We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality food, friendly service and offering value for money.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sportsmans Arms

Sportsmans Arms
Bolitho Road, Heamoor, Penzance, England
+44 1736 362831
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Heamoor
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: On the north side of Penzance. 19 c. pub completely renovated, new owners, new menu. Excellent food, excellent value. I'd love to tell you more.
1 review
“Quality food, friendly service and offering value for money.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011 via mobile

Recently had a very enjoyable meal, a group of six, everyone was delighted with the choice of menu, the friendly service and the meals themselves were excellent. I was shocked at how reasonably priced.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb family pub with excellent service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Recently visited here as walking distance from rented house.
Really friendly atmosphere with superb range of beers and ciders.
Also took families to the restaurant and the service and food was excellent.
Must do the curry and steak nights as great value
Nice to find somewhere were the kids are as welcome as the adults
Hope to be able to go again in the future
Would recommend to anyone

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best resturants i have experienced!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

Fantastic meal had by every member of our large group ranging from slow braised duck legs to quality sirloin steaks and a beautiful selection of specials every week. The waitress's and barstaff were exetremely friendly and catered for our whole family even our children would like to go again. Would recommend the fantastic desserts to anyone aswell, the red cherry cheesecake was delicious!!!!

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD,SERVICE AND VALUE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

We have used The Sportsmans Arms on many occasions and have always come away feeling good. The service,atmosphere and food, has always been of a high standard. The menu is superb and caters fall all. Vegetarians are well catered for.The beers and wine are also good.
The reasons why we keep going back are
1 A family friendly place to eat
2 There is always a warm welcome.
3 The ales and food are always good
4 We do not have to listen to loud music or fruit machines.
We have no hesitation in recommending the SPORTSMANS ARMS in Heamoor. A great place to eat, whether it is for lunch or an evening meal.

BRIAN AND IRENE JENKIN

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance
1 review
“Excellent food at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

I've visited the Sportsmans on several occasions now and have always found the food to be BRILLIANT, locally sourced, homecooked, always plentiful, you will never leave hungry. There is a wide selection, something for everyone. There is also a wide choice of beers and wines; and all of this is extremely reasonably priced.
The service is excellent, friendly and helpful at all times. The restaurant is suitable for all ages. I've taken my elderly parents and demanding friends, and all leave having had a great meal out.
This is an excellent restaurant that is well worth a visit and comes with our highest recommendation.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sportsmans Arms also viewed

 

Been to Sportsmans Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sportsmans Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.