We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly suprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gallivant

Save Saved
You added The Gallivant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Gallivant
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   New Lydd Road, Camber TN31 7RB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Camber
England
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Pleasantly suprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I had fixed my mind on spending a week away in a country manor down in Devon when my wife read an article in the Waitrose magazine praising the Gallivant Hotel and made up her mind she wanted to go here instead.
I set off in an apprehensive mood as to what to expect as some of the reviews on Tripadvisor had not been that good but when we arrived I was pleased to find it was much better than expected and they had obviously spent a good deal of money on a refurbishment.
We stayed for three nights and the small standard double we booked was fine in size and very clean, the housekeeping do an excellent job and the room was also nicely furnished and was in keeping with the beach theme featured throughout the hotel.
The hotel has a great prime location and is just across the road from an incredible beach but it will certainly test your fitness climbing the sand dunes to get to it.
As others have said, the food in the hotel is excellent and we ate their every night, the service was also excellent and Lily deserves a special mention as she was simply an outstanding waitress in every aspect.
The only gripes I could mention was the bathroom which could do with a power shower instead of a traditional mains low pressure one, I mentioned this to Mark, the Hotel Manager, and he recommended that before we leave we see one of the newly refurbished deck rooms and this we did, I have to say they were gorgeous with a superb new bathroom and wish I had been aware of these when I booked, all the rooms will be refurbished to this standard and a news mains supply installed to overcome the shower issue.
From my initial reluctance to come here I cannot wait to come back again and would have stayed longer had they not been fully booked for a wedding.
Definitely recommended and will be back at the earliest opportunity, great hotel, lovely staff and excellent food, perfection!

Room Tip: Book the Deck Rooms, lovely private patio area for drinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    269
    243
    87
    33
    24
See reviews for
93
433
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I got a one night getaway package, booked directly with the hotel. The booking process went smoothly. Moving on, we've arrived at the hotel by car on Saturday morning and went straight to the beach. The staff were friendly and overall seaside theme was very relaxing. The beach was amazing, in less than 2 hours from London you truly feel that you're on a proper holiday. After the whole afternoon at the beach we finally get into our room, decent size, no closet which is fine for one night stay, clean, cozy and has that shabby chic theme. Bathroom were clean, nice bathtub to chill, has hairdryer and fluffy towel gown. Overall very impressed.
The dinner was amazing, one of the best seafood meal I've ever had hands down, very good value considering it's a part of the package. Great wine selection and must have Tarte Tatin.
The breakfast is also amazing, great quality of food and a charming overall experience. We'll be going back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and our pet spaniel had a great 2 day one night stay (in one of their dog friendly rooms). We felt very relaxed from the moment we got there and had several great walks. The evening meal was amazing all locally sourced and home made. We would definitely return and highly recommend.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 19 which is dog friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston,Lancs.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed on a 3 night 1066 break, to explore part of the UK with which we were unfamiliar. Visited Canterbury Cathedral, Sissinghurst Castle and Rye, which is a lovely little place to explore. Bed at the Gallivant very comfy, and hooks and hangers were ideal as surely most visitors are staying for just a short break so lack of wardrobe doesn't matter. Loved the chic modern styling and the locally sourced food really was excellent. To finish off after a day out we would clamber over the dunes at Camber to paddle in the sea and collect shells. Bliss.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We spent one of the hot summer weekends in July 2013 in Cambersands. Coming from London, we took the train to Rye via Ashford, which went very smoothly and then it's a 10mins taxi ride to the hotel.
The rooms are pretty small and basic, but in a charming, sea-side way. There is supply to prepare a tea and a handy beach bag that you can also buy if you want to keep it. There is no wardrobe in the standard room, but just open hangers where you can put your stuff on. It's not a big deal for a weekend, but would be an issue had we stayed a week, i.e. had we arrived with more clothes.

The food is really great and probably the best thing about the Gallivant. Both the breakfast and dinner selection is super and freshly cooked - it's worth going for the half-board.

The beach is just across the street and a joy on summer days - wide unspoilt beaches. They do get very crowded in good weather, but there's still lots of space for everyone.

