We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The number one stop in Aria Roumeli!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pachnes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agia Roumeli
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pachnes
Save
You added Pachnes to your Saves list
Sfakia, Agia Roumeli, Crete 73011, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Agia Roumeli B&B and Inns
Chania Town, Greece
1 review
“The number one stop in Aria Roumeli!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Pachnes B&B is set back away from all the madness of the village. The rooms are rustic in style, charming and clean. Stelios goes above and beyond providing his guests with excellent service and fantastic authentic Cretan food. Stelios has intimate knowledge of all the hiking routes and can provide you with all the details and best tips for your hiking trips. You won't find a better place to relax in Agia Roumeli.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
15
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

After trekking in the White Mountains and along the coastline of West Crete every summer for almost ten years, Pachnes B&B, Café and Taverna has become my number one hangout and safe haven. I would highly recommend Pachnes to anyone who appreciate a (very) quiet and peaceful place with new, spacious clean rooms and excellent, simple, local food. Pachnes is owned and run by Stelios and his wife, Claire, who are always extremely kind and helpful. At Pachnes you are light-years from the charmless, pushy and noisy tourist resorts around Chania and Retymnon. In addition to that, staying at Pachnes is very good value especially considering that wireless internet, breakfast and limitless use of air-condition is included. In my opinion you will never find a better deal anywhere in West Crete. Pachnes is of course located in Agia Roumeli which is one the most underestimated places in Crete. Most travellers only know Agia Roumeli as the place where you collapse from exhaustion after scrambling down the Samaria Gorge, and that’s a darn shame. The gorge is certainly amazing and an absolute must for anyone who enjoy hiking even the slightest, but Agia Roumeli has so much more to offer. First of all it’s a perfect base for a number of spectacular walks along the coast and into the mountains which you will have almost all to yourself, but don’t tell anyone or that might change.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had a wonderful time staying at the Pachnes B and B . The rooms were very clean, nicely decorated and the beds very comfortable. The B and B is in a very convenient location, at the end of the Samaria gorge, and is an easy 3 minutes walk to the beach or ferry. Also, the little avenue that the B and B is on is very quite and peaceful. A great place to watch hikers pass or even read a book. Stelios and Claire were very kind host and Stelios gives great advise for hikes and activities to do in the local area. Make sure you try some of the very delicious and unique salads that they make at Pachnes. Out favorites were the roca and also the chicken salad. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed one night at the Pachnes B&B in Agia Roumeli after hiking down the Samaria Gorge. The Pachnes is a small, modern-looking taverna/cafe with probably six or seven guest rooms. The rooms are small and simple, and impeccably clean. They overlook the sea from a distance of about 500m, although the view is somewhat obstructed by a new construction. The taverna serves a small selection of simple local dishes. At the time we were there, Pachnes had free wifi and the speed of the connection was okay. The centre of Agia Roumeli, if you can call it that, is about 5 min walk away. Because of the many thousands of tourists that come through the gorge in main season, Agia Roumeli is quite geared towards mass tourism and not necessarily in a good way. The Pachnes is a real exception - very down to earth and very authentic. The owner, Stelios, is genuinely friendly and a good resource to those who want to do hikes around the area. He helped us out with great tips on our next day's hike and he was was very flexible in serving us breakfast at 6:30 in the morning. Prices are very reasonable. I can highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Roumeli
0.0 mi away
Hotel Calypso
Hotel Calypso
#1 of 1 in Agia Roumeli
4.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
#6 of 119 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Lefka Ori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Galini Beach Hotel
Galini Beach Hotel
#1 of 16 in Kissamos
5.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
0.0 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#3 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sweet Corner Masxali
Sweet Corner Masxali
#2 of 7 in Agia Roumeli
5.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pachnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pachnes

Address: Sfakia, Agia Roumeli, Crete 73011, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Agia Roumeli
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Agia Roumeli
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pachnes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.