We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely beachside hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gallivant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Gallivant to your Saves list
The Gallivant
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   New Lydd Road, Camber TN31 7RB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Camber
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely beachside hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had a great two-night stay in the Gallivant's beach hut room. Friendly and helpful staff, a lovely room and some delicious food (in particular the bountiful breakfast) Would love to come back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    266
    96
    36
    25
See reviews for
100
484
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

A great concept - boutique hotel with every comfort you could wish for yet with a simple beach hotel feel - wonderful touches such as home-made cookies in the room, robes and White Company toiletries..... The bed (Hypnos) was utterly divine - we booked the Beach Hut room but actually moved down a little to another deluxe, suite room (the hotel is next to a road and we found the Beach Hut room (which is closest to the road) a little less peaceful than we might have hoped for......and the staff could not have been more accommodating in moving us to another, equally delightful room. We would strongly recommend staying in the luxury rooms rather than the main hotel as you have your own door and can sit outside in the morning sun sipping tea! Also, the beds are wider in these rooms. A stroll across to the gorgeous beach and the wide golden sands is a must - big skies amazing! The food is well-deserving of its Michelin recommendation..... all utterly delicious with home-made breads and locally sourced produce. Equally, the dinners were superb with a good balance of fish, meat and vegetarian... something for everyone. The fish is local caught and fresh same day, so it is a wonderful option for fish lovers everywhere. The service was attentive and very professional. We felt totally pampered and loved exploring the area including Dungeness RSPB reserve, Rye and the historic churches of Romney Marsh. We were celebrating our silver wedding anniversary with a 3-day break - the hotel is probably more romantic for couples in the quieter season (we were there mid-May) as we suspect the whole place would be buzzing and the beach very busy with families in the summer - but great if you have family and want luxury but child-friendly accommodation..... We loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Great stay, loved the little touches such as fresh cookies in the bedroom. Food at both dinner and breakfast was very high quality. Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms a good size and the overall beach/shabby chic theme was lovely and suited the location. Would highly recommend hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We booked the beachcomber escape, two nights with breakfast and one evening meal. We wanted the Beach hut room but this was unavailable for both nights so Heather, on reception, offered us the beach hut room for one night and a deluxe double for the second. This was very accommodating and indicates the efforts the Galavant Hotel will make to ensure clients wishes are met. Both rooms were good, but the beach hut room in particular had a lovely atmosphere will delightful design touches. The giant beds in both rooms were very comfortable. The whole hotel, restaurant included had a light, attractive air. The breakfasts were excellent as was the included evening dinner. We enjoyed the eating experience so much that we ate in the resatuarant for our second night, eating off the main menu. The local fish and meat was tasty and well presented. The staff were helpful and very attentive. And of course the fabulous Camber beach just across the road, beautiful Rye a short drive away and Dungeness 20 minutes away made for some memorable exploration. The whole experience was delightful, though not inexpensive, but was good value for a special occasion. We would certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Go for the beach hut room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We found a great deal for two nights B&B inc an evening meal in their brilliant beach bistro on the first night - it was all really, really lovely!

The room was a good size, an amazingly huge bed (thank goodness, as our recently rescued greyhound didn't think the lovely doggy bed they had provided was anywhere near big or comfy enough for her!) Very clean and comfy and cozy and had everything we all needed - including a new ball for Bonnie to play with!

We arrived late afternoon and after we had settled ourselves in a little, we crossed the road, walked across a green area and we were straight in the Camber sand dunes which lead to the most amazing beach. There were restricted areas for dogs, but with a beach that enormous, that was no problem. Bonnie was soon hooning around having a wonderful time!

After our walk, we settled the dog in for the evening and went for our meal - it was lovely!

Luckily, Bonnie behaved brilliantly whilst we were having our meal, although I was glad I took a blanket to cover the white bedding as she found that very relaxing whilst we out!

The staff were all very attentive, the service was great, everyone was very really smiley and nice and we had a wonderful couple of days.

Our only complaint was that we weren't there long enough!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We booked the dog lovers break for my birthday and had the most wonderful stay in this beautiful hotel.
The location was perfect with a dog friendly stunning beach on the doorstep, and we were very lucky with the weather so managed a few trips to the beach with the dog.
Rye was also only a short drive away, so we enjoyed a day out there and also managed to squeeze in a fabulous walk in Winchelsea.
On both nights we ate in the hotel restaurant, the food was so excellent on the first night, which was included with the package, we had to return again for a second time on the second night of our stay.
The hotel added little extras as a surprise due to it being a birthday celebration and really went the extra mile to make this stay even more memorable.
The rooms were very spacious, very clean and had everything you could need and more.
It is lovely to see so many local touches in a hotel, including food and drinks, this really added to the experience.
Thank you again, we cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We got married at the Gallivant in April 2013 and the day was just brilliant. You can hire the hotel out for exclusive use so you and your guests have complete run of the 18 room hotel. The Gallivant already has the shabby chic decor (think white washed tables and driftwood) that we love so planning a wedding here required minimal effort. They provide a dedicated wedding planner (Natalie who then became Alice) who make the whole planning process so easy and are there to answer questions from the word go. On the day the staff were brilliant, attentive but not fussy and nothing was too much of a problem, the food was amazing (we have had so many compliments that people don't expect the standard of food to be that high at a wedding!!) and the transitions between ceremony to dinner to dancing were seamless.

In typical sunshine/showers weather it rained as we walked up onto the beach but the staff were more than happy to join us in the rain and left it up to us for when we had had enough! They also provided an oyster and prosecco bar which was just spectacular.

We stayed in the beach hut suite which was gorgeous - spacious, massive bed and good size bathroom. I would thoroughly recommend the Gallivant for a slightly different (no white table cloths!!), more relaxed seaside wedding and I know we will be returning again and again to enjoy a weekend chilling by the seaside and indulging in some good food and wine.

Thank you Team Gallivant!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gallivant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gallivant

Address: New Lydd Road, Camber TN31 7RB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Camber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Camber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gallivant 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our restaurant with rooms across the road the the beach. Inspired by the coastal motels you might find in California, we're a bit shabby chic, but above all relaxed and welcoming. Almost all of our food is sourced within 15 miles of us, most of it only hours old. Our beds are the most comfortable we could find (we tried a lot). Our beach is extraordinary. In 2014 we were included in The Sunday Times 'Top 100 UK Hotels - for foodies'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Gallivant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place At Beach
Place At The Beach Rye

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gallivant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.