We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nay Thai

Nay Thai
12 St James Road, Surbiton KT6 4QH, England
+44 20 8399 9889
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 78 Restaurants in Surbiton
Price range: $16 - $28
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Small but beautiful Thai Restaurant, genuine decor and unique display tables. Warm friendly atmosphere and most importantly the best fresh Thai food around.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

Saturday 20th December, went for dinner in this restaurant with some friends, we booked a table for 8 o'clock and we turned up on time and our table was ready and waiting for us. This is a small restaurant so it is advisable to book a table and be on time.

We have not been here for some time but we were not disappointed our food was delicious. The staff are friendly and courteous. The decor is very simple but has very interesting tabletops.

The cost of our meal, including drinks was £14 a head, we did not have any starters but did have a Thai beef salad to share, yum. My chicken jungle curry was so good, the others really enjoyed their food as well.

As I said earlier its been a while since we had been to the restaurant, certainly will not leave it as long next time.

This place is a must to visit.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    24
    10
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“AUTHENTICITY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

Their papaya green salad washed down by a bottle of Singha beer takes me straight back to Bangkok. Then there is the fiery Tom Yam Sum. Where do I stop?

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Really nice food accompanied by rude service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

This is a small Thai restaurant, offering a nice menu with good, fresh food. You will have all of the usual Thai classics to enjoy and as the restaurant is licenced you can even have a Singha beer with your curry.

Three stars as the service from the guy is rude, he will regularly walk off before you finish ordering, no eye contact and you always feel like you are an inconvenience.

Shame as it never used to be like that!

  • Visited November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice addition to Surbiton dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Booked Nay Thai on the recommendation of a friend and happy we did. I didn't even know we had a Thai restaurant in Surbiton so this was a nice surprise. Food and service both lovely. Definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Delicious food and very good, attentive (without being over the top) service.

I had a yellow curry with sticky rice and it would be one of the best I've had.

£24 per head including drinks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nay Thai also viewed

 

Been to Nay Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nay Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.