We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pub oozing character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The White Hart

The White Hart
Churchtown, Ludgvan, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Ludgvan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: I believe the owners of this pub have been there a year and renovated it quite significantly. The food was of an extremely high standard.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice pub oozing character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Been to this pub for 30 years and it's still as good as ever. I do miss not having the wooden kegs in the bar for the real ale touch but I'll keep returning. My family have been to this pub for 100 plus years - good to see it thriving when others close.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    17
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Very pretty pub and excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This pub is chocolate box pretty both inside and out! A large gravel area to the front where you can park and also a few outside tables for summer evenings and a small garden to the rear with more tables. Inside there are two room - the main bar area and then a seperate dining room with cute little 'snugs' and lovely fireplaces. Very cosy, very pretty and the staff are helpful. Lovely in both summer outside and in the winter snuggled inside. We have had drinks here on a number of occassions and eaten here once and the food was lovely. All freshly cooked and very tasty and of excellent quality. The prices are average to veering on the slightly high side but it is worth it.The only issue with this pub is parking can be tricky when it is busy. Would definitely recommend and is one of the nicest pubs in the Penzance area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely pub, people, food and bev!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Went here with a local friend who was our tour guide during recent visit to Cornwall. The staff was friendly, the locals were welcoming and the food and beverages were very delicious Cornish fare! Interior of the pub full of historic furniture and decorations. You could almost envision being here several hundred years ago. Was a perfect capstone to be in this pub after a day of touring the countryside in that area. Went early eve, as our friend advised it gets pretty busy and for best dinner choices, go early.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehouse, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

was recommended this place by a Cornish resident, was not disappointed. The staff were great, very very busy but always had time to deal with us. The food was excellent, a very varied menu making use of local produce, all cooked fresh to order and well presented. I went for the liver and bacon, 2 of our party had the rump steaks, and the Mrs opted for the Brie (from the starter menu) I would definitely go there again, shame it would be an eight hour round trip to enjoy it again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A Little off the Beaten Track”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We came here a couple of times whilst on holiday in Cornwall. It's one of those low ceiling places with a log fire in winter, so is very cosy. The hand pulled "Doom Bar" beer was very moreish as was the good quality food. My wife had liver and onion, I had belly pork. Both were good quality and very tasty. The young landlady was very polite and kept everything under control despite running on low staff levels, so credit to her for that. All told, I would recommend this place if in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Hart also viewed

 
Bodmin, Cornwall
 

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Hart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.