We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camber Sands - Oct 2012 School Holiday week” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Save Saved
You added Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   New Lydd Road | Nr. Rye, Camber TN31 7RT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
A TripAdvisor Member
“Camber Sands - Oct 2012 School Holiday week”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

On arrival at 1pm we went to Reception by the main gate where we were advised to go to the club house for check-in. We were in a 3 bed Bronze caravan, as we have a dog, and couldnt get our key until 4pm. Got our key after queueing, finally got into our caravan in the dark, cold and rain at 4:45pm to find that it had not been cleaned at all + evidence of the previous occupants was VERY evident! Fire wouldnt light, dirty and grubby with cut grass everywhere, stained carpets, windows draughty, no central heating. After 4 phone calls to a mobile phone we managed to get the cleaners in. We left 1 day early and couldn't wait to get home. The staff in bar were miserable and rude. No personal customer service during meal times either - I dont think we saw a happy member of staff at all during our stay. DONT BOOK!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. Unfortunately the weekend of your stay we had a large number of our team down with the flu bug and this meant the remaining team were rushed off their feet so I must apologise that we failed to provide the level of customer service that we always thrive to achieve. Unfortunately, due to these circumstances it appears your accommodation was not cleaned to our usual high standard and this is something I must sincerely apologise for. I can assure that if we had been made aware I would have rectified this immediately. Camber has a great team of people who all understand the importance of top class guest service and I am sorry that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations and I hope this will not deter you from trying us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    208
    158
    108
    149
See reviews for
519
45
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was the first time we had visited Park Resorts and Camber Sands. On the plus side the young staff team were just great, positive, friendly and helpful, especially the girl with dark hair on the reception at the swimming pool. The pool was great, our children loved it and took part on several of the organised activities, and that made the whole stay worthwhile.
The accommodation was a bit grotty though, not particularly clean and definitely not quite warm enough. Our shower leaked, lamp didn't work, kitchen sink was smelly and the cabin next door but one was obviously being renovated so there was a large pile of old furniture and rubbish right outside which was not nice to look at.
There was a flooding problem on the park itself, for example, you had to wade through at least a foot of water to get inside the entertainment complex.
In spite of the great pool and helpful staff, I probably wouldn't stay there again unless the company spends quite a lot of money upgrading the facilities and cleaning more regularly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your review and thank you for your positive comments on the attitude of our staff which I know they will all appreciate. I am so sorry to hear that your accommodation was not up to standard. We did have a large number of team off sick with a flu bug and as a result our normal high standards proved difficult to maintain and I must sincerely apologise for this. Unfortunately the chalets are undergoing a major refurbishment for 2013 and we apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay. These essential works will be noticeable in 2013 and will help us to keep raising the standards at Camber Sands, and I hope you may decide to return to see us next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Just home from a week at Camber Sands in our touring caravan. Didn't get off to the best start as the hard standing pitch that we were promised had been given to someone else & there were no others available. The pitches seem to be a bit haphazard with no real layout & a real lack of hard standing areas (little did we know at the time how much of a problem this would prove to be!) There are washing up sinks, a family shower room & a small launderette at the toilet block. In my opinion these were kept clean & tidy (considering the weather) with plenty of hot water available at all times. The park is just over the road from a gorgeous beach & we went for some lovely walks there. The arcade on site was a good size & the entertainment in the club was good with an enthusiastic & hard working entertainments team. The shop had very little stock left but then I suppose that's to be expected at the end of the season. We used the swimming pool nearly every day, it was very clean & we loved the lazy river! Ate dinner in the restaurant one night, lovely food but slow service (waited 50 minutes for our dinner & it didn't even seem that busy.) My main complaint with this park is the major problem they seem to have with drainage. Admittedly it rained heavily most days during the week we were there but there were so many areas of the park that were completely waterlogged (roads, paths & grass.) The touring field suffered very badly & was quite flooded in parts with a good few inches of standing water. When we left to come home we had difficulty getting our caravan out. There was a flooded area just as you come in to the park & some of the other roadways had a similar amount of rain water that just didn't drain away at all. On one particular day the swimming pool had a good 5 or 6 inches of water that we had to wade through to get in the entrance! I'm not sure what the problem is but drainage on this park seems to be practically non existent! I've stayed at many different holiday parks in all weathers but this one coped worst with the rain. I would recommend this park for a holiday in the summer as it so close to a lovely beach but I would never go there again in the autumn/winter. If you're brave enough to try, wellies are an absolute must!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your review and we are so sorry you experienced the flooding. We did have some of the worst weather for a long time and unfortunately the part of the park you were on did flood a little. This is something we are looking at over the winter shut down period to see what improvements can be made to the drainage which for 99% of the year copes perfectly well. You are right about the beach – it is simply beautiful. Thanks again for your review and we hope you will visit us again next year and experience the park and surrounding areas during the warmer months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Booked a 4 night break through the sun newspaper and upgraded to a gold caravan. Stayed from 29.10.12 to 2.11.12
Well the caravan was amazing, really clean looked brand new. All furniture modern and comfortable the design was incredible down to the detail on curtains cushions and bedding. Had all kitchen mod cons such as microwave, toaster large oven and fridge freezer. Had 2 en-suite shower rooms and 2 toilets and a doublebed-settee.
The park itself was clean - no rubbish anywhere. Lots of childrens outside play areas, really good pools with rapids and activities. Even has a mini spa with whirlpool and sauna which we hired for exclusive use for 30 mins. The evening entertainment was great for children my son loved madness and mayhem and all the quizzes and party dances. The teamstars who did the entertainment were really good with the children. Halloween night was great for all the family. The staff behind the bars and the glass collectors were really polite, friendly and patient with all customers. The restaurant menu was good with all food well presented and really high standard.
My family thoroughly enjoyed our break and will be returning next year.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive review of our Park which will help future guests evaluate our Park. I will pass on your very kind comments to the team who all work incredibly hard to ensure your break creates amazing memories and we all look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

