Derek Power was brilliant – helpful and pleasant, but never familiar. Wish we didn't live 350 miles away. Thank you chef, and thanks Derek. Keep up the excellent work. The owner is lucky to have such good people.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really good night stop within close proximity to Isles of Scilly ferry terminal

Food really good with impressive support for gluten free diets!

Staff very helpful making special arrangements for very early breakfast

Great beers

Front room very good but you need to be a sound sleeper to miss the church bell that likes to advise you of the time throughout the night
Wondered what the ear plugs were for when we went into the room

Obviously very popular as we could not get a room on our return when we tried several weeks ago

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Starting with the positive, the menu, food and wine was excellent. We could not fault it at all. The chef is clearly imaginative and talented. However, we found that the rooms did not live up to the standard downstairs. The window in our room was clearly rotten, I did not feel that the carpet was clean and it all felt uncared for. The toilet also made a very loud noise! Whilst we welcomed fresh coffee in our room, the cafetiere was broken and so we did not get to taste it!

Also, the next morning at breakfast, I am not sure whether the owner was having a bad day, but we were not made to feel particularly welcome. We were also not offered any of the famous apple juice!

Generally if the pub area and rooms had some money spent on them the whole place would be spectacular, but until that happens, I would return for the food, but certainly would not stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forster, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were given a warm welcome by Vincent and shown to our spacious room on the first floor.

We ate in on each night of our four-night stay and worked our way through a really very good pub dinner menu. We thoroughly enjoyed every meal – and the entertainment provided, thanks to Vincent’s Basque banter both with us and the locals. Thanks, too, to Derek for some helpful hints as to places we might be interested in visiting.

Oh, and the croissants are to die for, Richard.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for three days and thoroughly enjoyed this pub. The food is exceptional. Local ingredients, interesting creations, always very tasty. The staff were amazing, with a great sense of humour and a warm-hearted welcome for us. Don't believe the reviews about the 'rude' service: they were written by people who just did not get the humour.
Thanks again to all who looked after us so well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at The Coldstreamer for a friend's 50th birthday weekend in May and what a weekend! Amazing food, a friendly and charming place to stay, a real escape and hidden gem we are planning another visit back for another birthday celebration but equally want to stay in the winter months where we know it will have a wonderful warming ambience. Love it.

Room Tip: Front and side rooms are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Coldstreamer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coldstreamer

Address: Gulval, Penzance TR18 3BB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance > Gulval
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gulval
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coldstreamer 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Coldstreamer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coldstreamer Hotel Gulval

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coldstreamer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.