We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceptional hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waihi Beach Lodge

Save Saved
You added Waihi Beach Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waihi Beach Lodge
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   170 Seaforth Road | Waihi Beach, Waihi Beach, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
surrery,uk
1 review
“exceptional hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2007

we stayed for three days with Ali and Gregg at Waihi Beach Lodge having come from another lodge we had booked on the Kauri Coast which had been a disappointment. So when we arrived at Waihi we were delighted with our welcome and the position of the lodge.

Our hosts made us feel like long lost friends and we were served tea and home made cake whilst getting settled in. Greg opened a bottle of wine whilst they gave us a rundown on the local restaurants. Not only that Ali then drove us to the restaurant of our choice and we were instructed to call her when we were ready to leave, what service!!!!

We can thoroughly recommend this place to stay and we will certainly return some day, I hope

maggie and don. surrey UK

  • Liked — the wonderful hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    11
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
122
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton Warwickshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2007

We searched for some time and finally bookes Waihi Beach Lodge, as our first stay on a tour of NZ.

I wanted to be near to some good Trout fishing, not too far from Auckland as we only had 3 nights before we got on a cruise tour all arounf NZ and back to Aus.
I also needed somewhere comfortable and friendly for my wife to chill out and relax whilst I was on the river.

Boy did we pick well. The situation was perfect. So close to the beach, near enough for a short walk to restaurants.

The accommodation second to none, sparklingly clean comfortable, stylish. Class and value!

Arriving later than expected the proprieters ran us down to the restaurant they had reserved for us to eat in and picked us up afterwards.

All arrangements that had been requested were in place, fishing details and all.

The breakfast was spectacular and only surpassed by the wonderful sea and mountain views form the upper open terrace.

I travel a lot on business and stay in a lot of hotels worldwide, give me Waihi Beach Lodge any day or night.

Most importantly, are the people. During our stay we made friends with the other guests enjoying early evening drinks on the terrace, kindly provided by Greg and Ali, the owners.

I had a great time on the river and at Waihi Beach, my wife was thoroughly spoilt and enjoyed quality time with Ali and Greg, whilst relaxing at the lodge and on the beach.

It was hard leaving this home from home and we seriously wondered if we had done the right thing booking the cruise.

Waihi Beach Lodge, is one of those places you think about when things get tough and you need to smile. We will be back if the world is good enough to us.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2007

We stayed at the Waihi Beach Lodge in February of this year when we travelled to New Zealand for my sister -in-laws wedding. As our first-born was a mere 8.5weeks when we were travelling, I was quite apprehensive about the travel, the accomodation, everything!! But to my sheer pleasure, on arriving at our destination Greg & Ali the hosts greeted us and showed us to our room, they had everything organised for us, and couldnt have made us feel more at home or comfortable. We spent 3 nights and had the most amazing gourmet home cooked breakfasts and even had someone to look after our little boy so we could have a bit of time on our own. As you can imagine, with any wedding things are pretty full-on, so we spent a lot of time out helping get things ready for the big day, so it was such a pleasure to arrive back each day with a nice suprise waiting for us in our room, some chocolate cake, cookies and beautiful fruit, and also my washing all neatly folded that I had left on the clothes line!!
We just wish we had a chance to stay longer and actually enjoy the quaint little town and the lovely people, but hope to return once Lucas gets older and show him where he went for his first Overseas trip. Would recommend this accomodation to singles, couples and families alike, great communication from the hosts and a lovely home away from home feel. A +++++

  • Liked — The friendly atmosphere and the beautiful relaxing room
  • Disliked — having to leave !! :-(
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2007

Waihi Beach was our last stop in New Zealand before returning back to England after a month away from home. Ali and Greg made us so welcome, we felt we had known them for years. They put so much in to make our stay memorable, even down to the smallest detail. Nothing was too much trouble. Thank you both for making our stay so special. Ros and Malcolm

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2007

The Waihi Beach lodge is not only a great place to stay, it is also the best place to experience Kiwi hospitality and friendly hosts.

The lodges are in a very good condition and they are lovely and individually decorated. We stayed in the fully equipped appartment which is very spacious. The location of the lodge is fantastic, too. Its only a short stroll to the long beach and from the balcony you can "smell" the ocean.

However, the best of our stay were the hosts Ali and Greg. They made our stay unforgetable and therefore to the best we had in New Zealand. The freshly made breakfast (especially the banana muffins!) was fantastic and the authentic friendliness of Ali and Greg made you feel more than welcome.

We hope to come back sometime!
Ina and Andreas (Germany)

  • Liked — the hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2007

Greg and Ali offer great hospitality at this lovely retreat. Very comfortable, good food and very obliging and friendly hosts - nothing too much trouble for them. Only a short stroll from the lovely Waihi Beach and a super place to spend a few days. The local golf course is a gem also as well as the tramping and beautiful and interesting places to explore. WE SHALL RETURN! Bill & Pat, Queensland, Australia

  • Liked — place and hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2007

My wife and i made the long hual from scotland to new zealand . Our first stop the scenic coromandel coast. We arrived tired and dry. So pleased to be met with cold beer, chilled wine and snacks. We sat unwinding for about an hour with the owners taking in the views of the oceans and the islands beyond.
We got nice home made muffins in the morning and some more when we left on the next stage of our trip.
We stayed in the usual 5* hotels in nz, aus and on hamilton island but this was a great start homely , superb rooms and friendly

  • Liked — Views and friendly
  • Disliked — Everthing was great
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waihi Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waihi Beach Lodge

Address: 170 Seaforth Road | Waihi Beach, Waihi Beach, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Waihi Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty lodging in Waihi Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waihi Beach Lodge 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waihi Beach Lodge is a Boutique Bed and Breakfast Lodge, two hours south-east of Auckland just off State Highway 2 (Pacific Coast Highway) at Waihi Beach.The real benefit of Waihi Beach is its central location (see our map of the Coromandel Peninsula) as it provides you with the flexibility to see the Coromandel, Hobbiton, Rotorua and Waitomo from one base as well as being able to spend time in the Karangahake Gorge, view the gold mining history of Waihi and of course, a stroll or swim at the beach is a must.We have 3 king /queen bedrooms with ensuites and a modern studio apartment.All rooms are furnished in an uncluttered style with quality beds and cotton linen. Bath robes, toiletries, luggage racks, hair dryers, televisions, DVD players and other thoughtful details are provided for your comfort.Tea and coffee are available anytime. Waihi Beach has several great cafes for dining. Waihi Beach Lodge is smoke-free indoors. Many guests come as strangers and leave as friends.Free Wifi is available throughout the lodge for checking emails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Waihi Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waihi Beach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.