We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Evening Out at the Bull's Head, Craswall” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bull's Head

The Bull's Head
Craswall | Hereford, Craswall HR2 0PN, England
01981 510616
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Craswall
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $35 - $59
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Charles and Kathryn welcome you to The Bull's Head, Craswall, their unique dining pub in the spectacular country of The Black Mountains. Our aim is to offer good food in the informal but warm surroundings of this old drover's inn where through the years little has changed. Bar service is from a 'hole in the wall' to a room furnished with scrubbed top tables and old settles. The restaurant, up a few well worn stone steps from the bar, is also traditionally furnished and has an open log fire to warm you in winter. Old and new friends are welcome to join us for good food, wines and Herefordshire farmhouse ciders.'The Bull's Head in Craswall, one of the best rural pubs in Britain with great food', Owen Sheers, The Daily Telegraph''A wonderful idiosyncratic pub (..) is The Bull's Head at Craswall, with very good food', Fiona Duncan, The Sunday Telegraph'The Bull's Head, an eccentric and magnificent pub (...) tucked away above a stream in the remote village of Craswall, The Bull's Head is rightly proud of its menu', Oliver Bullough, BA Highlife Magazine
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Evening Out at the Bull's Head, Craswall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stumbled across this quaint restaurant when staying in the area for a few days. The food choice was excellent and it came well presentented. The environment was great and the staff very friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our food and would strongly recommend the Bull's Head.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    9
    1
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pandy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A vital public service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The road from Pandy to Hay on Wye via Craswall is long and steep. Each hill seems to end with another. The villages stretch for miles. Most seriously after leaving Longtown the traveller - and particularly the cyclist - enters dry and thirsty country devoid of liquid refreshment or conviviality and stretching ahead for many miles.

Six miles, to be precise, for as the final hill is breasted a glorious sight hoves into view. The Bull's Head must be one of the best pubs in the known universe with excellent bottle-conditioned Butty Bach beer, local ciders, a splendid menu with top quality local ingredients cooked with imagination (and some Continental influences) a bar that probably hasn't changed for hundreds of years (it certainly hasn't changed much in the 20 years that I've been going there), a beautiful and romantic location and, in Katherine and Charles and sometimes their charming daughter Amy, lovely hosts. What more could anyone want?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Thoroughly delighted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful setting, the little camp site was ideal for a weekend of real outdoor camping. Charles and Kathy the owners were lovely, very friendly and welcoming. We ate at the pub on the Friday night and had the most delicious steak dinner beautifully cooked by Charles while Kathy kept us supplied with Butty Bach beer. Overall a great little gem of a place, highly recommended and will be returning....

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely unspoiled country pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I visited this pub for a light lunch whilst out walking. The landlady was extremely welcoming, as were the two dogs. I only had a starter and a beer, which were excellent and certainly substantial enough for me. The menu looked very well-planned and imaginative and I would like to return for a full meal. The pub rooms are full of character and there is a beautiful garden.

The pub is only open for 21/2 days a week, from Friday lunchtime and deserves strong support as there are not many pubs left with this sort of character.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly welcome at my favourite pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Arriving late one midsummer evening, we were welcomed by Kathryn, who has taken over running this most lovely of pubs, and we enjoyed her company and tasting delicious home made orange wine. Fortunately the new owners have not changed the special beauty of this place , but obviously cherish its unspoilt character and enjoy hosting. i look forward to returning to eat , the menu looks enticing and fresh.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bull's Head also viewed

 

Been to The Bull's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bull's Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.