We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold food, poor service and noisy!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harts Boatyard

Harts Boatyard
Portsmouth Road,, Surbiton KT6 4ES, England
0208 399 7515
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 77 Restaurants in Surbiton
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: An idyllic retreat set in beautiful country house-style surroundings,Harts Boatyard serves a menu of gourmet European recipes. Trained in high-class cookery schools in Spain and Italy, the chefs bring a wealth of experience, and demonstrate knowledge of a breadth of classic and complex cooking techniques. Partnering with Rothschild wine merchants, guests can choose a bottle from the well-stocked cellar.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cold food, poor service and noisy!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

family meal on a saturday lunchtime, disaster if you do not mind loads of screaming and ill behaved children running around.
Ordered Pork belly. also ordered a side of Spring greens.
The Pork came and one look at this mass in a congealed gravy and knew it was cold but gave them the benefit of the doubt. Took one mouthful and it was stone cold! The greens came but it was a Green Salad! so sent this back together with the Pork. The rest of my families meals had come by this time and I waited. Eventually a supposedly fresh meal came (Zapped in microwave) by then I was put off so did not eat it. The manager did give us the money back for the main and the Greens.
Overall there are far better places to eat and to be honest it was expensive for an ok type of meal that was obviously cook and chill no real preparation.
Would I go back no.
The noise of the screaming children whose parents had no control over did not really help and it was very difficult to hear each other speak.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    87
    50
    38
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely atmosphere, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Location is unbeatable, the atmosphere is just lovely - bright, airy and still cosy.
Food however is average - I had a nice steak sandwich the other weekend (perfectly acceptable) but an evening meal we had recently was OK to poor - the burgers were dry (my lobster tail addition was the best bit). We sent the apple crumble deserts back - they were horrible - gloopy sauce apples (possibly tinned) and raw crumble which someone had blow-torched on top till it was burnt and tasted of carbon, really horrid. When we talked about the food after I think we'd have sent more of the main meals back too, we were just a bit polite (and someone said they saw another couple send back every single one of their courses)
Overall nice place, food is hit & miss, I'd go back but might eat elsewhere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great on the surface, poor underneath”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have been to Harts twice this year: once on a Wednesday in July for a family lunch, and then last Saturday (18th October) with friends. In July the restaurant was pretty quiet and we were given a great table for our party of 8 overlooking the river. Service was prompt and the food very good. However last weekend was really disappointing. Our starters were average. In fact we had to send back the poached egg and asparagus because it was cold. And even though we had arrived at 12.15 before most other diners we then had to wait 40 minutes for our main courses. The kitchen appeared to be in chaos and the serving staff not very informative. It is a real shame because on the face of it this is great place. Welcoming staff, nice surroundings, great bar area, attractive furnishings and layout. Maybe better as a weekday option when they are not so busy . . .

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
276 helpful votes 276 helpful votes
“Great location, atmosphere and food, recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Great location by the river with fab views, really lovely interior and chilled out vibe. Good service, wide ranging menu and the food was good.

Recommended would certainly return, really liked it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice for a drink by the river in the summer ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

The view is quite lovely, so worth a drink by the river in the summer. But sadly, the service isn't great, the menu is fine - but over priced for what it is / you get, and the atmosphere is lacking.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harts Boatyard also viewed

Weybridge, Surrey
Thames Ditton, Surrey
 
Fleet, Hampshire
 

Been to Harts Boatyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harts Boatyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.