We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another relaxing break at Cleave.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cleave Farm Holiday Cottages

Cleave Farm Holiday Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Gennys
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cleave Farm Holiday Cottages
Save
You added Cleave Farm Holiday Cottages to your Saves list
Cleave Farm, Saint Gennys EX23 0NQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Watford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Another relaxing break at Cleave.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have just returned from another relaxing holiday at Cleave. This place never lets you down. There was eleven of us in total so we had both Abels and Cleave cottages for a week. These cottages are perfectly situated in the countryside although with a little walk over the field through a gate you are on beautiful cliffs on the national trust coastal path. This is a view you will never get bored of. In fact we walked this 2-3 mile coastal path twice to the pub in Crackington Haven called The Coombe Barton for a couple of rewarding cold beers as parts of the walk are quite steep. The Coombe Barton was our local for the week. It has a pool table and a good pub food menu.
The cottages are nice and are kept in good condition. Both have wood burning fires. Logs can be bought down the lane for £3 a sack. The owners of Cleave "The Zoeftigs" are all very friendly and accomodating. Sara, Katie and Alan especially.
We even woke up one morning to find three pigs sniffing around outside the cottages on the grass. They had escaped from their pen but the owner soon got them back in.
We will surely be visiting again in the future. This was our 11th visit to these cottages over the years and we are all already looking forward to our 12th.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed at Cleave Cottage with my husband and 3 children, other members of the family stayed at Abels and a third house on the farm which is occasionally rented out. We all without exception loved it, and found it perfect for our needs. The location is idyllic it feels like you are in the middle of nowhere but in reality you are close by to all local amenities and the beautiful beach of Crackington Haven. There is a lovely shared garden which was perfect for all 7 children in the family ranging from 7 weeks to 10 years! The Zoeftig family were delightful, warm and friendly but not intrusive, and our children were thrilled to have other children to play with. The cottage was beautifully clean on arrival and extremely well equipped. Couldn't have been better hope to book again for next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

As a family we have stayed at Cleave for coming up 10yrs-the fact that we return every year says it all. The Zoeftig family who live close and own/run the cottages are lovely- friendly and always available if a problem arises. We holiday as 2 familys (in Abels and Cleave) with a total of 6 children ranging now from 19 to14 who would not consider a summer complete without a holiday at Crackington Haven. They have grown with the place over the summers, with never a dull moment and the place always appeals to them. My daughter even plans to get married on Crackington beach. We have already booked for 2012 and look forward in time to taking boyfriends/husbands and grandchildren with us!!

Room Tip: Abels better for a large family, Cleave recently modernised and both cottages retain their quaintnes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

We spent Easter at Cleave Cottage with our two daughters aged 6 and 4 and we all had a fantastic time. The cottage is a beautifully converted barn in a picturesque spot nestled into the countryside with bluebell woods (see pic) and cliffs a moment's walk away. The cottage is a really comfortable place to stay - a great open plan kitchen/living room upstairs with lovely views across the valley and cosy bedrooms downstairs. There's loads of outside space for the kids to run around in and nearby Crackington Haven is a fantastic beach and great for young children - you can walk across the cliffs to get there. The owners live next door and are really nice and friendly - they left us some lovely treats in the cottage including home made chutney. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

These cottages are perfect for several families wanting to stay at the same location but with their own space... we have had some great family gatherings in Abels & Cleave. The communal gardens are perfect for children playing football or hide and seek. All the cottages are beautifully presented, well equipped and comfortable. And my favourite Cornish beach at Crackington Haven is a 40 minute walk or 10 minute drive away.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Third time three years in a row we have stayed at Cleave cottages. In all its one of my favourite locations in the UK. The cottages themselves are beautiful old barns tastefully renovated into boutique like inside spaces that still retain all there natural features, stone walls, beams while providing all mod cons. The farm itself is in a tranquill location near St Gennys church. Take a short stroll from the coattges and you can almost feel like your standing on the edge of the world as you take in the breath takings veiws from the cliff tops. My daughter seen her first full blown rainbow here, it seemed to go on forever, quite spectacular. My favourite pass time while here is star gazing. You can see the milky way and few other from the cottages absolutely clear as bell. It provides a great location to explore the rest of Cornwall from, though its hard to pull yourself away from the bay down the road at Crackington Haven, where young, old and those somewhere in between can spend all day catching the waves on boogies boards or topping up on cream teas and crab sarnies from the pleasant cafes and pub.

Room Tip: Rooms all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We have stayed at Cleave more than 10 times, and we will keep coming back. It is just perfect for a family holiday. The location is very special and provides quiet natural beauty, of a quality we havnt seen in other holiday cottages. It really is a special place, just a field away from the cliffs and the sea. Even in high season you can walk from the cottage and not see many people. Then again when we want to go to the beach for the kids, it is only a short drive, or a lovely walk along the cliffs.

The cottages themselves are also great, providing comfort and style that feels like a home away from home. Inside they are comfortable and cosy, while there is a substantial space outside for eating and relaxing, and lots for children to explore. Finally the owners of these cottage have always provided us with a special welcome.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cleave Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleave Farm Holiday Cottages

Address: Cleave Farm, Saint Gennys EX23 0NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Saint Gennys
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Saint Gennys
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Cleave Farm Holiday Cottages Cornwall, UK - Saint Gennys

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cleave Farm Holiday Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.