We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Forda!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forda Lodges & Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkhampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forda Lodges & Cottages
Save
You added Forda Lodges & Cottages to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Kilkhampton EX23 9RZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Leeds
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Fabulous Forda!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We returned again this year for our 2 weeks of total relaxation to find everything as good as ever.
A warm welcome from Jim and Gill, the lodge clean and comfortable , the surrounding grounds well kept and packed with wildlife.We enjoyed our tennis , using the games room and swimming pool.What can I say that's not been said before. Well done and thank you to all the team for your hard work that makes Forda such a super place to stay. See you next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    14
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
138
71
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Had a fantastic stay at forda yet again, staying in the The Beeches this time for a family of four. As expected the accomodation was excellent very clean and cosy, loved the decking out the front especially first thing in the morning with a nice cuppa watching the sun rise.

Jim & Gillian are very welcoming hosts and very helpful as always, Me & my girls all had a lovely spa treatment (highly recommend) very relaxing.

There's a lovely pool, jacuzzi,sauna & gym and a well equipped games room for all to enjoy. If you love the outdoors theres some very nice walks around the area or some great fishing on the lakes, my daughter had great lessons by Colin and caught quite a few fish.

A great place to eat out is The London Inn, Fantastic food and very welcoming.

In some ways I dont want to share my review but If you havent been and are thinking about booking DO IT there is so much to see and do in and around the area no matter the time of year or weather.

We cant wait to go back next year

Room Tip: All Accomodation is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Just returned from our first visit to Forda. Lovely accommodation and grounds. Everything immaculate. Excellent fishing on all lakes. Peaceful and quiet and good location for visiting other attractions although as weather was good spent most of our time lakeside. Jim and Gillian were made us feel very welcome and we look forward to being able to make a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful holiday. The lodges are fantastic quality and very clean. The spa treatments were very good and relaxing. I enjoyed excellent fishing with over 100 Crucian Carp, 30 plus Tench and Bream one day on the pole from the Meadow Lake. Then another day, 14 Carp to 12lbs plus numerous Bream, Roach and Rudd from the Top Lake.
The weather treated us well at the end of August, with warm Sunny days.
We had lots of days out visiting, places like Boscastle, Port Issac, Tintagel and Clovelly.
We had good evening Meals in many places, but can recommend the New Inn in Kilkhampton. Excellent quality, good value home cooking.
A truly superb holiday.
Well done all at Forda

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

A fabulous family holiday, great location to many beaches, lovely accommodation, peaceful grounds, relaxing swimming pool, games room for the kids and us!!! A great find, will recommend to friends, hope to visit again, but a long way to travel. Visited Boscastle, Port Isaac and other beaches around the area, Crooklets fab, take a wind break with you.
The owners are very friendly and helpful, thank you again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband and our twins had a lovely week at Forda Lodge. The lodge was very comfy and cozy and had everything we needed. I even tried the fishing with my husband and really enjoyed it. The lakes had plenty of fish and there were enough private areas to fish. The pool was not as warm as we would have liked but our twins got used to it and enjoyed there first swim. Bude beach is fantastic and not too far away. The local Morrisons came in very handy. We had a lovely meal at the London inn so would recommend. Overall the holiday was great and the owners were lovely and friendly. Would like to go again sometime.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our first family holiday to Forda but definitely not our last. Recommended by family, Forda surpassed our expectations for self catering holidays. This was our third visit to Bude and we've finally found somewhere with enough space for a family of 4. The lodges are clean, spacious and fully equipped. The girls made full use of the spa treatments which left them refreshed and relaxed (highly recommended). With 4 lakes brimming with fish, it provided the boys with an opportunity to disappear whenever there was a spare moment (including a couple of early starts).

Overall, highly recommended as an ideal family holiday location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forda Lodges & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forda Lodges & Cottages

Address: Kilkhampton EX23 9RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Kilkhampton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Kilkhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Forda Lodges & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten award winning lodges and two luxury cottages in a quiet secluded valley, with woodland, open spaces, walking & nature trails, recreational areas and river. A tranquil haven, but with the facilities usually associated with a larger site: indoor heated pool, sauna, jacuzzi, tennis court, spa treatments and complementary therapies, including aromatherapy, Swedish & hot stone massage, facials & pedicures as well as three coarse fishing ponds - all for the exclusive use of guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Forda Lodges & Cottages Kilkhampton, Cornwall, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forda Lodges & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.