We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb dining, elegant rooms, incomparable service - and friendly too!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Satis House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Satis House Hotel to your Saves list
Satis House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Road, Yoxford, Saxmundham IP17 3EX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yoxford
Somerset
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Superb dining, elegant rooms, incomparable service - and friendly too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

I visited for Easter after my husband had been staying here for 2 weeks on business and told me I 'had to come to Suffolk to stay at this fabulous hotel'. He loved it so much he extended his stay at our own cost so I could experience it too!
The staff and owners of Satis House went to great lengths to make us both feel welcome and comfortable. The food is fabulous. The public areas and the bedrooms have decor that is luxurious yet so comfortable. The staff are, without exception, friendly, professional and courteous. The pride they all have in the establishment shines through; and no matter how busy they are, nothing is too much trouble. It is worth every penny to stay and eat somewhere so fabulous! The location is in a small village, great if you like country walks but does not have much else within walking distance apart from an antique shop and art gallery. It is a short drive to the beautiful Suffolk coast and the towns of Aldeburgh and Southwold.
Best point: has to be the food - exquisite! Worst point: you have to leave sometime!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    65
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
27
314
4
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

We have just come back from a short break over Easter which should have been for two night, but we luckily managed to add and extra night as we had such an enjoyable trip. We had a very friendly greeting and short, simply check in which is always good.

We stayed in the 'Orangery' which had it's own entrance on the front of the hotel, giving it a nice feeling of privacy. The room is a good size, beautifully decorated will everything you could need, comfy bed, nice big bathroom, mini-bar with complementary mineral water (nice touch) and quality tea and coffee facilities. We slept very well indeed.

The hotel itself has a wonderful grand feel, very tastefully decorated with a nice lounge area which we would wind down in at the end of the night (for wind down, read getting slowly sozzled!)

The owners Kevin & David couldn't have been more welcoming and we're very attentive and make you feel that no request is an inconvenience.

We had breakfast each morning and it was great, the perfect start to the day. Nice quality and generous portions.

We had dinner twice and we're blown away both times, a great imaginative menu without feeling over fussy, Steve loved the Gin & Tonic jelly, wonderful.

The only thing I missed was Wi-fi in the room, but I believe that is being installed this week.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for one night in the Framlingham ('best' room).

Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted, given a short orientation of the hotel, and settled in to our room. The Framlingham room is lovely - quite spacious, with a four poster and two comfy armchairs, as well as a fridge/mini-bar. The room was beautifully decorated and furnished and well equipped (tea/coffee making facilities, DVD/TV, toiletries, etc.)- my only slight surprise was that there were no bathrobes in this room, which would have made it perfect.
The bathroom is nice too (bear in mind there is no shower cubicle in this room though, just a lovely bath). The bedroom has private access to the large balcony overlooking the gardens at the front of the property (and the A12 - although it is only a narrow part of the A12 with restricted speed limit, so traffic noise wasn't too much of a problem - especially in February as our windows were closed!).

We had dinner and breakfast in the main restaurant - excellent food and wine - and the service was fantastic. We were well looked after by Kevin, one of the owners, who also assisted us with choosing a film from his collection of around 1000 DVD's. He was a great host, with an excellent sense of humour, which made our stay even more pleasant.

I would recommend this place - we are thinking of returning in the future for a family celebration as this seems like an ideal venue based on the size of the hotel (9 rooms), the quality of the food in the restaurant, and the extremely good service.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

It takes a lot for me to sit down and write a review on a hotel but my wife and I were so impressed with Satis House that I had to!

The rooms, service and general atmosphere were excellent. From the moment we walked in we were made to feel welcome and whilst the service was not over imposing you knew that if you needed anything staff were very happy to help.

The food is first class but it was the finer details and little touches/attention to detail that really made this place. The lounge area can be used to relax prior to meals, fresh milk and real fresh coffee in the rooms and an extensive complimentary DVD list are a few examples.

In summary the hotel is of such quality that it could easily have become pretentious and snobby but somehow the owners have been able to marry first class service and attention to detail with a very down to earth genuine warmth. Needless to say we were extremely impressed!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

Really enjoyed our stay at the Satis House: very attentive, helpful and friendly staff; luxury bedrooms (the linen is star quality); excellent food; ideal location for a visit to the Suffolk Coast. Road noise could be a problem for some people but not for us. Can highly recommend a stay here - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

David & Kevin are by far the best hotelliers we have met, the Satis House is a real gem, we have stayed here for the past 2 years for New Years Eve and have loved it, its such a warm and special place.

The rooms are well decoated, the bathrooms bright and clean, the bed linen is crisp, white and feels great, theres a mini fridge in each room, freshly ground coffee / tea / water / hot chocolate sachets / kit kats, the food is fantastic, there's a really great range and its plentiful. The Suffolk breaksfast is fantastic.

All the staff are great, personable and attentive, the hotel has a relaxed and warm feel, definitely a home from home and so many personal touches, we generally have no complaints about this place and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Thames
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

.....and I should know! I spend my life living out of a suitcase as a flight attendant and stay in 5 star hotels around the world. This place, however has got something really special about it.

The second you walk in the door, you relax and the reception from the staff is one of genuine friendliness and ease. The owners Kevin and David are so welcoming and have that rare ability to adapt to every guest. A dash of charm mixed with a great sense of humour.
The rooms are luxurious and comfortable and not a bit stuffy and 'hotelly' and have been decorated and finished by someone who clearly has good taste and an eye for detail... they're a bit like you wish your bedroom at home looked like!
The food is worth coming for alone...and definitely get yourself up for the homemade breakfast you won't be disappointed!

All in all a great place to stay, eat and spend a lazy afternoon. Their gift vouchers will be top on Santa's list again next year!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Satis House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satis House Hotel

Address: Main Road, Yoxford, Saxmundham IP17 3EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Saxmundham > Yoxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yoxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Satis House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Garde II listed Georgian House sits in 3 acres of woodlands. Recently awarded a Gold award, 2 Rosettes and Best Breakfast accolade from the British tourist board and AA, Satis House offers the perfect setting for relaxing or visiting local tourist hot spots like Southwold and Aldeburgh.The Restaurant offers locally sourced Modern British cuisine and has just been voted top tree restaurant in Suffolk 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Satis House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Satis House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.