We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but then its Maldives Best & great Indians managing it :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Exotica Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Exotica Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   South Male Atoll, 2117   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
ujjain india
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pricey but then its Maldives Best & great Indians managing it :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I visited Maldives with my hubby and kids last month. Ranjit Phillipose, the General Manager of the Taj Exotica Resort & Spa arranged our accommodation there at the Taj Exotica. We booked our holidays through the online travel portal of Maldivestourister.com. We had a seamless transition to Maldives and our rooms and commute were also arranged beforehand. Thus the combo of Exotica and MT really ensured a memorable & a comparatively cheaper trip.Taxes on rooms and plane transfers r real pricey in maldives,make sure u include them in ur budget as well

The lagoon villa was our abode in the resort. It was a wonderful room having amazing views. The lagoon was properly maintained and hence there was no fear of the usual mosquitoes which accompany these pool side rooms. These were slightly expensive than the other rooms but we got a package deal and decided to go for them.

Our bungalow on the lagoon faced Male and was about 30 SQM in area. It faced the eastern side and hence provided an excellent opportunity to see the sunrise as we generally woke up early. There were water bungalows on the other side of the lagoon too and you would be bereft of the opportunity to view of the sunrise or the sunset from in there. So choose accordingly.

Over-water villas were also available but they usually depend on the season you are going and so check for prior availability. The reefs were present below the water and hence it was not much pleasurable to enjoy a swim in there. The other kind of rooms was the deluxe beach villas which basically had the advantage of access to a private beach and were probably slightly larger in area. Only the water bungalows though on the lagoon have plunge pools which can be experienced.

Thus along with the rooms, other facilities were top notch too and thus the Taj Exotica is a resort which is highly recommended.

Room Tip: water bunglows
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranjit P, General Manager at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives.

It gives us great pleasure to read that you loved your stay at our resort and enjoyed the services at the resort. I have shared your feedback with the entire team at the resort who are very happy to have received the same.

You would be happy to know that out of the 64 rooms at the resort 44 of them have their very own private plunge pools.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back at our island paradise for another relaxing holiday.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,
Ranjit Phillipose
General Manager
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    57
    14
    7
    6
See reviews for
99
534
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

A good place to have a stress free vacation.seriously loved it and enjoyed there valuable services.also the staff in the front desk were very helpful.love this place would definetly come back and have a stay here this time with my family.:-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranjit P, General Manager at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives.

It gives us great pleasure to read that you loved your stay at our resort and were able to de-stress. I have shared your feedback with the entire team at the resort who are very happy to have received the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back with your family at our island paradise for another relaxing holiday.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,
Ranjit Phillipose
General Manager
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Before coming to this Hotel we read a review that said something like "A picture of this place wouldn't capture it's beauty. It would leave out one of the most charming factors: the 5 star service" - I couldn't think of a better way of reviewing this hotel.

Our experience at the Taj exotica was 5 stars all around. Coming from Venezuela where we have beaches like Los Roques, we've seen this level of beauty before. Don't get me wrong, this is ultimate beach perfection. However, the service is what completes it. From managers personally receiving us upon arrival to an immediate call from your butler upon each arrival to the room, everyone at the hotel strived for perfection.

Our only "complaint" about the hotel would be the of snorkeling. Although you can snorkel straight from your private pool, there isn't really much to see. For decent snorkeling you requiere a trip at cost. I can't say it first hand, but I've heard other hotels have better inhouse snorkeling.

The food at the hotel is one of the biggest highlights. Since in Maldives you only eat in the hotel you stay, this is essential. There was great variety and the quality was surprisingly good.

We have to specially give a 5 star review to our butler Sudarshan. We've stayed at hotels with butlers in the past, but Sudarshan was at a whole other level. He could not have been nicer or have made our trip more enjoyable. This guy deserves a promotion!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranjit P, General Manager at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunny Maldives.

