We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain Break” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coach & Horses Inn

Coach & Horses Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Coach & Horses Inn to your Saves list
Coach & Horses Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   A35, Winterbourne Abbas DT2 9LU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Altrincham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bargain Break”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We received a warm welcome at this lovely country pub. It was an ideal base to explore the beautiful Dorset countryside. Our room was very basic but clean and comfortable and as we had only paid £55 per room B&B we weren't expecting 5 star. The evening meal was very good and although the breakfast was ok, sightly better quality ingredients would have made it much more enjoyable. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    6
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
10
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
aldwick
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

As a pub restaurant it's very good. Good ambience and welcoming, nicely cooked breakfast and judging by other reviews good food generally. However the bedrooms still need refurbishing and our bathroom was not good. The shower wouldn't switch off while the taps were on and the water pressure is really low - just a dribble of hot water. Worryingly the toilet bowl had a black ring around the waterline and the bath mat was really grubby. Neither could have been regularly cleaned. More supervision of the cleaners maybe? The owners also need alerting to the fact that whilst in our bathroom (room 2 I think) we could hear every word spoken by the couple next door in their bedroom. I just hope they couldn't hear our ablutions!

Room Tip: Away from the main road if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Unfortunately, we booked this Inn but were unable to be accommodated. The manager claimed to have sent an email, but I received none! I phoned on my way to book into the restaurant, and was told that they had booked us into a nearby pub. However, on reaching the new accommodation, we were told that although there had been a request for a room, they had been told that we would be confirming the new booking!
Fortunately, they had a room available.
I have had no phone call from the manager of the Coach and Horses Inn to apologise...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Called at this roadside hotel on our way back from taking a friend to catch his cruise liner at Southampton On his recommendation we had coffee on the way up and liked what we saw so decided to stop off for a meal on way home Turned out to be a good decision as the menu was good, prices reasonable and staff very friendly Would suggest this as a stop to anyone travelling through this village

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Three of us stayed here from one night in two rooms. Firstly the welcome was warm and friendly. The bar area looks modern, with dark beams and wooden floor. We were shown to our rooms and passed a sign saying that they were in the process of refurbishment. The rooms on first look were a bit disappointing, with orange bedding and pine furniture, BUT the room was large , airy and clean. The bathroom was tired and in need for refurbishment, but was clean and the towels were extremely soft and fluffy. There was also guest toiletries (soap, shampoo & shower gel) in the bathroom. When booking the room we had forgotten to mention that we would like one to be a double rather than a twin. When we mentioned this to them they were able to change the room almost immediately. This new room was even larger that our original room and had white bedding which gave the room a better feel. In the morning we came down for breakfast which was served in the restaurant area. There was a choice of cereal, yoghurt and fruit juice, followed by a full English or selection of items such as eggs on toast. This was extremely well cooked and delicious. The service received was second to none and nothing was too much trouble. It was good value for money. I would defiantly choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Visited for lunch, had not been in a long time but it used to be a favourite when in the area, found its under management, limited choice on the menu sells most pizza's now. Very smoky in there as pizza's are cooked in the dining room, slow service, when the pizza arrived it was awful over cooked and bland, tasted like a biscuit with ketchup on it! Expected more due to the prices! Very disappointing won't be going back

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

went with family 6 march in the evening, the service was slow there was only one other table that was occupied the box with a quiz game on the tables should have given us a clue to the wait,
the food when it arrived was excellent and much enjoyed by all.the only downside was ,we were sitting near the log fire a man put more logs on unfortunatly this made the fire smoke badly and the door was opened it was a very cold night , these things happen but no i`m sorry about that,
that would have been the polite thing to do , he did`nt seem to care less ,it did`nt spoil the meal
as we were about to go

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coach & Horses Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach & Horses Inn

Address: A35, Winterbourne Abbas DT2 9LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Winterbourne Abbas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Winterbourne Abbas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coach & Horses Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Coach & Horses Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coach & Horses Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.