We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break in Thiviers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de France et de Russie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel de France et de Russie to your Saves list
Hotel de France et de Russie
51 Rue General Lamy, 24800 Thiviers, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thiviers
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Short break in Thiviers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Delightful hotel with all the best features of English and French hospitality. A kettle for making early morning tea is even available on request, which is not something French hotels usually provide. All staff were helpful and friendly and continental breakfast was good. It's a shame there are no evening meals as there is not much else open in Thiviers in the evening

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    17
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
27
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We were warmly welcomed by the English owner of the hotel who recommended a very good restaurant. The room was great with a big bathroom and the hotel is very convenient for the railway station. Thiviers is a busy town but with many historical buildings and Sartre spent part of his childhood here. Excellent walking country surrounds the town

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We recently spent 5 nights at the hotel whilst looking for property in the region. Nicola and her staff made us very welcome and were very helpful in our search. The Hotel is tastefully furnished throughout, the bedroom and particularly was very comfortable. To be recommended if ever you are in the area.

Room Tip: We had room 2 which overlooked the front entrance and gardens. It was very quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biarritz, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Four of us spent the night in thiviers, whilst attending a plant fair in St jean de Cole
we had a great welcome from Nicola and enjoyed both the hotel and the surroundings . One of us, a normally grouchy traveller , even found the beds comfortable. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

This charming old hotel is located in a quiet part of the town and has off road parking. The bedrooms are tastefully decorated and well appointed. There are also two comfortable sitting rooms provided with books and games for guests to use. The atmosphere throughout is reminiscent of an English country house.
The English manager and her French staff are friendly and efficient.
We felt as if we were the spoilt house guests of a perfect host.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I loved this hotel! The building is set back from the road, with its private parking behind, so you do not get street noise in any room. There is a lovely sitting room on the main floor, and a pretty garden in front of the hotel. The bedrooms are of varying sizes - mine was small but had lots of character, with oak beams overhead. No lift, but I gather that some newer rooms are suitable for those with mobility problems.

Access after hours is a bit of a challenge - be sure you understand how/where to access the parking, what the door code is, and how to find (in the dark) the narrow walkway from the front of the hotel to the access door at the back.

I found the staff to be helpful and hospitable, and I enjoyed chatting with them. I did not, of course, expect them to be required to speak a foreign language in their own country, and so did my best with my somewhat limited French.

Thiviers suffers from a lack of dining options, so, if you do not have a car, be sure to find out what your options are for dinner. I understand that the hotel sometimes serves a dinner for walking pilgrims in the winter.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We found that Nicola the owner was both friendly and helpful, making us a pot of tea on arrival and telling us about the history of the hotel. We had a great room, would have been classed as a suite in many places and it was warm and comfortable.
The only downside was that the breakfast staff made no effort to speak/understand english which we found strange given that she was working in the hospitality industry?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de France et de Russie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France et de Russie

Address: 51 Rue General Lamy, 24800 Thiviers, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Thiviers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thiviers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, small luxury hotel, furnished with fine antiques offers you the charm, comfort and authenticity of a beautiful home. Set amidst pretty gardens with a terrace sheltered by fine trees the hotel is a haven of tranquility and is open 7 days a week, all year round. English, French and Spanish are spoken. Situated in the centre of Thiviers, opposite the Town Hall and surrounding parkland. Free high speed Internet access and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de France et de Russie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De France Et De Russie Thiviers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de France et de Russie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.