We would like to thank you for an amazing review post your recent stay at our resort. It gives me great pride to read that the service and the food at our resort left a well travelled guest such as yourself wanting to return. I have shared your feedback with Sudarshan and the entire team at the resort and they too are very happy to have received your words of appreciation. Praises such as yours, motivates the team to strive harder in achieving higher standards of excellence.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives for another memorable holiday.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,
Ranjit Phillipose
General Manager
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weimar, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Everything at the Taj was above and beyond our wildest expectations. The staff were amazing and the service was unbeliveable. The room was perfect, especially the bath products. All the food choices were delicious and there were dozens of pages on the menu so there was a lot of variety. Most of the guests appeared to be honeymooners although there were a few children as well. Worth every penny!

Room Tip: There are several rooms "over the water" but without a pool and these are really just off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranjit P, General Manager at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunny Maldives.

We would like to thank you taking the time to post an amazing review post your recent stay at our resort. I have shared your feedback with the entire team at the resort and they too are very happy to have received your words of appreciation. I am certain that this will assist us in achieving higher standards of excellence in future.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives for another memorable holiday.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,
Ranjit Phillipose
General Manager
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

this was our honeymoon, and it went beyond our expectations, from beginning to end the service is was world class! the food was incredible and lots of choice and they accomodate all tastes, our rooms were spacious and and had an amazng view of the lagoon. overall this was probably the best holiday we have ever had!
what more can a girl ask for, clear waters, blue skies, amazing food and the best company to experience it with.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranjit P, General Manager at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives.

It gives us great pleasure to read that the stay at our resort was beyond your expectations and you carried back fond memories. I have shared your feedback with the entire team at the resort who are very happy to have received the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back at our island paradise for another relaxing holiday.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,
Ranjit Phillipose
General Manager
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We have been to Maldives for the first time and first time stayed at Taj Group of resorts.It was our 8th Aniiversary on 6th March and we deided to celebrate it by staying at Maldives.From the moment we arrived & till the time we left the service was world class.All the staff/people were very very nice and helpful.Thanks to ADI our butler who gave us very good service.Thanks to the chef who made indian type curry food specially for us as per our requirement.We took movie cd on rent and to our surprise by the time we reached our villa..a bowl of pop-corn and soft drink was already there on the table.On anniversary day they surprise us by a complimetary cake and champagne and floral bed flower decoration.Meeting Mr.Ranjit personally was our luck.definately would recommened to others and would like to come once again.Beautiful Water Villa,Beautiful Beach & Resort & Romantic place.Enjoyed a lot with lots of lovely memories.from Ritesh Doshi,Mumbai,India.

Room Tip: Water Villas are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranjit P, General Manager at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Mr. Doshi,

Greetings from Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives.

We would like to thank you for the wonderful review post your recent stay with us. I have shared your feedback with Adi, our Executive Chef-- Sheroy and the entire team at the resort who are very happy to have received the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back at our island paradise for another relaxing holiday.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,
Ranjit Phillipose
General Manager
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The location is one of the most beautiful I have ever been.The rooms are charming and very comfortable and the service is simply perfect, food at the restaurants are great, environment relaxing and romantic.Besides all of this, what impressed me more was the sincere smile in the employees faces, they were always ready to help and when you asked for something, they seemed to become happier and more satisfied for helping you. I´ll recommend for all of my friends.

Room Tip: For couples I recommend the lagoon villas and for families, the beach villas are the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranjit P, General Manager at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunny Maldives.

We would like to thank you taking the time to post an amazing review post your recent stay at our resort. I have shared your feedback with the entire team at the resort and they too are very happy to have received your words of appreciation. I am certain that this will assist us in achieving higher standards of excellence in future.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives for another memorable holiday.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,
Ranjit Phillipose
General Manager
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Exotica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Exotica Resort & Spa

Address: South Male Atoll, 2117
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Emboodhu Finolhu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Emboodhu Finolhu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Exotica Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award-winning resort is a sublime fusion of luxury and nature. Nestled amidst one of the largest lagoons in the Maldives. Accommodation is a choice between villas built entirely over water and beach villas. Pan Asian. World Progressive. In villa dining. Interactive dining. Or a romantic dinner for two under the stars... Dining is a culinary adventure. The acclaimed Jiva Grande Spa provides an extensive range of holistic treatments in the over water treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Taj Exotica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Exotica Hotel Emboodhu Finolhu
Taj Exotica Resort And Spa
Taj Exotica Maldives
Taj Exotica Resort All Inclusive
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Maldives/Emboodhu Finolhu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.