We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to City” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mardale Hotel and Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mardale Hotel and Convention Center to your Saves list
Mardale Hotel and Convention Center
Cabrera Street | San Francisco District, Pagadian City, Mindanao, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Pagadian City B&B and Inns
Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Close to City”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed in this hotel over 5 nights. It’s the newest hotel in Pagadian and the location near all city stores and short drive to other Pagadian activities. Booking in was hassle free, as at the time of writing this review they requested payment up front and the hotel accept all credit cards. One must remember that this hotel is away from all major centres and the hotel service department in this area is lacking compared to other hotel. On entering my room I found the floor had not been cleaned and stain throughout. Arrangements were made to have cleaners attend. My room had a lower and upper floor which consisted of lounge-room on one level and beds on the higher level. The beds were large and I found the mattress uncomfortable due to its thinness. There is only one large air conditioner unit and it was struggling at times to keep the room cool especially in the afternoon when the sun is shining directly into the room. The bathroom is small with no ventilation. The rooms were never cleaned unless you contacted reception to arrange cleaners. Having said this I think for the area the hotel is adequate. I still was happy with the hotel and the comments I make thus far is compared to other hotels. Standard service is lacking but you won’t get a 5 star service at this location. I recommend this hotel as it is the best in Pagadian City.

Room Tip: Request a room on the western side. Good views of city and surrounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
3
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Belait, Brunei Darussalam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Room very functional and air conditioning worked well. Staff very friendly. Didn't eat in restaurant. Everything worked and shower good. Stayed in a hotel in Batangas at 4x price after this hotel and nothing in comparrison. Wifi worked well. Had friends staying in hotel as well and they enjoyed their stay as well

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

I liked the hot shower and free wifi, the rooms were as good as some 5 star hotels. The service was excellent and food good. I stayed 5 nights and will stay there my next trip in October.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

It was a really pleasure to finally find a decent hotel in Pagadian that provided good service and all the amenities you require. This is the newest hotel in Pagadian and you can tell they have looked at the failures in the other hotels and tried to improve on them here. The hotel was well laid out and the rooms were very comfortable. The only complaint I have was there was no coffee or tea making facilities provided in the rooms.

The Wi-Fi service provided was free and for a change worked very well in Pagadian. Very few disruptions. The restaurant provided good food and the staff knew what they were doing.

The hotel staff were very pleasant at all times and would be available straight away if any problems arose. Will certainly stay here again. Well done to the Management and staff for making our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bo I Telemark, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in March 2012. We had a standard room. The room was OK, with aircon and TV. It's free wifi also available on all rooms, but the connection is unstable, to say it least.

To our surprise the staff didn't make up our room every day. My wife asked why, and they said that their policy was that the guest should ask for cleaning the room to the staff every day. It’s the first time I have experienced this in a so-called "quality hotel".

Mardale Hotel prides themselves of being one of the best hotel in Pagadian City. Well, the rooms are OK, but nothing more, And the staff is friendly and helpful. The restaurant is mediocre, and I advise you to eat breakfast outside of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mardale Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mardale Hotel and Convention Center

Address: Cabrera Street | San Francisco District, Pagadian City, Mindanao, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Zamboanga Peninsula > Zamboanga del Sur > Pagadian City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Pagadian City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Mardale Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mardale Hotel and Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.