We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in NZ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waihi Beach Hotel Eatery and Store

Waihi Beach Hotel Eatery and Store
60 Wilson Road, Waihi Beach, New Zealand
+64 7-863 5402
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in Waihi Beach
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Best food in NZ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Looks like an average hotel from outside but inside I was surprised to get the best food I had in NZ. Fresh and well made dishes using vegetables from its garden. Yummy icecream, good coffee and reasonably priced.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    15
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“New favourite at the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We come to Waihi beach often to stay at a family Bach. This is our new regular! If it's a quick coffee and some delicious cabinet food, amazing breakfasts with exciting ingredients or spectacular dinners, the food ad service is always top quality. Highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great spot at the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Eaten here a few times and have enjoyed it each time. Menu is small and have tried most things would like to see a few more options or specials.
Outside seating is nice and cosy
Staff are professional and friendly
Defiantly worth stopping by when you are at the beach
Auckland prices.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A must for anyone passing thru or staying.......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Waihi Beach has been our holiday destination for our family for a very long time. We stayed with locals (friends) for the weekend recently and it was suggested that we pop down for an ice-cream (after working in the garden) and check out the refurbished Hotel. What a delight to find this amazing setup. We got our Gelatos from the pleasant staff and were able to sit out on the deck of the Restaurant. The wait staff bought us aerated water & regularly topped it up without having to ask or to be made to feel uncomfortable for only having an ice-cream. After our sweet fix & out of the blue we decided to have brunch. As im wheat free, I asked for Eggs Benedict with wheat free bread & bacon. My friend had the same but not wheat free. It did not take long to arrive & was so good it was well & truly devoured . It was actually so good I could have eaten it twice. The Staff did not hesitate about my intolerance & seemed to have an good understanding of this. Was great to feel confident eating here. We will Definitely be going back on our next visit & every visit to Waihi Beach thereafter. Cant wait till Easter, YEAH!. NB: there is a cute playground in front of deck for children to play safely with parents being able to watch from their table. Next to the playground is what appeared to be a herb garden, a brilliant idea for the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waihi Beach, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“GREAT POINT OF DIIFERENCE.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We have had several meals at this new establishment since it opened before Christmas 2014.
They don't take reservations which is frustrating in the busy festive season.
The service is absolutely excellent; friendly and well trained staff will welcome you the moment you appear to be heading towards the deck or dining room and within minutes complimentary chilled sparkling water will be on your table. The outside deck is great with gas heaters and blankets if you need them in cooler moments. On the way in you'll pass a coffee, gelato, snack shop offering a good selection of drinks, sweet and savoury baking. The coffee is a little weak for me but a third shot in a medium cup brings it right.
However, the menu almost needs an interpreter and while the products are freshly cooked and nicely presented the portion control is very evident. This makes earlier reasonable looking menu prices expensive and not very good value for money, especially if you are hungry and need to top up with sides.
This venue is probably top end for Waihi Beach but I think once tried, patrons may look to better value for money which after all can be found in a relaxed beachy environment.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waihi Beach Hotel Eatery and Store also viewed

Waihi Beach, Bay of Plenty Region
Waihi Beach, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Waihi Beach, Bay of Plenty Region
Waihi Beach, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Waihi Beach Hotel Eatery and Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waihi Beach Hotel Eatery and Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.