As with other reviewers, problems straight away. Bedding not in chalet as ordered. Electric heater in chalet and TV next to each other, but only one plug socket! Therefore had to choose between heating or TV on arrival. Waited 4 and half hours for double adapter to arrive after phoning reception/security 3 times! Left site a day early as had no water on Wed pm and Thursday am. Husband needed water for his medication, told by security bottled water available from them. Sent my son to fetch it but they had run out! Had to wait further half hour for this. Upon checking out manager was clearly not interested with our problems. Has tarnished my view of park resorts!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your review and we are all terribly sorry we did not live up to your expectations. Unfortunately we did experience severe staff shortages during your stay due to a flu bug and in addition to this we suffered a burst water main that affected the water supply. We did offer bottled water to all those affected and it was a most unfortunate situation. You can be assured your experiences are not indicative of our park and we hope we may have the opportunity to restore your faith in us at some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Camber hotels

Ely, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Signed up with The Sun holiday deals, and paid to upgrade to the silver caravan due to holidaying at other parks and seeing the state of Bronze ( eg no heating, old models). Upon arrival we made our way to the check in point, along with lots of other holiday makers. When we received our keys to our caravan we discovered we were unable to park by our caravan. On opening the door we were met with dirty floors, damp walls, and curtains hanging off the rails. Went straight back to check-in to complain. After a short discussion we managed to get a move to another caravan. This caravan was cleaner and the curtains were actually on the rails but the beds were not made up (something we had paid extra for). My Husband went to reception to complain, where he joined a very long que of other upset holiday makers all with various complaints. This was about 3pm, by 6pm still no bed linen!! Husband went back up again and was told they would be down straight away!!! 7pm....still no linen!!! Husband went back to reception, which was closed by this point and spoke with secruity who said it would be done within 10 mins. Finally bed linen 7.45pm!!
Shop on site was terrible, nothing in there. You could definalty tell this was the last week of the season.
Swimming pool was the only good point, except when having to wade through 3 inches of water to reach it, due to a flood just outside the doors. The whole of the site seemed very water logged to us. Thank god for wellies.

Top tips, Dont bother going, nothing in Camber. Site is awful, Caravans disgusting.

Room Tip: Dont bother, stay at home rather than here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hello Helen and thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I am so sorry to hear we did not live up to your expectations. There is no excuse for your accommodation not being prepared to the highest standard or for second rate service so I must apologise that we failed to respond efficiently on this occasion. Unfortunately on the day you arrived we had lost over 20% of our workforce with the winter flu bug and the remaining team were under incredible pressure. As a result of this your caravan was not prepared as one would expect and the service was a little slower than our usual speed and standards. I do offer my sincere apologies for these issues, and regret that unfortunately we were somewhat stretched. The drainage here at Camber Sands has always been good but we have suffered such heavy rainfall in the last couple of weeks and it is certainly taking its time to disappear.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Really good value for money, all of us enjoyed every second of this holiday. All staff were very helpful and friendly, especially the teamstars (Scott especially!!) Arcade on site was fantastic and the 4 pools provided good entertainment in morning and afternoon. Will soon be returning!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor and thank you for your kind words. The whole team at Camber Sands Park Resorts work incredibly hard to ensure your holiday is a good one. It is particularly pleasing that you mention the quality of our team. Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Address: New Lydd Road | Nr. Rye, Camber TN31 7RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Camber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty lodging in Camber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 7 miles of deep sandy dunes, with direct beach access from the Park. Camber Sands Holiday Park has it all, including 4 fabulous indoor pools, spa bath, sauna & solarium, all weather sports court and adventure playground. The perfect destination for a seaside holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and Tingo so you can book your Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Hotel Camber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.