The only thing that really left a negative mark was our departure. We were due to take a train back to London in the evening, so over lunch I asked reception to call a taxi half an hour before our train time. It was a Sunday and a busy one and despite trying different taxis they were not able to offer me ANY taxi back to the station. Naturally, we got quite upset about this, especially as the buses only run every 2 hrs on a Sunday and we would have missed our train. I had to speak to the manger who at the beginning also said she couldn't do anything (REALLY? You don't offer your guests any way to getting to Rye which is just 10mins away by car?), but then we found out we could have a taxi in 10minutes, just not at the time we wanted to (ah, nobody had thought about offering this solution before). It was a shame, as we missed 2 great hours on the beach and instead spent an hour in Rye at a lonely train station, but at least we got the ride.
Our recommendation is to come by car or arrange a taxi 1-2 days beforehand if you're leaving on a Sunday. A disappointing experience to end with, but overall an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel resembles an american-style motel from the outside, but with all the wild grass it suits the seaside location. A manor house or corporate style hotel wouldn't have fitted the surroundings.
We stayed in the new deck rooms which were decorated beautifully. Perfectly smooth white walls, white wash wooden flooring and beautiful brand new bathrooms. The best thing though about the rooms was the decking area . The rooms had patio doors which led to a completely enclosed garden space complete with garden furniture which was perfect for relaxing in.
We had an interconnecting room which was perfect for a family with young children, they stayed in one room and we were in the next room which meant we could then relax in the evening when they went to bed.
The food in the restaurant was excellent. We ate there one night and both had fish which was very nice, fresh and well cooked. They also had a good selection of English wines from local vineyards and the homemade icecream was very popular with the children. The breakfasts were also very good, breakfasts cooked to order but they also had a selection of cereals, fresh juice etc. The poached fruits (berries, cherries) was very tasty and the homemade banana bread was also popular with the children.
The beach is a couple of minutes walk away, across the road and over (a rather big) sand dune but is well worth it. When we were there it happened to be the hottest day of the year so we had a very enjoyable day at the beach which is probably the loveliest beach i have ever been to in the world. It's huge and paddling in the sea is great, nice and sandy underfoot ( no rocks or seaweed).
Overall, if you're looking for an imposing looking hotel then this probably isn't the place for you, but if you want to stay in a unique hotel with nice rooms, bathrooms, good food and a great location next to a beautiful beach then this hotel is perfect!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snagger, General Manager at The Gallivant, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear vivrob

Many thanks for your fantastic review and I am especially delighted to receive such amazing feedback as you were the very first occupants of, our brand new deck rooms. Hours of thought, design and shopping along with weeks of work went into these rooms and it is reassuring that they have been so well received,

We are lucky to have such amazing ingredients on our doorstep including fish from Rye Bay and wine from the nearby Chapel Down vineyards, both of which you enjoyed,

The weather was a little unpredictable on your arrival and I am glad that you and the children all got to see the magnificent beach on the hottest day of the year.

I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Mark O'Reilly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed here in August on the evening of our son's wedding and we were delighted with the whole event. I agree that the rooms are rather small but they are very comfortable. I cannot fault the service we received from the hotel staff during our stay and in the run up to the wedding. Their attention to detail was excellent.
A previous reviewer mentions the breakfast which was served to the whole wedding party as part of the wedding package. The normal breakfast when paying full price for the rooms is a different menu and from what other people said it is excellent. We did have a very decent breakfast however and it did have fresh fruit included.
The food for the wedding reception was excellent and probably the best we have ever had at any wedding. Whole plaice and salt marsh lamb sharing platters and a lemon tart which was second to none. We also spent a lot of time at the hotel the day after the wedding and saw many meals being served at lunch time. These too looked superb although a little on the pricey side.
The full price for the rooms I would have to agree are a little pricey but having said that we stayed in a B & B in Rye the next night and that was the same price. We checked other prices in the area and they all seem to be around the same which I would say are not especially good value for money.
Wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel for a wedding but might be less inclined to use it for more than one night as it would make a very expensive week's stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snagger, General Manager at The Gallivant, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear 804JanetB

Many thanks for your recent review and I am delighted that you were impressed with our service running upto and including your sons wedding.

I have noted your comment regarding our breakfast and following this and a previous review, I am investigating this. Breakfast at the Gallivant should be memorable and enjoyable with the same standards applied regardless of it following a wedding or leisure stay.

We do special offers throughout the year, and I can assure you that a stay at the Gallivant is not as expensive as it may appear.

Kind regards

Mark O'Reilly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Gallivant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gallivant

Address: New Lydd Road, Camber TN31 7RB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Camber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Camber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gallivant 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Times Newspaper - No 6, Best British Beach Hotels, 3/3/12.Welcome to our beautiful restaurant with rooms opposite the dunes. New England arrives in Camber. Delicious food, sourced within 25 miles of us, lovely people, amazing sandy beach. Relax and enjoy. Our 20 lovely bedrooms and beautiful restaurant are a relaxing coastal hideaway by the sea. Surrounded by the wildness of the Romney salt marshes and opposite the dunes we are a true escape from the stresses and strains of life, an hour and a half from central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Gallivant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place At Beach
Place At The Beach Rye

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gallivant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.