We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience and different from regular indian restaurant\takeaway.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Indian Tapas

The Indian Tapas
282 Ewell Rate, Surbiton KT6 7AQ, England (Formerly Cabana Indian Tapas)
+(44)7776611663
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 87 Restaurants in Surbiton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: Indian, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Indian Tapas! Presents Indian cuisine with unique and colourful flare.Over the centuries, each new wave of Indian settlers brought their own culinary practice which, with time, blended into the Indian cuisine as it is known today. Indian cuisine is labelled to have large array of flavors and hefty portions making it is difficult to take pleasure of relishing most of it at the same time. In our restaurant with our tapas style; you have an opportunity to order as little or as much as you desire and yet savour the selection of food to your preference and appetite. Our chefs have creatively blended various Indian spices and aromatics from northern meat infused preparations to southern seafood choices to tantalise your palates.
1 review
“Amazing experience and different from regular indian restaurant\takeaway.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Went last week with my girlfriend on valentines day and was amazed to see the quality of food, cleanliness and friendly staff which is hard to find in today's time.
We were greeted warmly by everyone and were served well by everyone even though the restaurant was busy. Living in London for few years, i was really fed up of having tasteless indian but this restaurant changed my experience altogether and not only it is suitable for indians but anyone can enjoy the lovely fusion of indian and western flavors.
I would recommend everyone to go an try once as I will be going back for sure.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    40
    10
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Five Star On All Fronts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Ambience : Ambience was 'feel relaxed' type. Luved the touch of 'art' in the decoration.

Service : All the staff was serving with happy smiley face. Waiters were quite accessible on need basis. (I personally hate it when the waiter disappears after taking the order and you really have to make efforts to get hold of him/her!)

Time to serve : Food for 2 people really came within reasonable time considering the fact that restaurant was quite jammed.

Taste of the food : The presentation of the food was worth mentioning. The food was mouth-watering and met the expectation.

Menu & Price Range : The prices are affordable and the variety on menu card is enough to make a customer a repeat-customer.

Neighbourhood is definitely graced with the presence of this Indian Tapas. Couldn't resist to give 5 stars! B-)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabanaindiantapas, Owner at The Indian Tapas, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Diner,

Thank you very much for your review, It was indeed helpful review because of your breakdown of different factors.
We carefully look into all the mentioned factors and try our best to maintain standard operating procedures.
Its always about food but a experience matter most.
Looking forward to see you again.

Regards,

Cabana Indian Tapas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

If you want to feel the true delicacy of Indian food the best way is to visit Cabana Indian Tapas with excellent service standards.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
““Personal feel and delicious food””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Innovative, contemporary and stylish' neatly sums up the all-round appeal of this highly regarded Indian, which delivers consistently excellent food based on ‘adventurous ingredients and unusual combinations'. We tried Chicken 65 and it was really fabulous. This restaurant is great for a place to have a meal as well as hire as a private venue.The food is simply great and the management staff are so lovely and friendly.Open kitchen sizzling platters and plenty of atmosphere. We also had the chicken tikka and the chicken biryani rice and they were awesome. I would love to come again and again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Holistic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I would like to let you know all, if you want to eat authentic Indian food then this is it. It was our first visit seemed bit scary as never heard of Indian tapas before and restaurant looked a bit empty around 7 o clock being adventurous me we took a risk and entered.
Atmosphere is warm and cosy 2 massive paintings of india did the perfect job for first impression. Our waiter was friendly he explained the tapas concept and suggested for Na-real cocktails (Na-real stands for fresh coconut) we tried Kamaautra and coco Mojo both came in whole coconut the presentation was impeccable so do the taste. After finishing drink waiter cleared the coconuts and surprised us by bringing them back into halves to enjoy creamy coconut inside that was impressive.
Food wise we ordered 6 tapas they came eventually to table another success balanced flavours and controlled portion size. Could suggest to improve on presentation of the food but flavours are amazing.
The journey continued with chix 65, Khaman Dhokla(chickpeas cake) red curry lamb shank and malabar biryani. Just awesome.
Desserts we tried cricket ball Gilab jamun ,never seen that big dumpling before. Blends well with vanilla I/c served on a plate.
By end of the dinner restaurant seemed buzzing still service was attentive. Well done.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Indian Tapas also viewed

Surbiton, Greater London
 
Surbiton, Greater London
Surbiton, Greater London
 

Been to The Indian Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Indian Tapas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.