We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sorrento Ristorante

Sorrento Ristorante
379 Ewell Road, Surbiton KT6 7DE, England
020 8390 6921
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 78 Restaurants in Surbiton
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“My favourite restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I have been entertaining at this restaurant three or four times a year for over thirty years and can honestly say that I have never experienced a bad meal. I have taken clients for business lunches, staff and partners for office parties, friends for a quiet dinner and family for a Sunday get together. This is very much a family run Italian restaurant having an extensive menu covering all the food one is used to seeing - certainly more than enough to satisfy every taste in Italian cuisine. In my experience the food is freshly prepared and well cooked . The service is friendly and attentive and the value for money is extraordinary, compared with what one can pay elsewhere. The set lunch on a weekday is especially good value. If you expect Michelin style fine dining, then this is not the place for you. If you want somewhere that won't break the bank, that you can confidently invite friends, family (they love children), colleagues and clients and be assured that everyone will be happy, then you have come to the right place. Having just come back from a week in Rome, I would rank this restaurant ahead of almost all the ones I experienced there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    19
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This was not the first time we visit Sorrento and very much like last time they didn't disappoint. The food was exellent and the service was perfect. It is a restaurant that you cannot not visit, as not only the food and service were great but the atmosphere was fascinating. P Sawaya

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Glad I chose this.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Thank you to Sorrento for a lovely meal, great atmosphere and reasonably priced, varied menu. Just could of done with a little more attention with the service- felt it was like there wasn`t
enough staff to cover when it was busy. Especially like the friendly,Portuguese waiter with the long hair. !!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

very nice food,and nice friendly helpful staff.Excellent value for money,especially their special 3 course deals.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Great local Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Sorrento always has a buzzy atmosphere with local diners. Everyone I've taken there for dinner has really enjoyed the experience so I keep on going back. The food is good: there are meal deals both for dinner and lunch which are excellent value. The dessert trolley is a popular feature and always stocked with a tempting array of staples like tiramisu, pannacotta, trifle, profiteroles and figs. The staff are tremendous: friendly and very attentive. Some of my friends have joked that it reminds them of somewhere Tom and Barbara Good might have eaten. I don't think this is meant as criticism as though it has a 70s feel and vibe, that is very much part of its appeal. The good food, good service and excellent value are also reasons to give this wonderful local restaurant a try.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sorrento Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Sorrento Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sorrento Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.