We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tannery

The Tannery
6 Chestnut Hill Road, Moira BT67 0LW, Northern Ireland
2892611409
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Moira
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Antrim, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I booked the Tannery restaurant for tea and were very happy, the place is gorgeous and very stylish, the staff were friendly and the food excellent. I highly recommend the spanish tapas to start and we followed with the 12oz fillets with sides, more than enough to eat, a lovely meal in lovely surroundings, all praise to the chef, the fillets were amazing, we'll definitely be back.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    110
    35
    49
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Getting worse”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This place gets worse! If you want a nice meal out, nice food, good service and a meal at your own pace...avoid!

Quickly shown to our tables after the barman completely forgot our drink order ..he basically just walked off!

After getting to our table, I asked for another Guinness...I had to ask 3 times where my Guinness was...40 minutes later it arrived. After ordering my meal, the young lad came back to tell me I hadn't order a side .."what is there" his response was "I don't know....chips"

There is A LOT of staff running about, but getting help or ordering a drink is impossible! I managed to only get 2 drinks ordered that night!

Food poor, service awful, won't be back ever

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had a family meal here last week & we will certainly be back. The staff were really helpful & attentive without being overly so. There were six of us dining, we all had different meals, each meal was well presented & well cooked.The children were given a DVD player which kept them occupied while the meals were prepared.There was a friendly & relaxed atmosphere which was ideal after a busy day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Bewitched, bothered, and bewildered.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Ok, ok,

I wrote that title because it just jumped into my head.

We decided to go back to The Tannery for Father's Day this year,

having been there a few years ago for a birthday meal and loved it.

Wrong move.

Really wrong move.

We were told we didn't need to book, so arrived at around 3:30 pm.

The waiter seated us telling us there were no tables available,

and he would come and take our drinks order in a moment.

20 minutes later, we were still waiting, drink-less.

Another 10 thirsty minutes passed and then we were told our table was ready.

We were shown upstairs to a half empty seating area.

Our menus arrived quite promptly, but that's where the promptness ceased.

We all ordered mains only ( basically because my step-son was horrified at the cost! )

Then we waited.

Again.

Thirty minutes.

We all had steaks.

I had fillet.

Cooked Rare.

Average.

My husband and stepson had rump steaks, again, average.

The mushrooms, as you can see from the photos were cooked within an inch of their life.

Yuk.

Poor little wizened tomatoes, served on a plate.

I was saddened that this once vibrant, bustling steak house

has dropped it's standards to the level of a trucker roadside cafe.

Leaving me bewitched , bothered and bewildered.

( Knew I'd get that in somewhere :)

Sorry Tannery, you lose four stars from me.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Celebrate Good Times !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My brother had his wedding reception here and it suited the occasion perfectly. Alison and the rest of team really looked after us on the day so big thanks to the staff. All 3 courses were excellent with nice fresh ingredients and the main course of beef was cooked to perfection. Next time I'm in the area I would definitely try it again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tannery also viewed

Moira, County Armagh
Hillsborough, County Down
 
Hillsborough, County Down
Hillsborough, County Down
 

Been to The Tannery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tannery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.